1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My project 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Arielnac, May 19, 2019.

  1. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. I had no need to add anything. If you consider that you have violent movements, I think you have to decrease the CTC and increase the movement range of the motors. 70mm is a lot for the geometry of your platform considering the distance between the seat pivot point and the engine mounting point.

    I use a Total Degrees used for Axis of 153º, which corresponds to an Axis Limiting of 85%, but with a 50mm CTC.
    And don't forget to set the output type as rotational every time you start simtools, because it goes back to linear. It is a software bug.
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
  2. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok thanks. I added some bungie cords to the front and it actually feels 100% better. Got rid of almost all of the slack. Your right. 70mm CTC is definitely more than I need.

    I noticed the output type keeps going back to linear too. I was going to try and reinstall sim tools to fix it but I guess that would be pointless.
  3. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Small slack of the engine is best addressed by adding some weight to the front of the platform. But that is different from violent movements.
  4. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ya. I had both slack and violent movement. I added 5% smoothing for the violence haha. I am going to switch back to 50mm CTC and add weight to the front instead of bungies and see how it feels.
  5. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Here I leave you my current setting of simtools that I think will work very well for you, seeing the geometry of your platform that is very similar to mine. I have not had to apply any type of filter.
    Washout filter should be used on Sway and Surge, but I don't notice any difference.
    Use Output Testing as to verify the movement of the axes. For this remember to set the default profile

    Attached Files:

    • a1.JPG
      a1.JPG
      File size:
      95.5 KB
      Views:
      147
    • a2.JPG
      a2.JPG
      File size:
      88 KB
      Views:
      139
    • a3.JPG
      a3.JPG
      File size:
      101 KB
      Views:
      140
    • a4.JPG
      a4.JPG
      File size:
      103.5 KB
      Views:
      145
    • a5.JPG
      a5.JPG
      File size:
      69.2 KB
      Views:
      147
    • a6.JPG
      a6.JPG
      File size:
      63.7 KB
      Views:
      143
    • a7.PNG
      a7.PNG
      File size:
      447.2 KB
      Views:
      146
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
  6. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    122Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Perfect. Thanks alot!!
  7. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi, Arielnac , the batteries that you put in parallel with your power supply ,do they have to match the power supply specs,as in 24v and the same amperage as the power supply.Thnaks so much.
  8. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. In the end do not use anything. Using 18.5V which is the minimum at which the power supplies work, I have no problems or heating the BTS or any feedback problems.
    My motors are for 24V but at 18.5 they work very well. They have plenty of power.
  9. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    That is a good idea dropping the voltage,will try it out:grinThanks!
  10. Ronan Design

    Ronan Design Roman Design - Custom MSFS Scenery

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Occupation:
    Web Designer, MSFS Scenery Designer
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Balance:
    397Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Have you tried this system with flight simulators? Would the limited motion allow enough flightsim realism? My goal is VR Microsoft Flight Simulator motion platform, and I was told that in VR "less is more" and it seems that small angles allow to do it without motion compensation in WMR OpenXR (which is use in MSFS and looks like there is no solution for Reverb G2 native WMR motion compensation, and MSFS doens't work with SteamVR well, not with G2). So how would you describe flightsim experience in your rig, if you tried it?
  11. khairul

    khairul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    155Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF
    hello sir, I had done my project using motor wiper but faced minor problem like over heating motor. I want to know that wheelchair motor like yours had enough torque compare to wiper motor?
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,061
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    123,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,714 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Wheelchair motors have significantly more torque than wiper motors.
  13. Arta Yasa

    Arta Yasa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Balance:
    339Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thats motor is selft locking sir? Like a motor wiper???
  14. iLLuac4

    iLLuac4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    676Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  15. Arta Yasa

    Arta Yasa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Messages:
    81
    Balance:
    339Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    thanks for the answer, I also want to find a dc motor like that. for now I still use the wiper motor. oh yes sir can you help me? I have a problem, where when 2dof wiper motor, with 2x bts7960, psu 22v 13A, arduino smc3. used, sometimes the motor does not respond, such as bts7960 shutdown. after i open the smc3 utility, the pwm feedback from potentio is not read. Is it because my potency is bad? sometimes one motor, sometimes both motors, can you guide me?

    Attached Files:

  16. sulfail

    sulfail Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Occupation:
    AISLAMIENTOS Y PLADUR.
    Location:
    vigo(pontevedra) SPAIN
    Balance:
    170Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I think that these engines are a success, the axle issue is important and it is easy to adapt a connecting rod with that notch that they bring, I think that in the forum these engines should be recommended above those of the windshield wipers, and with 75rpm! more than enough, mine cars have 58-60 and they go super well, these are already left over, good discovery about these engines and at a good price, they get very hot?[/QUOTE]
  17. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    [/QUOTE]

    Hi. Yes, these engines are very good. The housing is 100% aluminum so they do not heat anything at all. The axles are mounted on bolilleros and after a lot of use I have not noticed any wear.
    75 RPM is great for me and they have excellent torque. They don't need to be faster. You never come full speed. The 120 RPM is going to have less torque.
    upload_2021-9-3_17-5-59.png
  18. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. With these wheelchair motors you will not have any temperature problem. They have torque to spare.
  19. BloxofCode

    BloxofCode New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    - 11Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SCN6, Arduino

    Hello I'm also inspired on your work and digging some research on what materials I will be needing and available here in our country. By the way I'm from Philippines. My question is does the pulley belt width matter? right now available is a 40 teeth 11mm wide belt, 17mm bore & 20 teeth 11mm wide belt,10mm bore. Can I still use this specifications? Appreciate your answer
  20. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    41Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I advise you to use a GT2 pulley and belt. They are about 6mm wide.