1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom my economic hydraulic brake

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by MarcoMade, Apr 10, 2019.

  1. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    - 1Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello to all simracing pilots.
    I show you some pictures of my hydraulic brake
    built with a few coins.
    brake master cylinder for quads
    caliper used aprilia scooter (piece of wood for braking deformation)
    sensor 1000psi 0-5v approx
    arduino Leonardo (for steering wheel and pedals)

    I found it difficult to find the right Y-shaped diverters for hydraulic oil, so I welded a rim straight to the bolt and then drilled to pass the oil.
    pictures work in progress
    • Creative Creative x 1
  2. Timbo

    Timbo New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I was thinking of doing something similar. Why do you need a caliper? Couldn't you just use hydraulic line directly to the pressure sensor?
  3. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    - 1Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hi timbo. without the pliers, there is no pressure on the discs and it becomes very dimmable. I have little travel, the pump piston is small, if I wear hard rubber instead of wood it does not reach 100% (5v sensor output). in addition I have the possibility to purge air from the pipes as in the automotive industry ..
  4. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    - 1Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I must have explained myself wrongly in the post above.
    without minimal elasticity, you reduce the feeling of braking a lot.
    which is why I mounted a clamp that presses on a wood
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Timbo

    Timbo New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    - 47Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Ah, yes, I can see how allowing for some travel would give a progressive feel. And, of course, the ability to bleed the brakes is a must. Continue on, Sir.
  6. ahoenksiluman

    ahoenksiluman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    indonesia
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    pressure transducer is kind of cheapes, easyest, and greatest solution...
    love your setup...

    but thats too expensive in my place...
  7. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    - 1Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thank you. but he thinks that the pump I paid him 10 €, the pressure transducer 15 € and the brake caliper found of recovery with the tubes. I don't think it cost much. I can assure you that the feedback you give me compared to the load cells I tried has no equal .. I can brake like in a real racing car (cheap :)) ..
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ahoenksiluman

    ahoenksiluman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    indonesia
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    for master, hose, and caliper thats cheap, we can use whatever it from...
    but the pressure transducer...hard to find and expensive...
  9. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    - 1Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm not sure if I can post a link to the pressure sensor. however we are around € 15-25 depending on the model. 0 to 5v out signal 1000psi
  10. ahoenksiluman

    ahoenksiluman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    indonesia
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    actually around $10 shipped from china for 500psi....
    but for now i cant afford it...maybe later...
  11. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    - 1Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    in fact this is how I did, I took a pump and sensor in china from one of the many stores