1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question My 4dof motion simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Hale L, Jun 17, 2020.

  1. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Almost done wiring up my control boxes
    34892C34-5283-4B01-998E-FC2AFB351259.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    9A157E44-ED81-4F54-99CD-3D4A36984ED1.jpeg D4F99EF2-E955-4923-9370-137BC06A84E7.jpeg Designed and cut out my motor cranks on the plasma table. Gonna drill and slot the Round stock so it clamps to the motor. 12E0F08F-C350-4412-AA96-991E18C84727.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    5E560FA5-F98D-4674-9D06-25870766C6D8.jpeg Got some more progress on my cranks today. 81A01DCA-73E7-48E8-A144-09E383CD719A.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Here is some more progress from this weekend. I got all of my cranks tig welded up and the threaded rod cut. 1F1CF576-9A52-4730-8ED0-4A79FB84E5FE.jpeg AF8C11AA-C883-407E-9388-F0E7A428FE54.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Here is one more from today
    03236858-3BC3-44D5-8586-3256791880E0.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    A70A38B5-281F-4982-9952-CD3A7757C117.jpeg This is the difference from the bottom to the top of the travel. Should have about 8 inches of travel
  7. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Bought some square stock and started on the frame finally. Does anyone have suggestions for the dimensions of the triangle I should put my motors in? An equilateral triangle? I’m planning on having two motors up front and one in the back. 3C74E9BC-2079-4660-9A24-EB2A00855827.jpeg
  8. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Started on my lower frame today and made plates for the motors to mount to. It’s finally starting to look like something. Sorry about the blurry picture only picture I got of the plates. C6828CE8-B365-4E27-B5CA-4924281FCCC9.jpeg B5F3694C-D4E1-45D9-9132-92F3A933E91F.jpeg CA6E9C04-F5AD-45A6-A025-96281233C794.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    BA486914-5FF6-4DA9-BCFA-3B3F129C4634.jpeg 24D23BD3-1219-4F43-8E17-CA95D8676993.jpeg 7F7CB63E-A7D6-4C5C-953A-F3A2A29D06ED.jpeg B322CC0A-85CD-4A92-9075-CF339BD2998F.jpeg 868F5CB3-E640-4830-8B18-08F686054E59.jpeg Got my lower frame welded up and tested the movement. Welds aren’t the best, I’m still pretty new to tig welding.
  10. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Got my Upper frame mostly welded up. Installed a seat slider and got the mount for my shifter and handbrake tacked up. Just need to build the mount for my wheel and the upper frame is mostly done. I plan on filling in the gaps with sheet metal for a floorboard. 07671B62-EFE2-40AF-BBAF-D9F60CB14A9E.jpeg 0BA456CD-8531-445C-9F35-22EA0E2CA638.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Got my upper frame done besides paint. Got it all setup without motion so I can get my sim racing fix in lol. Should be testing the motion this weekend after I do a few small things. Then it’s back to building for the traction loss. F551B3AB-E8FC-4DA4-ADEA-8050A0B9ABE2.jpeg
  12. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Today I decided to beef up my motor arms. I created a boxed in design on the plasma table. Also put on the potentiometer. I’ve got 2 more motors to do then I can start wiring then I should be able to start testing. E3048E26-D588-4C90-8070-DDF8D1AA5BF6.jpeg 7FC48C2C-31FC-422E-9042-FA7C054ECE5B.jpeg 6970BD4B-A59D-4152-8189-9BF7DF193068.jpeg 1AF21335-FC2A-4F7F-A24C-DBF1BA7E82C0.jpeg D689F0DB-8C97-4433-8C6B-399268FF7A13.jpeg 1D0F43CB-621C-4140-A0EC-0FF2BB66B25E.jpeg A8ECA7B8-23C4-47E9-891C-A2C3D1B9CF58.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I wasn’t able to get to wiring today but I’m happy with my progress. Need to elevate the bottom frame slightly off the ground so the cranks don't hit. Should be testing it pretty soon. I also plan on gusseting the Motor cranks because they have a bit of flex. C15D2FA6-7A2E-4A9C-A40B-BF6660B07665.jpeg D33DB584-FB2A-4792-92B7-26961123C255.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Got my cranks gusseted tonight I will be adding legs to the lower frame then wiring next. I also upgraded from 8gb to 16 gb of Corsair ram. 02D69871-510E-49D8-9C2C-FA9EBDD70EC5.jpeg EBD0F5BC-3422-465A-A1DC-9685080567CD.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,536
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Love the new cranks and clean PC :thumbs

    But you may want to consider flipping your radiator over:
  16. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Thank you and I had my radiator top mounted then I switched it to that yesterday to make room because my new ram was taller. I’ll flip that around I didn’t realize that could be a problem.
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I just finished wiring up, in smc3 it says to use mode 2 for the cytron boards. How do I do that, also how can I run smc3 with 2 arduinos? Do I have to change anything? I have 0 experience with arduino's, any tips would help alot. Thanks
  18. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Also Any help with setting up simtools for my type of simulator would be helpful.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,536
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,911Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,125 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As @Blame73 modified the code for the cytron boards I expect that it would already be set to Mode 2 and would not need altering: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/blame73s-2dof-seat-mover.6029/page-22#post-198335

    If you are using the code on 2 Arduino the code gets flashed to each Arduino. The SMC3 utility is there to make it easier to manage and save the settings. Once that is done each Arduino can be recognised in SimTools and the Interface Settings can be used to designate which Arduino is controlling which axis, you can grab the SimTools manual here: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/
  20. Hale L

    Hale L Sim Racer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Welder/auto fabricator
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Thank you lots, how do I get simtools to see the arduinos? I will read through that manual