1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

MY first motion Sim + traction Loss

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by crammy, Mar 17, 2016.

  1. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    this is how im going to do the base for traction loss. not to keen on the ball transfer units underneath so have opted for hardened poly wheels which can take some load. these will be 80mm diameter. I have had some useful info from @Roadster2 in this department. ive been playing on cad and its hard work designing, so i think im going to build the base with the traction loss and just clamp my gt omega set up to it to test. I think i will have more hope when i dig the seat out and experiment with it.

    The four circles at the ends are where the 4 hyperaxis 100 will seat. i have had a lot of trouble finding m14x1.5dome nuts here in the uk to suit the ends of the actuators but sourced some wheel nuts today with the same thread pitch that are slightly domed so may be suitable

    Attached Files:

  2. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    had a bit of a slow day at work today so got started on the test rig. Ive ordered 6 x 60Ø nylon wheels for the traction loss so they should be here friday, and the frex delivery thursday, along with the power supplies.
    In my previous post i was thinking about just clamping my existing setup to this but i can confirm this is the way i am going to go just to get it set up and running. i can then remake a new top section from lighter materials and purchase a new sparco seat 20160419_144523.jpg 20160419_144652.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
  3. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Done a bit more at work today. Just waiting to pick my wheels up tomorrow and I'll post some pictures.

    Not impressed with FedEx. I had a delivery today with my power supplies and they never brought my frex delivery with the actuators that was supposed to be here by 6pm.

    Really pissed me off as I wanted to set it up this weekend with the help from you guys on here
  4. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    just spoke to FedEx and they have stopped my package at customs to inspect it. I have now got to go to stansted customs to collect it or wait for delivery tuesday.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,782
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,296Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,216 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Murphy's Law...what a pain!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Surprising, Fedex usually pushed for IN house customs, But i guess this is a Spendy item (recipe wise) So im assuming they are going to do their Typical "Stick it to ya" on the Customs and Duties....sorry but beware for a Big Bill.
  7. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Hi nick. I did mention that I thought it was supposed to be delivered and invoiced after and the woman told me that is usual procedure but random packages get stopped and not released until duty paid. I have paid and collected so should be setting up soon hopefully
  8. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    hi guys.
    ive set up what i can tonight so thought i would post a couple of pictures.
    i got some wheels made up for the traction loss and can say i very happy with the outcome and ease of movement. i even sat on the frame and can still move it with my little finger.
    the only problem i have now is figuring up how to wire and connect it all up. I generally have no idea and got no instructions with the actuators.
    Im counting on you all lol.
    I haven't made the top yet but hoping to experiment in the week if i can get this up and running 20160422_210858.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2016
  9. Cantsitstill

    Cantsitstill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Balance:
    1,459Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    All things being equal and dependent upon your proximity to the screens, 4K monitors may be an unnecessary expense. According to my THX calibration training, the difference between 4K and 1080p is imperceptible to the human eye at distances greater than 2 feet away and that comes from the mouth of the Yoda of calibration Michael Chen. There's rarely a one size fits all solution in these matters but it's something to bear in mind.
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2016
  10. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Hi @Cantsitstill im not worrying with the monitors for now and just going to use 1 1080p screen. I would just like to get the rig set up and the moment and worry about that later
  11. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    119Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Hey Crammy, looks very professional! What kind of sim are you builing? I have never seen a setup with 4 actuators. Altough i see a fifth one in the photo.
  12. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Hi peter. Is just a racing sim with traction loss. Not got a clue what you would call it in the eyes of DOF. I do t u derstand all that yet as im only newbie to the sim world
  13. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    119Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Hi, i took al look at your pdf. I get it now. the rig can rotate around the bolt in the middle. smart! :thumbs. looks very robust.

    the seat will be mounted on top of the four actuators? How fast can they move? And do they have some kind of feedback buildin? And what do they cost?
  14. B18Eric

    B18Eric New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Balance:
    284Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Sweet, definately watching this!! Have fun!
  15. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +325 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    well what can i say. Happy as a pig in the brown stuff. just had an email to say my converters should be here via UPS tomorrow. Ive clamped my existing rig to this one for now to have a play. I didnt realise how big it would actually be but doesnt look as wide now. Does anyone know of any settings for this type of set-up. Preferably project cars or Asseto corsa.
    I havent conected the traction loss actuator as i cant find the bolts so will have to go and get some tomorrow if UPS arrive early

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
  16. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,074Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,227 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    nice but the shifter is on the wrong side lol:D
  17. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,029
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,895Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,045 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    ? also lol about your comment - nothing spectacular here!
  18. AceOfSpies

    AceOfSpies Living the Dream!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Kilwinning, Scotland
    Balance:
    19,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    UK mode!
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Doctor Kruntz

    Doctor Kruntz Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    384Coins
    Ratings:
    +80 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    A project and a really fantastic job... Many compliments crammy! :):thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Peter van den Esschert

    Peter van den Esschert Peter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    119Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    WOW!! That looks very impressing. Awesome job! I am curious how fast those actuators are... looking forward for some moving pics.