1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My rig is now too heavy for my SCN 60s. What's the SFX100 weight limit?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Moe Colontonio, Dec 15, 2020.

  1. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    673Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Looks like with the addition of a G seat and belt tensioner, I've exceeded the weight limit for my SCN 60 5dof rig. The actuators are significantly slower after I added this extra 100 lbs to the rig.

    Does anyone know the weight limit for the SFX100 actuators? Might be time to build them.

    Moe

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,172
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +920 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    673Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    That's total weight, including pilot? I'm now at just about 500 lbs.
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,172
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +920 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You could use larger servomotors to accommodate more load. The 90ST motors used on SFX100 are 750watt. You could use 1200watt one, but motor size will be larger also, and you will need to adapt the flange mount... See this example servo you can use for more load: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32918920490.html

    90ST-M02430 750W 220V AC servo motor driver kit 90mm flange
    110ST-M04030+AASD-30A driver 1.2KW AC servo motor kit 110mm flange
  6. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    673Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thank you Thanos, I was just looking at the boards you produce to drive these? I'm very ignorant when it comes to the electronic side, but my fabrication skills are just about unlimited. I have a mill, lathe, and can weld anything, so adapting will not be an issue. Looks like the RPMs are the same as the 90ST, and I'm assuming the rest of the actuator can handle the additional torque, or am I going into unknown territory?

    I plan on using an SCN20 PNP that I have here for yaw. Will that interface with the Thanos board?
  7. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,172
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +920 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yes, the leadscrew can handle the additional torque, no problem.

    For the yaw you could use a linear leadscrew bearing with a smaller flange 80ST-M02430:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000550535417.html

    The AMC-AASD15A is compatible with any AASD servo. Its not compatible with SCN ...
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    673Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    One more question regarding adapting the 110.

    I'd just order one of the pre-made aluminum parts packages, (https://eracing-lab.com/collections/diy-projects/products/diy-ultimate) go to 150mm of travel, and then put an adapter plate between the motor and the "OEM" motor plate. I'd simply make a plate about 3/8" thick and clock the motor 90 degrees to create the needed clearance for the holes. Adapter threads into the OEM plate, motor threads into the adapter, clocked 90 degrees.

    I'm assuming with the AMC controller I can then offset the travel limits to compensate for the travel I'll lose with my motor plate adapter?

    Hope that makes sense...
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2020
  9. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,172
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +920 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    It doesn't matter if you rotate the motor mounting orientation, it will work the same. It detects the home position by torquing of the end of travel of the leadscrew.

    And then you can define the stroke length in the AMC-AASD15A parameters with 10mm resolution.

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 1