1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom My compact 6DOF Project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by agroum, Jun 27, 2017.

  1. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi

    I'm new in the community
    I have build this project from scratch.
    I started with Xplane and now I'm exploring new games.
    So I use SimTools just to catch the raw data.
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,445
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,730 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice - are they commercial actuators ? How fast are they?
  4. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes they're commercial

    2.8'' per sec. it's enought, some think that it's necessary faster before they had trying. The goal is that the intern ear and the vision think that it's the reality

    I try a commercial setup with SCN5 and it was way too fast and agressive and beaucause that it was far to the reality.
    It's like in audio if you 're setup is well tune it can be impressive.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2017
  5. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,626Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    That's the most compact 6DOF I've seen!
    Very nice, please share more details about the actuators and build pictures?

    A video of your sim in action would also be fantastic :popcorn
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    Is it possible to upload directly here ?
  7. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    the actuators are commercial but I install a externals encoders on each.
    I had to change one because of an abbusing test it the one I receive is the same from the outside but the dead zone is tree time more than the others. It cause that this actuator is hard to enslave.
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,445
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,730 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I guess that is the no-load spec? No such thing as a actuator that is 'too' fast:), if the SCN-5 sim felt too fast/violent then it is a problem with the setup of the motion profile not the actuators. As long as your 'flying' big jets with the sim, it would be fine (no fine turbulent data though). Thanks for posting - would like to see some more details/videos if you have the time to post - great info for people who may also want to go down a similar path. (For videos: post them to your favorite video server and embed the link in your post using the Media tool).
    • Agree Agree x 2
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2017
  9. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    probably 2.5'' per sec in load, I don't see any difference in load. I can take a min to extract some data. The things with speed and strenght is the price. Of course it's never too fast but as you said only if the setup is well balance between speed and precision. Most simulator I saw are way too agressive.

    I don't use simtools for driving the setup, it's only to extract the raw data, I posttreat all on my side, enven the stewart platform model and it gives me all the flexibility too setup the model.

    yes sure I'll put a video this week
  10. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +146 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    nice job...
    sounds like gates actuators...slow but powerful?!
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,445
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,730 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So true, which is why I built my own. Have fun with your sim.
  12. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,198Coins
    Ratings:
    +397 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    No, you need to upload it somewhere else, like e. g. youtube. Then you can add a link here.
    Which would be great by the way. :)
  13. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    Not that slow look I post videos but I need tune it better
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +146 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  16. agroum

    agroum My solo 11 years ago Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    Mechatronics engineer / part time aero master
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    104Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    For flight sim I develope other motion filters, modified washout filters with frenquencies based on research, it's smoother
  17. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,749Coins
    Ratings:
    +181 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I'm interested in your comments about filters for flying. I've been getting frustrated trying to get a smooth realistic motion profile using simtools for flying Aerofly FS2 in VR. Especially with the limited range of my current 3DOF I need to use roll/sec and yaw/sec rather than absolute DOF values, but the resulting movements are far from the smooth floating-on-air feeling i'm after. Simtools seems more oriented to driving than flying. I'd be interested to hear about anything you've learned.
  18. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,445
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,730 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You may want to look at BFF. http://bffsimulation.com/index.php Although I don't know if he has a plug-in for Aerofly FS2
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2017
  19. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,749Coins
    Ratings:
    +181 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks. I'll contact the BFF guy. I see its specifically for 6DOF. My current platform is 3DOF. Wrt plugins it does says data via UDP and @agroum has found a way to use simtools to extract the telemetry so maybe it can be output to UDP.
  20. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,749Coins
    Ratings:
    +181 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I really like the look of this platform. I'm a big fan of compact design. The final size of diy based actuator designs really puts me off. I'd need to allocate a whole room. What model of actuator are you using?
  21. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,445
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,730 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    There is also a 3DOF version - see BFF website.
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1