1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My 6Dof setup - DIY Surge-Sway seat base with Frex Quadmotion

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by clarkii, Apr 23, 2016.

  1. AussieSim

    AussieSim Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    1,452Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Bump for an update ?
  2. joe extraknow

    joe extraknow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,550Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi:

    How is your project going? Can you post your updates? Very interesting approach, though.
    Adding three independent axises to a 3DoF platform could result in a different motion cues from classic 6DoF platform I would think (at least much better chassis vibration, etc.). Two aspects interesting to me if you can shsare with us:
    1) earlier studies suggested that at lower g the 3DoF actually better (more accurate) than classic 6DoF in terms of motion cues:
    https://lib.dr.iastate.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?referer=&httpsredir=1&article=1108&context=etd
    wonder how is your setup compare to others' 6DoF;
    2) how does SimTool work with your setup? I am not sure if SimTool actually implement Washout filters (I guess not). I believe that SimTool models 6-interfaces constrained so all 6 dofs can be assigned into single interface, such classic
    Stewart 6DoF platform (which are not independent each other).
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,879
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,603Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,681 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Washout is includes as a filter in Axis Assignment settings.
  4. Caesardimxes

    Caesardimxes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    13Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hey mate, did you finally finish this? Want to do something similar, so very interested in your final efforts.
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,704
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,986 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The OP stopped posting 4 years ago :).
  6. Caesardimxes

    Caesardimxes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    13Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Yeah but he was active on here till Nov 2019. Why can't he update people on whether it succeeded or failed?
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,704
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,986 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Who knows, although he is not obligated to do anything.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    786Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Finally come back for the unfinished project. Spent quite some time cleaning away the dust & rust. Luckily the actuators still work fine. Two problems were identified.

    First one is when I sit, the seat will tend to lean backward adding torsional stress to the ‘sway’ actuator & radial stress to the ‘surge’ actuator. So I further added a platform at the front of the surge-sway table & another platform at the back right below the ‘surge’ actuator.

    Second problem is when I step on the brake pedal strongly, the backward force applying to the surge actuator sometimes overstress it & cause it to beep. I don’t want to buy another ‘stronger’ actuator right now & so end up adjusting the seating position to a more upright one & turn the pedals to a less vertical position, the surge actuator no longer beeps when I brake strongly. Now playing with the axis settings & will update soon, cheers.

    A8C02AFF-60CF-40C6-8C58-621AAC1489DE.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1