1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My SCM SCN5 actuator pin broke...

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by splendiddd, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    I did't know either how these things work, but its a very smart and simple system.
    My english on technical stuff is not very good so i try to explain...
    The Pin is actually very small, and you don't have to weld anything.

    The motor on the bottom of the actuator is spinning one side to the other:
    [​IMG]
    The thread thats above the motor is connected with a little pin that moves the actuatorrod up and down:
    [​IMG]
    And the pin goes into the thread through the motor, like this: (you can see the little pin in the thread)
    [​IMG]

    I also did disassemble the upper section of the actuator but it seems you don't even have to! (but i did it because i wanted to know how it worked.)

    [​IMG]

    Cheers,

    Rob
  2. Fahim

    Fahim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Balance:
    249Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    i understand the pin can break when the actuator goes out too much.
    But why can the pin break when the actuator goes too far in.
    You understand what I mean :) ?

    p.s thanks for detail. i understand now a little more.
  3. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    The pin will break when there is a sudden force of stopping or accelerating....sort of safety for the motor and the rest of the components. so when you have 25% lim you have more safety that its not having a sudden stop on the end of its rotation. (read up/down)
    But thats just my thought....;)

    Oh i have a pic of the pin:
    [​IMG]
    Its very small, this is the broken one a new one is like 3 a 4 mm longer.
  4. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 3 / -0
    EXELENT WORK
    Great picters
    Simple and basic
    Didint expect motor bearings are carrying all loads
    Regards Ad
  5. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
  6. Fahim

    Fahim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Balance:
    249Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    why use bigger pin? make any difference.
  7. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Bigger pin? i did not use a bigger pin...
    I used the same diameter pin but longer because the original was longer too.
  8. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 3 / -0
    Verekt Rob je bent Nederlander,ik heb behoorlijk liggen slapen. ;P
    Mag ik vragen waar je ongeveer woont, ik zelf woon in de hoofd stad van N.Brabant.
    Zo te zien is het geen kogelomloopspindel,en hoefde je ook niet bang te zijn om de moer er af te halen
    Je hebt een mooie simulator gebouwd of is het een frex.
    groeten AD :hi:
  9. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Lol, ik woon in het westland (tussen den haag en rotterdam in) en ja het is een Frex ;)
    Nog bedankt voor die tip trouwens:)

    Groet,
    Rob
  10. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 3 / -0
    He Rob
    Als je pen weer mocht breken
    Volgens mij zijn ze gewoon te krijgen in de betere metaalwaren zaken.
    En worden ze breekpennen genoemd
    Enorm is een ijzerwaren keten.
    gr. AD
  11. Nima

    Nima Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    413
    Occupation:
    Glaser
    Location:
    Bad Zwischenahn
    Balance:
    535Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    ich habe das Problem mit dem anschlagen der Motoren wohl nicht weil ich wie auf dem Bild
    zu sehen ist den Sitz mit Gummibändern vom Baumarkt am Rahmen befestigt habe.
    Habe ich eigentlich wegen Eigengewicht von über 100 KG gemacht.Mich hatten die Motoren
    aus der Kurve nicht wieder hochgekriegt.Nicht schön aber wirkungsvoll.Die vorderen habe
    ich erst seit dem ich die Hyperrealbremse von VPP habe.Da bin ich nicht mehr nach vorne
    gekommen.Leider sind meine Profile dadurch bei euch auch etwas anders im effekt wie bei mir.
    Bis dann
    Nima

    Attached Files:

  12. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi Nima,

    I understand that your profiles will be different because of your setup ;)
    Nevertheless some your profiles are fine for me.

    Do you have a bigger picture of your setup?

    Cheers,

    Rob
  13. Nima

    Nima Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    413
    Occupation:
    Glaser
    Location:
    Bad Zwischenahn
    Balance:
    535Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Splendiddd
    die Profile muß man auch nur leicht anpassen.
    Hier die Photos grösser.Leider nur Handykamera.
    Bis dann
    Nima

    Attached Files:

  14. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Bedankt, een nieuwe heb ik wel nodig, hij is inmiddels weer gebroken, een afgezaagde spijker werkt niet echt....
    Ik ga morgen ff shoppen..

    @Nima, thanks for the pics :thbup:

    Grtz
  15. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 3 / -0
    Hoi Rob
    Jammer om het te horen
    Gewoon je scn5 geopend mee nemen naar de ijzerwarenhandel
    Bij de betere zaken word je dan perfect geadviseerd, en vinden wel een oplossing voor je
    Als ze je niet kunnen helpen een staalspijker is 10 keer sterker dan een gewone spijker
    voor breekpennen en staalspijkers word het zelfde staal gebruikt.
    Als trouwens de pen er weer in slaat,wel zorgen dat de schroefas op de tafel rust en de flens van motor tegen de
    rand van het tafelblad op deze manier kun je de motorlagers niet beschadigen.
    Als het op deze manier niet mocht lukken laat het maar weten
    gr AD
  16. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hoi Ad,

    Ik was ook van plan hem mee te nemen, bedankt voor de tip ;)
    Ik had overigens de laatste keer hem er niet echt in hoeven slaan, maar ik zal er nu op letten.

    Grtz,

    Rob
  17. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    785Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    After an afternoon of racing my pin broke again.
    Reason for this is that it was just a standard nail, so on advice from adgun i purchased some steel-nails.
    I am told that steel nails are 10 times stronger than the normal ones and breakpins are from the similar kind of steel.
    Very hard to cut them with a metalsaw!

    Seems to be the solution, but when you do this be very careful on the back of the motor because it is very fragile. (i did bend the round thin alu plate somewhat)
    Nevertheless i have everything up and running again. 8)

    Regards,

    Rob
  18. leandroter7

    leandroter7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Balance:
    - 89Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    Where we can set 25% limiter?
  19. Skaut69

    Skaut69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    UK, Hull
    Balance:
    335Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    25% limiter is in Force Profile on scn5 setup. Just mark on the box.

    Don`t forget to do this for both scn5.
  20. Fahim

    Fahim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Balance:
    249Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    splendidd: let us know how long these new nails last :). You've got ten so should be okay.