1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My First Motion 3DOF Sim Build...(Advice?)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Ben Selph, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. Ben Selph

    Ben Selph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    583Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Great info, thanks! Does each board need a heatsink as well?
  2. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Yes they do. Cant remember what page, But i have the actual chip dimension's listed in my thread.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,557
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,134 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My heatsinks are still coming, along with modified alloy mounting boxes for the JRKs.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2014
  4. Ben Selph

    Ben Selph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    583Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Ok, I've been looking at @rundmg build and I think have a good grip on the basics. My concern at this point is all of the smaller connections. I'm not sure how the metal rods attach to the pot and motors. I can see quite a few bolts and L-joints (sorry if that's not the correct term) and some glue on the top of the motors holding the joint in place. It's the small connectors that I can't quite see from the pics of how they all fit. I'm going to start the base frame build this weekend and am thinking about ordering the jrk boards, motors and pots soon (most likely the same ones from @rundmg build since it sounds like those are decent and quiet). Thanks for all the tips! I'm a little nervous about building this from scratch since I obviously don't want to screw it up and waste the money that I'll spend on parts, lol...I'm just trying to get as much info as possible before I start!
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,557
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,134 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There is a FAQ on various ways to connect pots: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/how-to-connect-potentiometer.13/

    Using a coupler of the right size is a pretty easy way to go, if that fits your design and motors: http://www.xsimulator.net/community...f-simulator-conversion.5914/page-3#post-63809

    The bracket that hold the pot should have some give and it is better to attach to and move with the motor, rather than be attached to the frame, as the latter can cause binding and strain.

    Don't forget you can pose a specific questions or put forward an idea before doing anything as you go along.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,557
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,134 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    OK I just took these close up front and back shots of how I mounted my pots, which is just one way of many to do it.

    I used 20x2mm flat aluminium mounted directly to the existing back holes in the motor case. I was very careful in getting this bracket spot on and actually made about 6 of them before I was happy that they correctly aligned the pot with the shaft coupling. There are plenty of other ways to achieve the same thing.

    I had originally planned a direct attachment of the pot to the motor shaft, mainly to save space, but changed my mind at the last minute and grabbed a coupling as it allows for some variation and movement if the hole in the shaft is not dead center. Hence I adapted what I had already done in drilling the M8 hole in the shaft to how I needed to connect that to the pot coupling, so it is more complicated than it should have been if I had the correct coupling and planned to use that from the start: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/dx-racer-compact-simulator.5866/page-3#post-63105

    Hope that helps more than confuses, just keep in mind we all tend to adapt a solution to suit ourselves!

    20141111_170042.jpg
    20141111_170150.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2014
  7. Ben Selph

    Ben Selph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    583Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks @noorbeast, I appreciate you taking the time to take the pics. That looks amazing! I don't have any mechanical equipment to drill into metal so can this be done with off the shelf items from a hardware store?
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Coupler's are going to be your best bet Ben. They just clamp on to what ever round shaft you want, like the Pot and Axle bolt. Just get the proper size the first time for your Application.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. jem45472

    jem45472 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Balance:
    306Coins
    Ratings:
    +85 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Here's mine. Very easy to setup.
    I used a piece of hose to connect pot to motor. Simple.

    I have since replaced the mounting bracket with a very light gauge aluminum. About the thickness of a soda can. You want the bracket to flex just a bit if it needs to avoid binding the pot shaft as the motor turns. Several of us have broken pots because the mounting bracket was too rigid.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,557
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,134 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Some people have used metal straps common in hardware stores to mount pots, such as these: http://www.bunnings.com.au/pryda-75-x-380mm-nail-on-connector-plate-_p2430027

    The light aluminium I used came from the local hardware store.

    I consider that you really do need a power drill at least when building a sim. I also lashed out a whole $60 dollars and purchased a drill press for my project, which has been invaluable and a great time saver. You could get away without it though, as long as you measure carefully and take your time with a power drill.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Ben Selph

    Ben Selph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    583Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I'm good with drilling, just not so much the welding or metal cutting.... :) Ok so you just attach the pot to the metal plate and attach the metal plate to the motor. Am I seeing that right? I'm still a couple of weeks out from ordering the mechanical stuff since I'm planning on starting the frame build next week (parts for that should arrive around 11/22).
    Also, what is the difference between mounting the metal rods to the seat vs. mounting to a base that the seat sits on? I don't think I want to put holes in my new seat if possible but wondered if there was a big difference between the two types of setups? Thanks again!
  12. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes more or less, I used some metal strap, bent it , lined up where the pot needs to go, drilled the hole a bit bigger than the pot shaft size, bolted the pot to that, and araldite glues the strap to the top of the motor housing.
    As for your next question, perhaps you could draw something on paper, and put up a pic so I can get a better idea.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,557
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,134 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A sketch as @bsft suggested of what you have in mind would really help.

    Yes there is a significant difference in layouts for motors and rods, with a shoulder mount perhaps being the most straightforward. But different designs can be made to work, which @bsft and others have explored through various builds.

    Your planning picture does not need to be fancy, just a quick idea of what may suit yourself and then everyone can chip in with tips and ideas about the pros and cons, plus add potential solutions.
  14. Ben Selph

    Ben Selph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    583Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Ok I received a few parts for the frame and should have completed over Thanksgiving weekend. I'll upload some pics when done. FYI that I'm actually going to build three of them for my fam with the center rig being the only motion rig for now (which will be mine of course :). Quick question on SimTools: Are the 'plug-ins' preset values for each sim game that I just add to the game somehow or do I need to hand-tool every field for every sim myself? The SimXperience SimCommander tool looks more user friendly but I don't want to be stuck with only the sims they support. Are there any other differences between SimTools and SimCommander?
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    You will need to change tuning centre numbers to suit how you like each force.
    Because there are so many variables for each persons ride, every setting is different .
    Bernards software is set because he uses the same equipment all the time
    Have a look at this doc
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community...-set-up-simtools-jrks-and-write-profiles.112/
    its for ver 1.2, but explains how to do each force and setting to get a profile right.
  16. Ben Selph

    Ben Selph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    583Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    What are the "plug-ins"? Are they pre-tuned profiles that you can plug into current sims?
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,557
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,037Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,134 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 1