1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom My 3 DOF seat mover + GS-4 + Simvibe

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Avenga76, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,258Coins
    Ratings:
    +841 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So I am moving house this weekend so I figured that I would take my rig down to the workshop so I can start work on my 3DOF upgrade while I am moving house, it saves me moving the rig twice.

    I will be using a thrust bearing at the front and I am not sure what wheels I am going to use at the back, I was thinking something like skate board or roller blade wheels, or maybe like the 75mm version of these http://www.rexproducts.co.nz/shop/wheels/aluminium-rexthane-wheels/al-rt-series-heavy-duty/ I want something small so it doesn't raise the height of my rig too much. I was also thinking of putting some wheels in the middle for extra support.

    For lever length I am not too sure. I am thinking of 120mm CTC but I think I will make a lever arm with holes at 100mm, 120mm and 150mm so I can play around with them.

    My room looked like a bomb site when I was dismantling my rig.

    Went from this

    [​IMG]

    to this

    [​IMG]

    to this

    [​IMG]

    to this

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 4
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,031
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,060Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,069 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    wow, creative :) I like your rig, very impressive.
  3. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,267Coins
    Ratings:
    +159 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Wowza! Looking forward to seeing your traction loss build.

    BTW, I see a deep dish wheel...do you recommend a 350mm say 70-90mm deep for rally?
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Skate wheels would probably work and be Really thin, but Those wheels you have linked should be fine as well.
  5. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,017
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    10,070Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  6. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,258Coins
    Ratings:
    +841 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks. Can't wait to get this RTL finished, then my rig will be pretty much finished.

    I use a 320mm, 90mm dish rim for rally. It is the exact same rim as I use in my 1975 Hillman Avenger and my old Avenger rally car IRL so it feels really familiar. I don't have any buttons or shifters on it so it bolts directly up to my QR, this means it is about the same distance from the screen as my flat Momo Mod.30 with the AF button box. Most of my other rims have spacers so they are all at the same distance.

    I built this rim to be really simple, just like in my old rally car, so I either use my sequential shifter or my H pattern with it. It is a really good rim for rally because it is just a plain round wheel so you can grab it from any angle. My Momo feels weird if you try to grab it from the bottom because it is D shaped. It is good for GT cars but the deep dish is better for rally.

    Cool. I have ordered one of those wheels in the link so I will see what it looks like when I get it. If it is all good then I will order some more.

    Wow. That array of in-line skate wheels looks really cool.

    First progress photo.

    Positioning the RTL motor on the back of the frame.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Skate board wheels would provide the "smallest bearing supported" wheel possible. I found the Inline skate wheels to be far too "soft"
  8. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,258Coins
    Ratings:
    +841 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks. I ended up ordering one of these to try http://www.rexproducts.co.nz/shop/castors/heavy-duty-industrial-castors/chdschdf-series/

    I end for the 75x38mm Aluminium with a urethane tyre with a fixed plate.

    Basically this wheel without the swivel plate (100mm pictured but I am going for the 75mm) They are rated to 3ookg per wheel so they are really heavy duty, remember I am a big lad and my GS-4 weights a ton. These are overkill but I am just worried about the skate board wheels not taking the load.

    [​IMG]

    And with this mounting bracket instead.

    [​IMG]

    I am going to sort of recess them up in to the frame so that will save me some height.
  9. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,017
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    10,070Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I was worried about weight support as well, hence the multitude of inline skate wheels.

    Ironic that I have an entire tote full of those wheels that you spec'd. I picked them up for cheap at a store closing but have not come up with a use yet. This was after I built my traction loss setup.

    Regardless, I look forward to what you come up with.
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    8 x 22 x 7 bearings Technically should have no problem moving the frame around, and are roughly the same sized bearing as i have in my 3" castors......recessing is a good idea, I didn't have that luxury with the limited width of my frame.
  11. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +320 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Nice upgrade, would you be using the Jrks controller for this?
  12. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +320 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Also is "Sway" the Traction loss?
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK


    Yes Avenga is running JRK's and NO Sway is NOT traction loss. here have a look here milton, this should help big time. Sway is essentially the "G force" you would feel in a corner....I personally dont run a terrible amount of sway along with my TL.

    [​IMG]
  14. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +320 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Nick, in that picture what is traction loss? or maybe a better question is what do we assign to traction loss for the JRK's?
  15. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Whoops i guess that pic didn't help, sorry. Traction loss would be Very much similar to YAW, but from a different rotation point. YAW is for Planes and Flying, Cars dont technically "yaw" but rather loose traction on the rear which moves the pivot point from the center of the rig up to where the front wheels would be in a real car as this is where the actual vehicle will pivot from.


    Traction loss as far as the JRK's are concerned is just another Axis. The Axis you'll be using for TL is called EXTRA 1
  16. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +320 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    I was wondering about what extra1 does! thanks for helping, once again I am now inspired by Avenga76 I am going to add traction loss to my rig fallowing Avenga76 lead.

    thanks again for your help!
  17. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,258Coins
    Ratings:
    +841 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah. I am totally going overkill. I will be using 4 casters which are rated to 300kg each so that is like 1200kg.

    I like my rig to be very heavy duty so it is probably a bit over engineered

    Yes I will be using a JRK

    As Nick said, it is NOT sway, but it is not really yaw either. It is sort of like the slide angle, think of it like the difference between the direction the car is travelling in vs the angle that the car is pointing. Normally this difference would be zero because the car is not going sideways, if you go around a corner and keep traction then the rear traction loss will do nothing because the car is still pointing in the direction of travel. Now if you lost traction then the traction loss axis will move in relation to how sideways the car is, so if I pulled the hand brake mid corner then the angle of the car vs direction of travel would change causing the back of my rig to slide out just like the virtual car is.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,258Coins
    Ratings:
    +841 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Some more progress shots.

    I got one of the wheels I want to use. I am really happy with the wheel but the mounting bracket is a little big so we are going to create our own brackets.

    [​IMG]

    I went back and returned the bracket and got the 4 wheels I will need for the project.

    [​IMG]

    Tacked up the motor mount

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Welded up all the "Adjustments" of the old GT Omega chassis for added strength.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 5
  19. WowaDriver

    WowaDriver Waldemar Jost

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Occupation:
    Bachelor of Science and Engineering
    Location:
    Hannover
    Balance:
    1,094Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    looks amazing. What is the plan to mount the wheels for traction loss... in form of a circle? So like with a radius about 2m?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Milton

    Milton Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Balance:
    1,989Coins
    Ratings:
    +320 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, JRK
    Avenga76 This is looking good! I wish I had the room to do what you are doing! Best wishes!