1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

My new motor and plan for a 3DOF with AC motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by That Dude There, Feb 28, 2017.

  1. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Can I connect SPI or Synchronous Serial Interface resolver sensor on the arduino instead? I read the EMI noise of the AC motors make analog sensors reading go haywire on arduino.

    Mike
  2. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Why don't you ask @RufusDufus about that ... I'm sure he can find you a good solution .

    Sure :) ... Also EMI noise from ambient appliances can affect any exposed wires ... that's why a good USB cable use a shielding foil for the sensitive digital signals .

    I hate where a good minds are stuck :p .
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017
  3. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Look at what arrived!
    [​IMG]
    Well this is my first actual motion sim part. I was surprised at how small it is. There sounds like a screw rattling around inside, so looks like I'll open it up and try to find it.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    It was a plastic tab from the housing broken off. Thought I would show you the inside. :)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I think you just voided the warranty! LOL
  6. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    I bought it for about half price used on ebay. ;)
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  7. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I just hope it not half works too :p
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I just wish that you can tell us . What are these ?
    IMG_4967_zpskhtz2oof.jpg
  9. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    I don't know...I'm reading the online manual now, but I don't know if they will mention circuit board chips. I bet you know!
  10. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
  11. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @That Dude There ... That message was not for you buddy ... just ignore it .

    Edit :and use simple MCB as recommended before .

    Havells-C-Series-Spn-Mcb-SDL815644519-1-bcbcb.jpg
  12. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    I was just looking through a thread to remember what to use. Thanks!

    Here are the specs listed for this model. 45A is way overkill.
    [​IMG]
  13. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So, It is about 10A for each VFD > 30 A for all three > you can use a 40A MCB as main with a 40A contactor with an emergency switch .
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  15. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
  16. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Thinking about the TS-PC as a nice fix. :cool:
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,118Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I see the optocouplers that all vfd now days have on their inputs. This is by design so you can connect PLC controls or microcontroller directly to it...

    So why you need another set of optocouplers? Hmmm... overkill
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
  18. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    From a designer perspective it's also a precaution to prevent people like you from errors is connections and many other interferences and for some signal conditioning that you're still unaware of it ... So IMHO my design fit your skills perfectly :thumbs .
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
  19. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
  20. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Before being tempted into any cheap hardware ... Have you decided a final design / concept to follow ?

    3DOF-Systems2.jpg PS3TM1500_250.png 3-dof-electric.jpg



    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017