1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom My 3 DOF seat mover + GS-4 + Simvibe

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Avenga76, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,740
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,450 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thats one crazy lookin idea, and while it makes sense from the basics, Im gonna take a wild swing in the dark and say there's gonna be some small issue that might prevent that from working, but heck i look forward to hearing if it is possible. :cheers
  2. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +819 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I think it probably would work and it is an interesting way to indirectly run big motors from a small JRK.

    My only worries would be lag caused by have the JRKs receive the command, then the small motors moving the pots and then the Sabertooth moving the main motors.

    I think it would be simpler to just use an arduino to run the sabertooth.

    I was thinking of doing a similar setup for a seatbelt tensioner idea I had
  3. graz

    graz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    melbourne australia
    Balance:
    14Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yea i'm not sure if it would work and i did have the same thoughts as @Avenga76 that there could be lag and/or massive overshoot as by the time the seat mover motor got to it's desired position and all the relevant data was processed and sent by now the motor is way past the desired position. I don't have a jrk to test this crazy idea and I don't think I want to invest in one just for testing as @Nick Moxley and @Avenga76 said I think there may be too many issues but it was just an idea to throw out there
  4. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +819 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Got back from my road trip around the South Island, 3,000km in 8 days.

    Some more progress on my motion simulator.

    Invisible batteries!!!!

    [​IMG]

    New batteries from a UPS upgrade that we did at work

    [​IMG]

    Removed the old motion controller box

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Installed the base for one of the killswithes

    [​IMG]

    Installed the top of the killswitch

    [​IMG]

    Had to move the shunt a little bit to fit the new controller box

    [​IMG]

    Controller box in its final location

    [​IMG]

    Drilled and screwed in the base for the motion controller

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +819 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Replaced my little 4,300 RPM motors for my much bigger 5,300 RPM motors, I also brought another one so I use the 5,300 RPM motor for all 3

    [​IMG]

    Here are some old photos of the size difference

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Connected all of my motor cables and battery cables, it looks a little messy with the relay wires in the way but it looks better once the upper platform is installed.

    [​IMG]

    Installed the upper level and relay. Tested the relay and everything powered up okay

    [​IMG]

    Installed all the cable glands, the battery cables are to the right, and the rest are the motor cables.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Installed all my Anderson connectors for all the motors

    [​IMG]
  6. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +819 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So I got it all up and running but something went really wrong in my first testing in game.

    I set my upper limit to this angle

    [​IMG]

    And it all looked fine in the SMC3 software, but then in game something went really wrong.

    It way overshot the limits and went all the way around and wedged the lever arm in to the wheel of my rear traction loss.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Not sure why it didn't obey the limits that I set but the motor was still pushing hard because it wedged itself hard in to the wheel

    [​IMG]

    The stall current then blew my main fuse between my batteries and the controller box, good thing I keep everything well protected so everything except the fuse was fine.

    [​IMG]

    Disconnected the motor cables from the controller box and used a spare battery to spin the motor back to the normal position.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Lucky I still had some spare fuses so I popped them back in and the simulator is back up and running, just need to figure out what went wrong before I try it in game again.

    [​IMG]
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,740
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,450 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Shit like that is scurry :think, Had it happen myself. No Fun. Good luck in diagnosing, Be sure to share the results.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. principiamacb

    principiamacb Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ive been following your thread and have defiantly inspired my rig.

    Could you tell me what size springs you used for the belt tensioners? size of wire, diameter and length?

    Thanks
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,740
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,833Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,450 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Belt spring tension isn't super critical and will vary some pending the rig, In general You dont want it soo stiff that its limiting your motor's and causing un needed stress, but at the same time you dont want it so soft that you cant make use of them. Also there's the note of how much "friction" is created at the pass through point on the seat itself which will nullify some of the Spring force your playing with.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,148Coins
    Ratings:
    +819 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I use 2 different spring rates, the outer pair are 2.25mm and the inner pair is 1.5mm.

    But as Nick said, the exact spring rate isn't super important and it depends how powerful your motors are.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. principiamacb

    principiamacb Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks both of you. That gives me a starting point.

    Im looking forward to you views on how the Sabertooth compares to JRKs.
  12. Tags..(VR)

    Tags..(VR) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    indiana
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    sorry im really new to this and still learning, i have a question for you. why did you use batteries to power your sim instead of a power source like a 30 amp power wall unit?
  13. NightShiftNinja

    NightShiftNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    @Avenga76 i have followed your rig since i got into sim racing in '16 and joined the isrtv forums,

    i am now at the point where i am ready to upgrade my rig to a motion sim. the design that i have in my head is similar to yours, and reading this whole thread again today has only furthered my desire for it, you have a beautiful rig.

    now that you have had yours up and running for more than a year are there any changes that you would make to the rig? of the 1500mm (5ft) that you have for width on your traction loss table how much of that do you realistically use?