1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question My 3DOF motion simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Cameron Olson, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    They are just slightly warm with 1 or 2 "hot spots" on the infrared thermometer. But not hot to the touch. Guess we'll see if they hold up until new motors arrive in about a month
  2. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Decided to not mess around on the heatsinks. 20210428_154040.jpg Motor temp can't even break 80°
    9f52bd2b91ba3bb4ae7da34227e60d83.jpg
  3. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @noorbeast what is the standard amount of rig rotation either in degrees or travel length for traction loss?
  4. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Shorted the cranks. Everything's working now. I know I'm being a little stubborn but I'm not moving the monitor off rig. Having a mounted monitor was one of my top wants/reasons for what my motion rig requires. Working well now though and the monitor is ridiculously now. As you can see in this first person POV of me driving hard through 2 stages in this video.

    • Like Like x 1
  5. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So I was able to track down the manufacturer in China and order 1 right hand gear/motor, 1 dual arm gear/motor and 3 replacement motors only as well. Fairly cheap too. $400 plus shipping. So my question is where should I place the 4th dual arm motor/gear for the most power to help with the added weight to the front of the rig and balance since I will be adding traction loss as well pivoting from the very front. Red or green circle? Input would be appreciated. Thanks!

    20210503_012405.jpg
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,585 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  7. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks that will be helpful, but I was asking about the position of a 4th motor to help lift the additional weight of the top platform. Im planning on doing traction loss based off dof reality with wheels in the back (5th motor would power that. Sorry for the confusion about what I was asking here
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,585 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I understood what you were asking, I was just pointing out, for your consideration, that there are various design options for implementing what you want, that you may not been aware of, given you are going to need to redo the bottom frame anyway.
  9. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks again appreciate it but in your opinion which would aliviate the most strain on the current furthest forward 2 motors (the motors I've been havingpower issues with). lifting from the middle (red circle) or lifting from the front (green circle) 'obviously would have to extend the bottom platform for thar option'
  10. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,344Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,948 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The problem with adding a fourth lifting motor in this type of design, is managing the data geometry, getting it wrong will place allot of stress on the motors/frame.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hmm interesting... I would have thought that if I essentially only add it in game engine on what forces are currently using the rear motor (surge, pitch and heave) but in reverse there wouldn't be any issues
  12. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    If I used something like this https://www.speedwaymotors.com/Stee...z25Rjm3nJ5TSkR5PhXd2Si7yLrqM8kXkaAuaEEALw_wcB (threaded bolt pointing down) to attach to the bottom of the rig frame would that not eliminate any twisting stress it would put on the frame/motors? That with just mimicking the rear motor movements just opposite I feel like this should work. If I'm just completely missing something please let me know. Also if you could explain why I'd love to learn why. I enjoy a good physics/engineering lesson. If you have the time please school me. Thanks and as always I really appreciate your help, input and responsiveness. Even when I've been plagued with problems. Seriously couldn't do it without you guys.
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,344Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,948 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    To visualise the issue, just get a piece of cardboard and support it on three legs. You will note that irrespective of the length of each leg each will sit flush with the top frame and the ground. This mimics the design that you have now. Now try to add another leg.....the issue will become obvious. Eg Three legged tables/platforms are naturally stable, four legged are not.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
  14. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So what you're saying is just put a drink coaster under the 4th motor to fix it. Haha JK. Thanks for the visualization, needed that. Makes complete sense now that I see it that way in my head. What if I used the motor to power a linear actuator instead? Would that solve the stability problem? Essentially I'd be like the spring tube im using right now but powered, right?
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,344Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,948 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Unfortunately no, the four actuator SFX 100 type designs get away with it as they are not hard fixed to the floor with any motor tracking latency just causing one or more actuators to momentarily break contact with the floor.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Sorry last thought on this. What if I only physically attached the acuator to the bottom of the rig and extended the base on the floor forward and welded a steel tube to hold the actuator arm in place without it being physically fixed to the bottom of the rig. That way it could break contact momentarily but still be held in place. Just trying to think creatively here. Thanks for all your help
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,344Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,948 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    For what you want to finally achieve, have you though about just upgrading to a Stewart platform?
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,585 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You would need to consider the possibility and consequences of binding.
  19. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    What do you mean by binding?
  20. Cameron Olson

    Cameron Olson Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Actually I haven't really. But after looking up what is was that does seam like a good option even though I'd have to completely remake the motor platform but I'm going to have to modify it anyways for traction loss so might go that route. Definitely will satisfy my lift capacity needs. I can make that sim with the same style motors I have currently correct? Unfortunately I'm going to need 2 more worm drives and I am unemployed so money is a little tight after my most recent motor purchase. Might try and sell my old wood rig with my g29 to fund that transition