1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

MY own 2 dof diy

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by absyfadhel1, Apr 17, 2020.

  1. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    i used 2x 12v wipermototr (Token from sunny)

    psu power supply

    arduino uno r3

    2x H-bridge

    fan
    .... help me get my diy key plz


    video soon...

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,681
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,555Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,879 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you got details and pictures of the competed rig?
  4. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    i didnt understand
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,681
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,555Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,879 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Your thread needs to show progress of the rig until it is complete and ready for testing, because to qualify for a free license:

    • You must be building a true DIY motion simulator. (Not built from a kit or purchased from a simulator seller, a model simulator does not qualify.)
    • Have a unique build thread or Showcase in DIY Simulator Projects. (The thread should show some effort, which means it should show progress to the testing phase.)
    • Have been a member of the community for at least 30 days.
  6. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I really need diyy license...

    this is my project be wait for next video

    20200517_063840.jpg 20200517_063828.jpg 20200517_063822.jpg 20200517_063820.jpg 20200517_063811.jpg 20200517_063807.jpg 20200517_063759.jpg
  7. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    first i made the seat stand with car shaft..

    20200430_163757.jpg


    then i change the place of the motor to less the weight..

    20200517_063820.jpg


    i used smc3 tools so i used arduno and ibts or some like that..

    20200517_063828.jpg

    i placed the potenmetier on a steel that i solder it on the motor ..

    20200517_063807.jpg

    so thats it....

    you can see the test video at this link



    hope i get diy license
    • Like Like x 2
  8. p00ky

    p00ky Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Occupation:
    Self Employed Laser Cutter
    Location:
    Wales
    Balance:
    70Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Nice build :) I might even modify mine a little (building right now) as your foot well and wheel mount might cause me less issues. Thanks for posting.
  9. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks for your support.. my build need some edit .. like when its go down the motor wont turn back becuase of wieght... i will add tomowro more spring in the back and i will check if it will solve the problme.. be waiting
    • Like Like x 1
  10. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    even if anybody can tell me how to incress the power of the motor and thanx:roll
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,681
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,555Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,879 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    One of the problems when starting multiple threads is that information is scattered about and easily missed.

    See my earlier comment about the limitations of wiper motors on this thread: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/2dof-motor-problme.14676/#post-197684

    Yours is really a design issue. If using weak motors like wipers then lots of inherent design leverage is needed, along with minimal mass, like a shoulder mount seat shaker design. For a compact design you need plenty of torque, I use 200w motors with 60:1 wormdrives on my compact rig.

    Use SimCalc to get your head around the trade offs between physics and design, for a given performance: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...e-linear-speed-and-forces-of-your-design.270/
  12. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    ...
    oh yes my problme sorry.. do you think the power supply maybe the problme?..because in smc3 when incress the speed or the power the powersupply turned off...i use computer power supply
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,681
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,555Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,879 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The psu may have its limits, but I suspect this is a design problem, as the motors are likely not adequate to drive the intended load.
  14. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    after i put my details on simcalc.. what the reseult? what it will help me on? help pls
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,681
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,555Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,879 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you put the dimension of your rig into SimCalc it will give you a good idea of what motor power may be needed to drive your rig at a desired level of performance.