1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom My 3 DOF seat mover + GS-4 + Simvibe

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Avenga76, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thats one crazy lookin idea, and while it makes sense from the basics, Im gonna take a wild swing in the dark and say there's gonna be some small issue that might prevent that from working, but heck i look forward to hearing if it is possible. :cheers
  2. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +827 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I think it probably would work and it is an interesting way to indirectly run big motors from a small JRK.

    My only worries would be lag caused by have the JRKs receive the command, then the small motors moving the pots and then the Sabertooth moving the main motors.

    I think it would be simpler to just use an arduino to run the sabertooth.

    I was thinking of doing a similar setup for a seatbelt tensioner idea I had
  3. graz

    graz New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    melbourne australia
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    yea i'm not sure if it would work and i did have the same thoughts as @Avenga76 that there could be lag and/or massive overshoot as by the time the seat mover motor got to it's desired position and all the relevant data was processed and sent by now the motor is way past the desired position. I don't have a jrk to test this crazy idea and I don't think I want to invest in one just for testing as @Nick Moxley and @Avenga76 said I think there may be too many issues but it was just an idea to throw out there
  4. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +827 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Got back from my road trip around the South Island, 3,000km in 8 days.

    Some more progress on my motion simulator.

    Invisible batteries!!!!

    [​IMG]

    New batteries from a UPS upgrade that we did at work

    [​IMG]

    Removed the old motion controller box

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Installed the base for one of the killswithes

    [​IMG]

    Installed the top of the killswitch

    [​IMG]

    Had to move the shunt a little bit to fit the new controller box

    [​IMG]

    Controller box in its final location

    [​IMG]

    Drilled and screwed in the base for the motion controller

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +827 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Replaced my little 4,300 RPM motors for my much bigger 5,300 RPM motors, I also brought another one so I use the 5,300 RPM motor for all 3

    [​IMG]

    Here are some old photos of the size difference

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Connected all of my motor cables and battery cables, it looks a little messy with the relay wires in the way but it looks better once the upper platform is installed.

    [​IMG]

    Installed the upper level and relay. Tested the relay and everything powered up okay

    [​IMG]

    Installed all the cable glands, the battery cables are to the right, and the rest are the motor cables.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Installed all my Anderson connectors for all the motors

    [​IMG]
  6. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +827 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So I got it all up and running but something went really wrong in my first testing in game.

    I set my upper limit to this angle

    [​IMG]

    And it all looked fine in the SMC3 software, but then in game something went really wrong.

    It way overshot the limits and went all the way around and wedged the lever arm in to the wheel of my rear traction loss.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Not sure why it didn't obey the limits that I set but the motor was still pushing hard because it wedged itself hard in to the wheel

    [​IMG]

    The stall current then blew my main fuse between my batteries and the controller box, good thing I keep everything well protected so everything except the fuse was fine.

    [​IMG]

    Disconnected the motor cables from the controller box and used a spare battery to spin the motor back to the normal position.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Lucky I still had some spare fuses so I popped them back in and the simulator is back up and running, just need to figure out what went wrong before I try it in game again.

    [​IMG]
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Shit like that is scurry :think, Had it happen myself. No Fun. Good luck in diagnosing, Be sure to share the results.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. principiamacb

    principiamacb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ive been following your thread and have defiantly inspired my rig.

    Could you tell me what size springs you used for the belt tensioners? size of wire, diameter and length?

    Thanks
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,779
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,116Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,486 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Belt spring tension isn't super critical and will vary some pending the rig, In general You dont want it soo stiff that its limiting your motor's and causing un needed stress, but at the same time you dont want it so soft that you cant make use of them. Also there's the note of how much "friction" is created at the pass through point on the seat itself which will nullify some of the Spring force your playing with.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +827 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I use 2 different spring rates, the outer pair are 2.25mm and the inner pair is 1.5mm.

    But as Nick said, the exact spring rate isn't super important and it depends how powerful your motors are.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. principiamacb

    principiamacb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks both of you. That gives me a starting point.

    Im looking forward to you views on how the Sabertooth compares to JRKs.
  12. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    18Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    sorry im really new to this and still learning, i have a question for you. why did you use batteries to power your sim instead of a power source like a 30 amp power wall unit?
  13. NightShiftNinja

    NightShiftNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    @Avenga76 i have followed your rig since i got into sim racing in '16 and joined the isrtv forums,

    i am now at the point where i am ready to upgrade my rig to a motion sim. the design that i have in my head is similar to yours, and reading this whole thread again today has only furthered my desire for it, you have a beautiful rig.

    now that you have had yours up and running for more than a year are there any changes that you would make to the rig? of the 1500mm (5ft) that you have for width on your traction loss table how much of that do you realistically use?
  14. Claudio Bello

    Claudio Bello Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    182Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF



    very beautiful, good job
  15. Claudio Bello

    Claudio Bello Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    182Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    [QUOTE = "Avenga76, post: 68097, membro: 10691"] Então, depois de termos a caixa do controlador, era hora de montar tudo no compensado e fazer todas as conexões finais.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Usamos conectores de força Anderson para conectar os motores à caixa do controlador. São conectores realmente pesados e são soldados nos terminais com uma tonelada de solda.

    As baterias são mantidas pressionadas por abraçadeiras e a caixa da bateria possui seus próprios suportes de montagem. A caixa do controlador está apoiada em pés de borracha que são aparafusados na parte inferior do gabinete e no compensado.

    O hub USB que eu escolhi é magnético, por isso gruda na parte superior da caixa do controlador e executa os 2 JRKs e meu GS-4.

    Passamos o dia inteiro conectando e montando tudo. Tínhamos [USER = 9138] @Nick Moxley [/ USER] nos ajudando no bate-papo do Steam e, com a ajuda dele no final do dia, nós estávamos em movimento.

    Essa foi a sensação mais legal e eu tive o maior sorriso quando ela se moveu sob seu próprio poder pela primeira vez. [/ CITAÇÕES]



    muito bonito, bom trabalho
  16. Claudio Bello

    Claudio Bello Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    182Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    [QUOTE = "Avenga76, post: 68282, membro: 10691"] Sim, parece que está virado para baixo. Geralmente, suas plataformas se movem muito mais.

    Este vídeo é melhor. E você pode ver que eles usam o mesmo tipo de tensor de correia que eu uso. (cerca de 1:35 no vídeo)

    [MEDIA = youtube] gkgfLN4nhmA [/ MEDIA]

    Eu ainda estou brincando com o meu. Vou tentar algumas molas mais fortes. [/ CITAÇÕES]

    muito bom otimo trabalho...
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,458
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,619Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,466 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please be aware that you can dual language post but it is part of the Forum Rules that you also include English, doing so via Google Translate is fine: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/forum-rules.9527/
  18. feromelo57

    feromelo57 simulateur 2dof avec derive Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    9Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    [QUOTE = "Avenga76, post: 57760, membre: 10691"] Salut les gars.

    Je suis sur le point de commencer à ajouter un appareil de transfert de siège à 2 DOF à mon banc.

    Je prends Dave (bsft) et j'aime bien l'idée de son Desk Racer.

    Je n'ai pas beaucoup de place alors j'aime la compacité de son design. J'ai probablement assez de place pour une installation montée sur l'épaule mais j'aime bien le système de montage avant pour la compacité. J'aimerais avoir des idées et des idées.

    Mes plans sont de remplacer la moitié arrière par un nouveau cadre avec un point de pivot sous le siège et 2 gros moteurs à vis sans fin commandés par 2 contrôleurs Pololu Jrk 12v12

    J'aime beaucoup les retours que me font mes configurations de transducteurs GS-4 et 8 et je suis prêt à passer au niveau supérieur. J'aimerais beaucoup avoir vos idées à propos de vos idées.

    Voici quelques photos de mon appareil à ce jour.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Voici une vidéo de mon gréement en action.

    [MEDIA = youtube] JXwFIOyk7HE [/ MEDIA]

    [MEDIA = youtube] l_lnyPBGKrY [/ MEDIA] [/ QUOTE]
    Bonjour très beau travail Je suis novice dans les simulateurs de mouvement de course et je suis intéressé par la construction d’un simulateur à partir de zéro. Mon intention est de construire un siège avec deux moteurs à courant continu. Peut-être aussi ajouter à cela perte de traction à l'ensemble du cadre. J'ai commandé les cartes Arduino uno v3 et Moto Monster et cela peut prendre environ un mois.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,458
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,619Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,466 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please be aware that you can dual language post but it is part of the Forum Rules that you also include English, doing so via Google Translate is fine: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/forum-rules.9527/