1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question My SCN5 (jap) 2dof rig.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Ralf, Apr 7, 2017.

  1. Ralf

    Ralf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    231Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Helloooo. I am Rafael, a sim builder newcomer. I've been reading posts from this web since i got the idea of building a simulator which was... One week ago. :p
    I see you are a hardworking comunity and really wanted to take part of it.

    First of all I need to ask you some thing I have not cleared yet.

    I've bought a pair of SCN5-10-100-AS03-NA and i am seeing to buy the rest of the parts with a little help from yours.

    Hereby the questions:

    Why is the killswitch? Do you use it to turn the motors off before getting down from the sim or what? What kind of safety do you mean? Where must it be placed?

    Can SCN5 is strong enough for a to move the chair, pedals and wheel through levers attached to the front (or back) under the chair? I am 82kg and will use aluminium and a little wood for chair structure... So I guess it will be under 100kg with me on it. If that doesn't work, I'll have to make it shoulder mounted.

    (Picture taken from a design a user called natchamp, from another web, it doesn't feature pedals nor wheel attached)

    Like this:


    Well! Those are most of my doubts. I will make some video when I know what I am doing. Tomorrow I will have the PSU (24V 5A with voltage protection, selected with help from your threads) and the rs485 to USB ( IMAGE ).

    And at last, but not least, I need the program to start experimenting with the motors. Seems like I need coins so... I have to beg them to you because I already sacrificed my piggy.

    Hope I am doing this well. and my english is well enough, and I posted this in the right place.
    Cheers!
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Ralf

    Ralf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    231Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    I don't know how to edit the post, I would not mount the TV on the rig, as in the example video. And the photo of the lever system would be like this:

    SCN5 Actuator under chair 2.png SCN5 Actuator under chair.png
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,881
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,682 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SimTools 2 has the fully functional plugin for Live For Speed included in the default install, specifically for the purposes of testing. It works fine with the free demo version of LFS, so there is noting to stop you from getting on with motor and settings testing.

    Kill switches are for shutting the rig down if something goes wrong, so should be placed in a handy location. There are a number of approaches to setting up kill switches: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/emergency-stop-switch-wiring.56/

    Post some pictures of your design layout, even if they are rough hand drawn sketches. The more inherent design leverage the better.

    The first video you posted is a full frame design, the second looks to be a seat shaker design.
  5. Ralf

    Ralf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    231Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    For tomorrow I will have sketches drawn And I will post them here and in the post.
    About SimTools 2, I have to be member for a month to download it?
    • Like Like x 1
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,881
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,682 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK