1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom my 6dof (reproduction of ckas)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by vulbas, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    hello,
    it was time that I did not come.

    I redid the top part of the square tube. 40x40x2mm.
    the other was not stiff enough.
    Old is over, the new below
    2014-11-04 18.21.36.jpg

    I also redo the rods. and spacers

    2014-11-07 16.09.30.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
  2. 741852cp

    741852cp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    A better efficiency 90 °
    222.JPG
  3. 741852cp

    741852cp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    107Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    The circumferential converted to linear motion
  4. jthiani

    jthiani Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knightdale, NC
    Balance:
    496Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Very impressive sim. so did you end up using simtools with the thanos board??
  5. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hello.
    thank you.
    yes I use simtool with the card of thanos :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 4
  7. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +432 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Glad to seen your continuation! Looks good.
  8. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    i like it so far. can't wait to see it move.
  9. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    hehe, it has already moved. I removed the screen, I expect the oculus :thumbs

    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 3
  10. momoclic

    momoclic Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    214
    Occupation:
    Retraité
    Location:
    Nantes - France
    Balance:
    2,636Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    ça pleut le boulot ici...

    Pense à l'arrêt d'urgence à ce coup-ci ! ;)
  11. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    ho que oui :grin
  12. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF


    new video
    • Like Like x 3
  13. momoclic

    momoclic Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    214
    Occupation:
    Retraité
    Location:
    Nantes - France
    Balance:
    2,636Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    ça bouge bien toujours, peut-être un peut trop en vertical ?
    it still moves well, maybe a little too vertical?
  14. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    surge seems backwards? it looks as though the platform goes backwards on braking and forward when you press the gas pedal?

    sweet build!
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  15. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    bruce, the settings are okay

    i want reproduce G in a turn.
    how, when turns on a race track, the simulator roll at left or right with my 6dof ?
    on this video, when the car turn, the simulator roll. i want reproduce this with my 6dof.
    is it possible ?
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,947
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,809Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,664 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice job.

    I agree with @bruce stephen surge is reversed to what it should be.

    It is sway you need to adjust for the corners, your sim is certainly capable of it.
  17. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,141Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,764 / 30 / -1
    Whether surge is backwards or not is just preference really. Surge and sway tables need a very large range of movement in order to work properly if you ask me. But with limited movement, most run their tables opposite of what is normal, just the way seat movers work. But that is what is technically speaking backwards or reversed imho! When was the last time you pressed on your cars accelerator and went backwards when you weren’t in reverse gear?

    Check this video out starting @1:06 or 3:10 where the motion starts. Its not a racing simulator however, just a driving simulator.
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
  18. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    952Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    When you brake, your body goes forward. this is what it takes to reproduce.
    it must reproduce the effects felt, not the car's movements ;)
  19. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Right we use gravity not the sim to reproduce sway and surge. If possible have someone else drive a car with you in the passenger seat. Close your eyes while they apply the brakes. What you feel is forward inertia sustained by prolonged application of force. You would need a large building to produce that without using gravity. Therefore leaning you forward produces the most accurate braking effect with a simulator that doesn't actually move on a y,x table. And leaning you back to reproduce acceleration. Just like when you enter the turn it should lean the opposite direction of wheel input to reproduce g force in turn using gravity. When you are nearing apex of a turn you should feel the sim "laying down" on the front outside tire. On a left turn oval you should feel it working and leaning on the right front in braking and the right rear upon acceleration. These are prolonged sustained effects not just felt for a microsecond.
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015
  20. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,292
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    And ps I still think your sim is badass!