1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My 4dof scrapyard build.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Llewelyn, Jan 18, 2019.

  1. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Noorbeast,any idea why simulator stays in roll to the left when starting LFS game.During testing all DOF,its all working fine.Any idea?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,540
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,937Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,128 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Okay to the first question not to sure,I had downloaded LFS a longtime ago and have been using it to test my diy ffb wheel.Then when I had built my sim I had started testing it with LFS.
    The second question,yes it is set to english US.
    And lastly I wIll get pics of my settings and post them.Thanks
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Just an update,did testing of all 4 motors working together with just top frame using simtools ,worked well.Then added seat and rest of frame with wheel and my pedals.Now this is where the weight really showed,frame started swaying to the right.Realized it was my back right motor, was a bit loose,had to find a way to tighten up my two back motors,they were hanging over the base frame because of the large gate motor gear boxes.Built a new frame which sorted out the swing to the right,but not completely.Realized I have to negate the weight because of it being front heavy.In the process of placing another motor in the front center to assist with the weight and hopefully it will center the top frame also,will just use this motor for heave purposes.Now i am ending up with a 5 axis motor setup.Will post pics soon of this setup.
  5. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Here are pics of the 5th motor that i placed in the front for heave assistance.Also placed a spring over the gas strut to completely stop the swinging to the right,realized this was because of the way I was using traction loss ,when weight is applied to the seat the gas strut goes down and swings to the right and wants to actually go lower than the rod arm but cant so it swings because of me using the strut gas movement as traction loss. IMG_20190823_073448_resized_20190823_073838854.jpg
    IMG_20190823_073551_resized_20190823_073837372.jpg IMG_20190823_073612_resized_20190823_073837057.jpg

    Attached Files:

  6. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi guys @yobuddy @Pierre Lalancette @noorbeast @sulfail or anybody :),I have come up with a problem that is probably obvious to some people but Im trying to figure out how do you get the simulator stable,it easily moves all over the place,slides to the left and to the right because of the arm joints.The joints are new but still.I have removed the middle pivot so it is standing just on the arms.I have put up two videos and pics.If any one has any ideas of what im missing please do tell.Thanks.




    IMG_20200829_123911.jpg IMG_20200829_123917.jpg IMG_20200829_123931.jpg IMG_20200829_123939.jpg IMG_20200829_123946.jpg IMG_20200829_123951.jpg IMG_20200829_123911.jpg IMG_20200829_123917.jpg IMG_20200829_123931.jpg IMG_20200829_123939.jpg IMG_20200829_123946.jpg IMG_20200829_123951.jpg
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,540
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,937Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,128 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you remove the pivot then it would need some panhard style rods/frame from the bottom to the top frame to prevent unwanted twist.

    Why was the pivot removed? Seems you started with one type of design and now are doing something completely different.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    797
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,512Coins
    Ratings:
    +777 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Yes, noorbeast is right. It seems to be a design problem. If I saw right, you have only 4 axis supports that are all free rotating on both ends. The system cannot be stable. The only way I could thing such a system could work is, if you could put it like this. design.jpg
    Even like that, I am not sure it would be safe. You need to put axis in pair, to build tention, so they push one against the other. This is how I do it (like everybody else) with my 6 DOF. They are in pair and they push each others. They are not straight or parallel. Once, one of my axes got a loose end. The whole system went unbalanced and fallen appart. You need a constant tention.

    OR

    Like noorbeast said, you put back this in the middle.

    IMG_20190823_073612_resized_20190823_073837057.jpg

    So it support the whole system. Even there, I would suggest a bit of tention between the moving axis (like they all push toward the inside), so this center pillar does not support the whole system all to himself.

    I hope my explanation is clear.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Yep its a different design,it happened while I was changing my front motor gear boxes because of the trouble i ran into with 25;1 ratio boxes being weak,so I changed them to gate motor gear boxes(much more stronger) and inorder to do this change had to basically redo my frame,so sincingI had plenty of time because of covid lockup went ahead,but since I was doing that,thought Imight try without the pivot,so ended up here :)Thanks guys for the input,yes decided putting back the pivot will be better,but want to try something first(idea from Pierre) and if that fails then will resort back to the pivot setup.Thanks again guys.