1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom My 6DOF with DIY Actuators

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Vitalius, Sep 1, 2018.

  1. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks, can you help me with the Elite Dangerous question?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,144
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Cool! Thank you. Everything works now!
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello everybody.
    Can someone please help me with this problem?
    When I load my ring, he becomes restless and begins to tease.
    Here is a video of it:
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2019
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    In SMC3 UTILITY set Fpid to 3 or 4 ;) hopefully that works if not post screen grabs of your settings
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Here are my set

    Already have FPID at 10.

    I had to set Deadzone to 5 to minimize engine additions. But I arrived today at 10. I probably have "slack" as described in SMC3 Windows Utilities.
    "Deadzone This creates a hysteresis zone for the engine feedback If you need more than 1, you probably have too much slack in your mechanical setup."
    Unfortunately, I do not miss a where to look for me.
    All my feedback pot are soldered firmly and I use shielded cables at motors and pots.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 21, 2019
  7. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Hello, try to upload the PWmin and PWMax values
  8. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello I tried, unfortunately, the vibrations generated were even stronger.
    PWmin have already been at 60.

    Attached Files:

  9. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    "Its possible its the 50k pots. It's recommended to use 10k or less with arduino." from Link
    Which potis do you use?
    I use 50k pots
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You should have PWmin at Zero and no deadzone.

    Use hall sensor pots if you can they are far superior to normal pots for interference.

    I use cat5 cable for my HallEffect pots and never had a issue.

    And probably using 5k or 10k pots if not hall effect ones may help I dunno
  11. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thank you for the answer. Can you please tell me the name of your hall sensor pots? BI 132 I could still see in the photo. Thank you in advance
    Thank you for the answer. Can you please tell me the name of your hall sensor pots? BI 132 I could still see in the photo. Thank you in advance
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I use a gear box on my 360 degree hall sensor which isnt the best way

    These are probably what you want https://uk.farnell.com/bourns/amm20b5a1clasl380/position-sensor-multiturn-42mm/dp/2292033

    Edit: or buy some really high quality wire wound pots
  13. titomaky

    titomaky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Those potentiometers are very difficult to tame, you should use 10k linear pots
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    What do you mean by hard to tame ?
  15. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Sorry guys, I made false statements. I have the 10K Potis. Sorry. I just saw:(
  16. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I will try to change PWm to zero and test it.
  17. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    At the moment I'm busy repairing the ball joint mount. The first parts I made from PLA. The new ones are currently being printed from PET-G.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
  18. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,144
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The video does not play, perhaps it is set to Private on YouTube instead of public.
  20. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    561Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    But now has to go, forgot last button "publish" click. Thanks
    • Like Like x 1