1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My finished 2DOF project (VideoTutorial)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by scruck, Jun 1, 2021.

  1. scruck

    scruck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    2 x 10mm for motor arm, in the image you see two because where they cut by laser the maximum thickness of the aluminum was 5mm, so I made two for motor arms and then joined them with screws.
  2. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    603Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    So I need only 10mm without the small parts in 5mm?
  3. scruck

    scruck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You need the 10mm cams and the small 5mm cams to attach the 10mm cams to the motor shaft, in the image there are 2 cams joined because they are 5mm and to get the 10mm I had to join them.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Rull

    Rull New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    - 66Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Very good tutorial, I have been able to make my simulator thanks to how well it is explained, explaining every last detail.
    your greeting

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2022
  5. scruck

    scruck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thank you. Enjoy it!!
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2022
  6. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    603Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Hello,
    Something is going wrong with the STL file.
    STL.jpg
    May you can give the amount of infill and material, we have PETG not PLA? Thanks
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2022
  7. scruck

    scruck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    356Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    hello, I print in ABS and 100% infill as they are small pieces.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    603Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    STL2.jpg
    Unfortunately something is going wrong, can you post your print settings ?
    we use a Prusa MK3S printer.
  9. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    603Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    After recalibrate the Z axis, it seams to be ok!

    STL.JPG

    Thank you!
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    603Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Hello Again, the Power supply which you have linked on your Website (24V 480W) have at the left a screw which you can adjust the output voltage over a potentiometer between about 16 and 24V (measured in idle). Is this not enough?

    And i want to ask you wich mm² cable for the motors and for the sensor do you choose, aswell which kind of
    heat shrink tubing in size do you have use. Thanks I will start today with the Arduino and SMC3 etc. THANK YOU for your tutorial.
  11. Rull

    Rull New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    - 66Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Hello good afternoon, the power supply has a potentiometer where you can adjust the voltage between 18v to 26v approximately, it is valid for that motor, the motor is 250w and the power supply is 480w. As for the signal cable for the potentiometer, with a 0.75 mm cable is enough, as I said, I used a cable from a mobile charger, because the current intensity is very small. And regarding the thermotractile tube, when you get the cable you will have to see it in an electronics component store because it depends on the diameter of the cable you are going to use I can not tell you exactly the diameter you need. I hope it helped you. Greetings.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Michail

    Michail Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2022
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    603Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    Hello I would like to Ask you how long the rod is from motor shaft to profile.. so screw to screw.
    Or other I try to ask different, how do you choose this design? Do you limit the voltage of 18.5 V aswell?

    I have acces to 3x075mm², I will chose this cable for the sensors. And 2,5mm² for the motors or can I use 1mm???
  13. Rull

    Rull New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    - 66Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    3x075mm² is fine for the signal and 1.5mm minimum for the motor, if you have 2.5mm better.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Rull

    Rull New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    - 66Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    The motor has a consumption of 12.5 A, the 1.5mm cable supports between 10A and 20A and the 2.5mm cable supports from 16A to 32A approximately, the larger the diameter the less the cable will heat up and the less current losses. These are approximate data.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Rull

    Rull New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    - 66Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    The voltage if the motor is 24v the power supply has to be at 25v and approximately 25.5v due to voltage drops. I have manufactured the design, seeing several simulators and I have chosen what I like most about each of them. The engine anchors depend on the design you are going to make and with the materials in place, you start to adapt. I wait to see answered what you wanted to know.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  16. SaintFrank

    SaintFrank Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2021
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Proces operator
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi , Can you tell me what size are the Rod ends you use?
    looks like M8 or M10 but it looks a bit fragile to me , I was thinking of getting minimum size M12

    upload_2022-2-7_15-10-9.png
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,357
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    143,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,712 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I used M10s on my compact rig, which has relatively small deflection, but the more robust the better and M12 would do fine.
  18. SaintFrank

    SaintFrank Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2021
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    Proces operator
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thx, I'll order some M12, working on my build will make a build post later on .
  19. Rull

    Rull New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    - 66Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Hello, sorry, I have not noticed your last message, it has not reached me in the mail. But I put 10mm threaded rod, but it all depends on the distance between rings and the diameter of the inner hole of the ring, mine is 8mm. Greetings.
  20. Martin Dixon

    Martin Dixon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2021
    Messages:
    49
    Occupation:
    Sgt HM FORCES
    Location:
    Devizes, Wiltshire
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN5, SCN6, SimAxe, Arduino, JRK, Joyrider, SimforceGT, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    nice build what motors are you using?