1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My project 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Arielnac, May 19, 2019.

  1. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. I had no need to add anything. If you consider that you have violent movements, I think you have to decrease the CTC and increase the movement range of the motors. 70mm is a lot for the geometry of your platform considering the distance between the seat pivot point and the engine mounting point.

    I use a Total Degrees used for Axis of 153º, which corresponds to an Axis Limiting of 85%, but with a 50mm CTC.
    And don't forget to set the output type as rotational every time you start simtools, because it goes back to linear. It is a software bug.
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
  2. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok thanks. I added some bungie cords to the front and it actually feels 100% better. Got rid of almost all of the slack. Your right. 70mm CTC is definitely more than I need.

    I noticed the output type keeps going back to linear too. I was going to try and reinstall sim tools to fix it but I guess that would be pointless.
  3. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Small slack of the engine is best addressed by adding some weight to the front of the platform. But that is different from violent movements.
  4. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ya. I had both slack and violent movement. I added 5% smoothing for the violence haha. I am going to switch back to 50mm CTC and add weight to the front instead of bungies and see how it feels.
  5. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Here I leave you my current setting of simtools that I think will work very well for you, seeing the geometry of your platform that is very similar to mine. I have not had to apply any type of filter.
    Washout filter should be used on Sway and Surge, but I don't notice any difference.
    Use Output Testing as to verify the movement of the axes. For this remember to set the default profile

    Attached Files:

    • a1.JPG
      a1.JPG
      File size:
      95.5 KB
      Views:
      120
    • a2.JPG
      a2.JPG
      File size:
      88 KB
      Views:
      113
    • a3.JPG
      a3.JPG
      File size:
      101 KB
      Views:
      113
    • a4.JPG
      a4.JPG
      File size:
      103.5 KB
      Views:
      122
    • a5.JPG
      a5.JPG
      File size:
      69.2 KB
      Views:
      120
    • a6.JPG
      a6.JPG
      File size:
      63.7 KB
      Views:
      113
    • a7.PNG
      a7.PNG
      File size:
      447.2 KB
      Views:
      117
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
  6. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Perfect. Thanks alot!!
  7. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi, Arielnac , the batteries that you put in parallel with your power supply ,do they have to match the power supply specs,as in 24v and the same amperage as the power supply.Thnaks so much.
  8. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. In the end do not use anything. Using 18.5V which is the minimum at which the power supplies work, I have no problems or heating the BTS or any feedback problems.
    My motors are for 24V but at 18.5 they work very well. They have plenty of power.
  9. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    That is a good idea dropping the voltage,will try it out:grinThanks!
  10. Ronan Design

    Ronan Design Roman Design - Custom MSFS Scenery

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2021
    Messages:
    36
    Occupation:
    Web Designer, MSFS Scenery Designer
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Balance:
    306Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Have you tried this system with flight simulators? Would the limited motion allow enough flightsim realism? My goal is VR Microsoft Flight Simulator motion platform, and I was told that in VR "less is more" and it seems that small angles allow to do it without motion compensation in WMR OpenXR (which is use in MSFS and looks like there is no solution for Reverb G2 native WMR motion compensation, and MSFS doens't work with SteamVR well, not with G2). So how would you describe flightsim experience in your rig, if you tried it?
  11. khairul

    khairul New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    77Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF
    hello sir, I had done my project using motor wiper but faced minor problem like over heating motor. I want to know that wheelchair motor like yours had enough torque compare to wiper motor?
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,781
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,948Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Wheelchair motors have significantly more torque than wiper motors.