1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My project 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Arielnac, May 19, 2019.

  1. BloxofCode

    BloxofCode New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2021
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SCN6, Arduino
    Hello Is it ok to use a 60T:20T gt2 pulley belt width is 6mm length 200mm? but i will enlarge the bore size into 17mm (motor shaft) and 6mm(sensor shaft).....i research the items available here in our country but still cannot find the exact specs.?

    or maybe there is a calculation to consider so i can choose any gt2 pulley, any teeth i want something like that?

    Thank you.
  2. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi.
    No. The pulleys must be of a ratio 2: 1 or less, Example 60:30 or 60:32. You must calculate the length of the strap that allows you to mount the hall sensor parallel to the motor at the distance that you are going to place it. You can make a graph by drawing the diameter of the pulleys on a piece of paper and measuring the supposed belt.
    The motor is preferably going to turn 85% of the half turn. If the sensor is 360º it should not make a complete turn. You must leave a working margin on the sensor.
  3. BloxofCode

    BloxofCode New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2021
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SCN6, Arduino
    Hello Sir,

    I already procure the motor, hall sensor and wanted to try also in SMC3, based on your thread there are things to consider like limits and etc. may I know what are your steps done to make this work similar to your video?
    Thank you
  4. Arta Yasa

    Arta Yasa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Balance:
    499Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi sir where you buy pulley gt2 bore 17mm sir??
  5. Michail

    Michail Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    160Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    May you can give some information about the rod length, height of the ujoint etc? Mesures

    I will be have the CTC lever of SCK Gaming tutorial with 67.4 mm or 37.4mm.

    Have the same motors and I am struggle if I will make a 3dof or 2dof + traction loss.

    What I know for sure is, that I would like to make a platform mover not a seat mover.
  6. amilivian

    amilivian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2022
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    INGENIERO EN TELECOMUNICACIONES
    Location:
    SAN FERNANDO DEL VALLE DE CATAMARCA
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Hi Ariel, how are you? I'm from Catamarca Argentina, are you still active in the forum? I would like to communicate with you so that you can recommend me some things if it is possible, thank you in advance!!
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2022
  7. amilivian

    amilivian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2022
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    INGENIERO EN TELECOMUNICACIONES
    Location:
    SAN FERNANDO DEL VALLE DE CATAMARCA
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Did you buy the gimbal movement in Argentina?
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2022
  8. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. Yes.
    They sell it in any business that is dedicated to the sale of bearings
  9. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hello. The measurements are a bit a matter of logic to obtain the maximum efficiency of movement.
  10. luu trung

    luu trung Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2022
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    my source is meanwell 350w 24v minimum adjustment is 20v not 18.5v .ibt 2 bit hot
  11. luu trung

    luu trung Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2022
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    What's wrong with connecting the sensor on the shaft through the coupling??? and what is the difference between pulley and direct connection on the shaft ?
    -What if 2 pulleys are equal 40 teeth and 40-20?
    -I use the same motor and sensor as you, I connect the sensor on the shaft.
    thank
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,103
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    129,773Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,092 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You could technically get away with 90 degree Hall sensors, if you don't use more that 40 degrees up and down, which would be the ideal, but personally I use 180 for an extra bit of headroom, see here: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/hall-effect-potentiometer.4948/#post-48019

    With a 360 degree Hall sensor you sacrifice resolution for no real gain: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/how-to-choose-potentiometer.8251/page-3#post-227235
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. They could work at 20 V. But the nominal working voltage of the BTS is 18V.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Exactly what Noorbeast says.