1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question My 3DOF motion simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Cameron Olson, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Got a new cytron motor shield and everything is working again. Played for a few hours and no issues so far. Started putting together front swivel for traction loss too.
    20210521_192013.jpg

    Also got a most of the 8020 rig assembled. Definitely going to be a lot lighter and will be able to easily make adjustments to get COG perfect which it i think will help a lot. Second COVID shot is started to kick my ass so that about all I got in me today. Going to start welding bottom traction loss frame next week.
    20210521_191757.jpg

    20210521_191915.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 22, 2021
  2. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Got everything together for adding traction loss. Hopefully have some time to weld it up this weekend. Let me know what you guys think. 20210610_145325.jpg
    20210610_145249.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Finished welding frame and got her painted. traction loss is working but having issue with crank arm range of motion in smc3. Seems to max out around 90° instead of 180°. Any idea how to fix this? 20210615_092122.jpg 20210615_092140.jpg
  4. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,688
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,499Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,971 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Use 180 degree pots.
  5. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    They are 320 degree pots
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,688
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,499Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,971 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ok, then ensure the pot is a centre (2.5V) when SM3 is showing centre.
  7. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Where do I find that 2.5v info?
  8. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Could you please elaborate on this when you get a chance. Im confused
  9. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,688
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,499Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,971 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You need to measure it at the center of the pot slider. The Ard supplies 5V to the pot so half way will be 2.5V.
  10. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So if it doesn't measure 2.5v at center the reason the motor arm isn't turning all the way is because the pot doesn't have enough voltage reaching it?
  11. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So for right now I ended up making the motor arm long to get more range of motion. Not sure why the traction loss range is so small. i moved the pot from the 3dof platform where it was able to rotate 180°, but same issue occurred when using it for traction loss. Moved it back to the 3dof and it was back to 180°. Not sure what's going on there.. other than that motion platform is working great. Just need to figure out power issue. I can play for about 3 minutes before tripping the circuit breaker.