1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom My 6DOF with DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Vitalius, Sep 1, 2018.

  1. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    676
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,614Coins
    Ratings:
    +682 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Don't have much time.
    Video looks really cool.
    I solve my proble of not enough angle by setting the connection to the platform already at an angle when at center position. Could be done with the connection at the base. Give them an angle at center position.
    I'm not sure if that the problem you are talking about.

    Man, I don't see any smile on your face. Are you always that serious?
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Man, I don't see any smile on your face. Are you always that serious?[/QUOTE]

    Sorry if I scared someone.;):D I showed a shortened version of my recording. I can assure you all it is a lot of fun!:)
  3. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So I think I did it. The drawing is ready.
    The rod ends are now just parallel to the frame so that enough play between screws (axis) and rod ends.
    I hope I am right. It would be nice to get your opinion.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    Last edited: May 27, 2019
  4. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello everyone! I need help from you! My Sabertooth 2X60 does not work on port 2.
    I have already tested the engines are ok.
    Can someone give me a tip as I think I think he is really broken?

    Attached Files:

  5. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Here is another video from Sabertooth 2X60
    Engine 2 is at the back and engine 1 is at the front
    Hello everyone! I need help from you! My Sabertooth 2X60 does not work on port 2.
    I have already tested the engines are ok.
    Can someone give me a tip as I think I think he is really broken?
    Last edited: May 31, 2019
  6. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,388Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    HI ,
    Your Kp is very low !! normaly is about 300-400
  7. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    HELLO ,
    Your kp is very low !! Usually is about 300-400
    HALLO Flymen,
    When I change my Kp, the motor starts getting restless. He is shaking vigorously. I tried to change it. Unfortunately it did not work.
  8. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,388Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    ok , you can switch output( Sabertooth 2X60) Engine 2 and Engine 1 . Like this you will see if the problem is number 2 engine or output power of your Sabertooth .
    and if the engine 2 work good like this , and engine 1 no working ... the problem is Sabertooth
  9. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So, I did. Engine # 2 works one-way.

    Do you know how to reset an EEPROM on Sabertooth?
  10. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,388Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    no sorry !
    Do you have another one ( sabertooth ) ?
  11. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  12. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, two more and they work without problems.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Kann
    Can it possibly be due to Arduino UNO?
  14. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,388Coins
    Ratings:
    +119 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Switch a good one sabetooth for the bad one !! you will see if is the control ( Arduino uno ) or no !
  15. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Have now connected another Arduino. No improvement. I think the Sabertooth is really broken.
  16. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So after reset to EEPROM on Sabertooth. But as it is I will find out tomorrow. It is 01:17 clock at night with us. I'm going to sleep. @Flymen Thank you for your help!
    • Like Like x 1
  17. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    i hope you will be successful! its terrible to have an expensive part go bad!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +793 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    hi @Vitalius before you send it back set the dip switches on sabertooth to analogue input and connect a regular 10K pot connected to 0v and S2 input on Sabertooth .
    this quick test should let you know if the sabertooth is a problem, Cant remember the Default Dip switch settings for analogue control but ii have done this test several times in the past due to mistakes i made wiring and thought i'd killed my Sabertooths .. hell i even managed to get the polarity messed up at one time and the Sabertooth survived ( even though thats the worst thing you can do to these Controllers) .. might be worth a shot , :)
  19. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Cool, good idea! I do
  20. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF