1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My 5 DOF with SFX-100 Build.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Randy, Jun 11, 2021.

  1. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I'm new at this. Looked at a 3DOF Professional P3 & rear traction loss/yaw and that looked right for me. But I say a lot of stuff I could build. And down the rabbit hole I went.

    Then I found the SFX-100. At the start of reading about it I felt it was over my head. (and it still maybe ? )
    But like all old racers I pushed on all be it not as hard as the old days but on. Looking for the parts and all that will make it work.

    I know what is the "5" all about. I'm thinking that the SFX-100 is about right but needs a traction lose system. The 6 DOF's are cool but maybe later after I get this working. They ARE over my pay grade for now.Also have a Wife that is SURE I have lost it.

    My idea is to build a tube chassis and work out from their. Maybe I should have said from the seat out ? From what I have learned so far is the same thing I learned about real cars. If it brakes,add lightness and more power. Some one very cool said something like that ? THINK Lotus 7, 15,23. and others. The upper area will be 16g and the lower we will see.

    I think I will go with VR and maybe one monitor ? Thinking Oculus 2 for a start. Then I need to workout the Gaming PC thing. And with no GPU's at a fair price I'm thinking pre-built. Still working on that.

    Need some help with all the sub-panels with buttons and switches . I'm not a gamer and have never been on any boxes other than to crush. They must be like F key's that I know very little about !

    Also found Thanos for a controller and Race Lab for the leg build parts and have a new Creality 3D CR-6 SE coming. Think this is the way to go ? The printing is going to be new for me,never tried it before. I know what a dumb ass. Go BIG or go home.

    Got on the list for a DD and a set of CSL petals. Have a Porsche GT wheel and will use a CSL Universal Hub for the other stuff. And I have now idea what that is or what it does. But life is good.

    On a note I saw a video and someone was plugging in what looked like 220 V controller into a 110 V outlet ? The whole EU / USA thing is very funny. Its like the rest of the world is using some other system ? LOL And what is up with the MM thing ? Think the US is a little behind ?

    And that is what is going to happen.

    Thanks, Randy

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    The AASD-15A servo drives can be powered with 220v or 110v, no problem. Just set the undervoltage alarm lower...

    • Like Like x 1
  4. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks Thanos. I will.
  6. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks for the input !

    So it starts. Now looking for my "DD" .

    Attached Files:

  7. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Not sure how to find the best price for lift parts ?
    Does it look OK ?
    Its from eRacing-Lab.

    Attached Files:

  8. RandyT

    RandyT Enginerd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    72Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I have 4 of the AASD-15a controllers operating from 120v. To get the same number of watts (what your motors need to function), the amp draw will increase at voltages lower than 220. In my case, 4x750 (max theoretical watts for the motors) would require 25amps @ 120v, whereas the same setup would require about 16.4amps @220. In practice, the current draw isn't normally that high, but you will need to at least have a dedicated circuit for 110v operation. Obviously, the heavier the rig and driver and the larger the motors, the higher the current requirements could be, so all of these things need to be considered.

    You may also find that top end speed for the servos is limited with 110v 60hz. My setup with supposed 3000rpm motors and controllers seems to top out at 2300rpm. However, I haven't done any in-depth testing to verify the exact cause, as this doesn't seem to limit performance to any noticeable degree.

    I do believe that there is a direct benefit with regard to EMI at 110v. I have only one inexpensive filter at the main power in, which is then split off to the 4 controllers. Even with this minimal filtering and unshielded motor cables, I have never seen an EMI issue with any of the controllers or the multiple USB devices attached to the system. As usual, your mileage may vary.
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I'm thinking maybe I need to just go for the 6 DOF.
    I started thinking I would go with the DOF Reality P3. Then I learned the DOF systems could be built. And I like building things and it seemed to be a good fit. I found the plans for the SFX-100. This led to the DOF 5 and then the DOF 6 .

    I like the idea that SilentChill is building and I will go in that direction. I will start with printing the parts first then order the parts to build one lift. (if I can make that work I will move on ) ALL of this is new with me. So I will be 3D printing for the first time. Not new to PC's but it is not what I do. Ball screws ,motor, coders and so no will be also new. I have used computer controlled equipment before but never built and.

    That's the new idea and with help from all of you I will make it work.
    Thanks, Randy
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Is it just me or did ALL motors and controllers go up because I said I wanted to build a Sim ? Basterd's.
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Two words: chip shortage

    The factory that makes the AASD-15A servo drives I heard is running out of main chips and their manufacturing has slowed down... thus the sellers up their prices (sellers market)...
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Wonder what the CCP is up to ? Think it was just sick people ? Sad.

    On a lighter note , I will need to get a Millimeter tape measure. Its like the US has its own way of doing things ? LOL
  13. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Question !

    Is it better to leave the Gaming / Sim Computer just for that ?

    Just go a 3D Printer and only have a 10 year old PC and think it can run it but she is old.

    Randy
  14. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Its best to use dedicated computer for your 3D printer, especially if it prints via USB...

    Now, how well it can handle the slicer, depends on how old is the PC. Perhaps slice it on your gaming PC, but run the print job from the old PC...
  15. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hear is what the old PC is made of.
    It will not run the games or the Sim. No GPU of any size.

    Attached Files:

  16. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    It should work fine for 3D printing...
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    How about this for running the gam's and the DOR 6 ?
    IPASON - Gaming Desktop - Ryzen 7 3700X 8 Core up to 4.4GHz - RX5500XT 8GB - 500GB SSD M.2 NVMe - 16GB(8GB*2) DDR4 3200MHz - Windows 10 home 64Bit - RGB FANS
  18. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,158
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,090Coins
    Ratings:
    +911 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yeah, if it has RGB fans... :D
  19. Randy

    Randy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Re-tired
    Location:
    Glendale,AZ
    Balance:
    173Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    What are "RGB's "
    Your to funny ! LOL

    Do we really need all this stuff ? I'm having a hard enough time with out lights.

    Think I'm going to go with the Odrive ,but I like your stuff, Thanos !