1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

New 2dof simulator simtools + Jrk 12v12

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by gigi, May 29, 2014.

  1. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    FB = feedback yes
    • Like Like x 1
  2. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    in jrk12v12 card there are 2 pins for GND and 2 pins for 5V
    The wiring diagram show that GND of pots is connect to both GND pins that are on the card. the same thing for 3. 5V IN NEAR JUL . Is 'correct???? Or GND of pot should be connected to only one of the two GND pins of the card and 3. 5V IN NEAR JUL be connect to only one of the two pins 5V card?
  3. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    The pot only needs to be connected to one of the ground pins and one of the 5v pins , but will make no difference if connected to both pins as they are connected internally on the pcb. So connect the 5v for pot to the 5v pin on the Jrk and then the GND for the pot to GND on the Jrk and the signal wire from the pot goes to the FB pin and all will be correct.

    Again both 5v pins are connected on pcb so can use one or both , no difference, same goes with the GND pins.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    thank you robbie and bsft!
    I have to create a base on which to secure the two power supplies, adapters JRK and fans for cooling. What kind of base you created? What material? There is a box or a container in which to install everything?
    The cards jrk 12v12 have three small holes to be fixed. How do you suggest to fix the base?
    • Like Like x 1
  5. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    anything you like really, but preferably wood or plastic.
    I just hot glued mine to the wooden base with small blocks to hold the jrks up
    2014-03-21 14.17.48.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  6. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    They have very small holes , from memory I used M2 screws from my local hobby shop, recommend an air gap under them as the pcb will dissipate heat from the base as well, so in combination of a good little heat sink on the H Bridge chip and an air gap allows the Jrks to stay touch cool for hours of use with a good fan on top as well.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    Hi guys!
    Given the fractured my leg problem I have dedicated myself to the electronics creating a foundation on which I mounted the boards, motors, potentiometers and power supplies. In the picture you can see still incomplete but I just finished making all connections. At this point comes the total darkness for me.
    What do I do? It's necessary install the software of potentiometers to set them up? I installed simtools and demo game. can I start t by following the instructions? Is there a tutorial that can guide me step by step what to do? Unfortunately I have no knowledge of electronics and now more than ever I need your help. ...step by step...
    Thanks in advance

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  8. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    All connections have been made as shown in the diagram. The rest of the total fog ...
    First of all I have to configure the adapters jrk Pololu 12v12 using the software? Do you can give me the details of configuration
    • Like Like x 1
  10. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    explained in link
    • Like Like x 2
  11. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    Thanks earobbie and BSFT. You are the only ones involved, and answer to my questions . Without your help I would be really impossible to carry out the project. Later I try to do the configuration of the jrk and then I write how it goes.
    Thank you again, thank you very much
    • Like Like x 1
  12. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    I have configured the cards jrk with JRK utility. at the end of configuration when I click on "" Detect Motor Direction " a mask called " Pololu JRK configuration utility output not centerer "opens and i read "center the output than click ok " . What should I do?
    • Like Like x 1
  13. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  14. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Ok this to test that the motors are turning in the right direction for the pots.
    Move the lever to the centre position to continue, hold a little testing on the connecting rod as it will punch a little hard , after that
    press the Ok the motors will kick, after that it will inform you that it changed a setting if so apply settings if not all good.
    Once both motors are set you can then test them with the input tab.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    I have configured all the parameters but as soon as I start the engines begin to move back and forth out of control. What did I do wrong?
    • Like Like x 1
  16. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    what PID settings do you have?
    Just put in 2/2 0/3 1/1 , apply settings and test
    • Like Like x 1
  17. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    I follow this instructions read here
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/playseat-to-2-dofseat.5401/page-2#post-56352

    Ok for the worm gears I have a base to start from thanks to @@bsft as follows.
    1. Proportional Coefficient set to 0.39 in the decimal area not the fraction side.
    2. Integral Coefficient set to 0.
    3. Derivative Coefficient set to 0.5.
    4. PID period(ms) set to 20.
    5. Integral Limit set to 2000.
    6.Check Reset integral limit.......
    7. Feedback deadzone - if your scaled Feedback is flickering (bad or cheap pot) then set this to represent how much its flickering, handy for unstable pots or noisy lines, best to fix both issues and have it set to 0.
    8. Apply setting to device.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    what motors do you have again?
  19. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  20. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    436
    Balance:
    1,241Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    I don't know how copy the image of pid mask. I post a file test of configuration

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1