1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question My 3DOF motion simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Cameron Olson, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So I may have found a sweet hookup on 80/20 extrusion bars. Debating redoing the cockpit platform with that. Did some rough calculations and could shed at minimum 100lbs doing so. Any potential problems with that?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The less the mass and inertia the better :thumbs
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Whoop! Went to a local metal supplier/scrap yard this morning. They had tons of 80/20 extrusion for $2.50/lb got everything i needed for a little over $100. Talk about a score!
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So I replaced one of my cytron motor shields. Exact same model as before. Wired it exactly the same as the old one. Turned pot to center in smc3 by hand and turned motor back on. Same settings in smc3 as I've always had. As soon as I turn it on the motor spins until pot hits max and turns off. Why is the motor turning in circles without any input when all I did was replace the motor board?
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Settings procedures should always be done for the actual hardware used, as there can be wiring issues, faulty control boards and the like. For example why are you changing the board, did something happen and if so could the be a possible culprit?
  6. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I was messing around with kp values and I think that fried the old board. Set kp back to 400 where it was. By settings procedures do to mean setting everything to 0 in smc3 and starting from there?
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes I mean setup the Arduino/SMC3 from scratch.
  8. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok should I just reload the smc3 code to the arduino? I never changed anything from the original download.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You should not need to, but I would reload SMC3 anyway, as you are seeing abnormal results for unknown reasons, and need to systematically pin that down to a cause.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks again! Got it working. Had to reverse the wires going to the motor. Also 3d modeled and printed new 50 tooth pot gear and pot motor mount. Same ones from simukit.com. would it be ok to post those .stl files? Those pot gears break pretty easily if you over tighten them. Im sure others here who have ordered from that site could use some replacements.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Well done :thumbs

    As long as the files are original and unencumbered in terms of ownership then yes by all means post the .stl.
  12. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks. The files are original, I just made them tonight. Please define unencumbered in terms of ownership. The pot gear has no markings but the pot mount does have simukit printed on the ones I bought from the site.
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you made the files then they are unencumbered in terms of ownership.
  14. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Awesome thanks for the clarification. I need to make a few sizing tweaks then I'll post them. I also made a custom lcd screen wheelbase mount that will work on any t series thrustmaster base that i will post as well.
    20210517_031339.jpg
    • Winner Winner x 1
  15. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok now I'm really stumped. It seems I fried another motor board after about an hour of game play. I checked Temps of both motor and board after every race. Board didn't heat up at all and motor was only 10 degrees above initial starting temp. What could be causing this? Smc3 kp is 400 and pmw max is 180. That seems pretty reasonable
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My initial thoughts are either spiking current draw or something shorting.

    What model is the board and is it adequate for the motors which will likely generate power spikes in fast reversals?
  17. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    This is the board. amazon.com/30A-Bi-directional-DC-Motor-Driver/dp/B01M4PXFBG rated up to 80A peak
    Last edited: May 17, 2021
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can check the motor draw under load, but I would have thought the board would be adequate.
  19. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    525Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    How would I check that? Is that something I can measure or would that be in the specs? Here is the motor spec sheet. Also I don't know if this helps but the power light on the board still lights up but the 2 output lights do not.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 17, 2021
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,795
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,638 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    This may help in terms of understanding what is actually drawn, as opposed to no load which is often stated on specs:

    • Like Like x 1