1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom My first ride with Oculus Rift DK2

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by floripaoliver, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,608
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,807Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,581 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Me too @fusednova, full steam ahead on the build now that I finally have my DK2 as incentive. Like you I may consider adding traction traction loss at some point in the future, but I will wait until all the rest is built and sorted first.
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,875Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,423 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have just got my DK2 up and running on my rig with LFS and the immersion is really good. My biggest problem is the in car sound, it's just bloody awful it spoils it a lot for me. I can forgive the crappy graphics but the sound is so poor.

    Can't wait to try Project CARS when it comes out just wish I had signed up when it started.

    And hopefully AC will get full DK2 support soon.

    Has anyone tried vorpx to use Dirt3 or Grid because they have good sound and better graphics.

    I've tried Prepar3D but the frame rate is way to low and it juddered like hell although I have not tried it since I got my new GTX970


    Much more testing and trying to do yet but VR is going to be an amazing ride to be on as it develops and gets better and better.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. floripaoliver

    floripaoliver New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    What? Do I need to work?
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hi guys,

    Wow! I was quite some time without activity here, I guess the daily workload gets to me... LOL
    Here finally a new video with my latest setup and some cameras setup. I hope this time all is better synced... :)



    Let me know what you think guys... I am glad to be with some more time again and back...
  4. Tomsix

    Tomsix Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Németország
    Balance:
    227Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    How's your tracker attached? I think if your tracker not moves with your seat together just stay still in the front of you may get some unwanted movements. Example what i see that when you drive the car to the Right your head leaning too to the same side but it should to the left as the g-forces acting on it and u need hold with your own muscles.
    Or im wrong?:roll
  5. floripaoliver

    floripaoliver New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    What? Do I need to work?
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hi Tomsix, you are absolute right about that. The tracker is right now at the top of my screen in front which is a bad thing. There are two problems with this. 1. you mentioned already, additional 2. problem is that the vibrations from your cockpit let the monitor from time to time shake and there for give you in some situations the feeling the street would be extreme bumpy.

    Before I used to fix the tracker with a small stick fixed to the wall which gets rid of the second problem. there isnt really a way to attach the tracker to the chair unless you want a huge construction around you.

    Having said that, during you drive this dont really seem a problem because your head still moves to the forces of the cockpit anyway. At least I can say that this never somehow felt different as to drive in a real car. I guess this comes harder over the screen as you feel it in the end.
  6. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    296Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have a seatmover and I use the dk2 camera at top of the monitor, wich not moves with the seat. It works perfectly, the feeling when moving the chair is very immersive.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. floripaoliver

    floripaoliver New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    What? Do I need to work?
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    34Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Thats how I use but since the entire platform vibrates from the SCN5 movment and buttkicker the tracker on my screen also swing a little bit with the screen around. In my case everything including the screen is mounted on one platform which is on robber feed. The effect is much better and realistic when I fix the tracker (not attach to my platform and away from vibrations). but other than that, I agree, works perfect and feels as real as it gets... well, at least I am happy with it :)