1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

My 2DOF wipe motors and ITEM structure

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Chumet1, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Love the way that you get in and it doesn't shift around, cant wait till I get my new motors in the mail with the higher gear ratio.

    Second note, your roll looks al little soft to be cruising around in an f1 car.

    third note, How much do you suppose you spend on 80/20's?
  2. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Roll is FAR less important compared to say Sway. Most tracks dont have a terrible amount of "roll"
  3. Chumet1

    Chumet1 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 2Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Only simulate G forces no Roll.
    img20141221_015859.jpg
  4. Chumet1

    Chumet1 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 2Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    You can propose you a more appropriate settings for rFactor2?
  5. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Recommend that you try a balanced Axis assignment, that totals 100% of Axis Movement.

    I mix Roll , Pitch, Surge, Sway, Heave all at 20% of Axis Movement , doing this you will never loss any detail in the motion profile.
    Some run higher values so the total axis movement is above 100% which is impossible to output so when your sim is near its extremes if another force is needed the motion cue is lost because it pasts 100% of the Axis Total Movements.

    Now with my Axis decided , I then run the game in a window and the tuning centre and tune my forces/angles to what I feel is right. The given Min/Max's in the tuning centre are only examples , some are way out, sorry.
    • Useful Useful x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  6. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    I agree with @eaorbbie but I leave heave at about 60% of pitch. So if pitch is 100% then I would make heave 60%.
  7. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Sorry to make it clearer

    2DOF - with 5 Deg of forces , I set.

    Axis 1 Roll 20% Pitch 20% Surge 20% Sway 20% Heave 20% - Totals 100% of the axis used.
    Axis 2 Roll 20% Pitch 20% Surge 20% Sway 20% Heave 20% - Totals 100% of the axis used.
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,679Coins
    Ratings:
    +399 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, JRK
    @eaorobbie
    I've never thought about setting those to get a value of 100%.
    I've always set them up from my personal feeling, which combined it did exceed 100.

    So basically, if one use only two forces, surge and sway for example, they should be set as 50% - 50% each, or 60-40 etc, to make it 100%.
    I didn't know you lose that motion if it goes above 100%.
  9. Chumet1

    Chumet1 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 2Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I tried your settings, but feetback the very mild, they are not Summing thoughts about me, I only see that every move that shaft 20% of the total.
    And forgive, and con That's my inicial configuration Hecho video is THIS:



    img20150116_115723.jpg

    And another question, "ROLL" which has an axis invert as with Sway, no?

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 16, 2015
  10. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,104Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,053 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I never thought about that! I'm gonna redo all of my settings according to this. Thanks
    Really informative
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    yes and no, set the force on its own and test it to get it right, then add the rest later
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    you do not loose motion if you go over the 100% total. I have mine near 130% ish total if needed,. I simply cannot get decent motion I like unless I raise the percentage, but I do start at 20% each force. Rinse repeat.
  13. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    I understand and used 100 and 60 for easy math. Yes I try to keep my total sub 150% as well
  14. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Agreed, On P cars i run a few higher value's to get the proper motion, Boils down to what YOU want as the end user. However only having them at maybe 20-30% of overall travel is as we've stated wrong.
    • Old Old x 1
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Its the base to start with at 20% per force, thats what is suggested. Not stick to 20% per force.
    As I said, even I cannot leave some forces that low, no matter how much time I work in tuning centre.
    But its a BASE value suggested
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,031
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,069 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @all: I suggest to open a dedicated FAQ thread, the information provided by @eaorobbie is completely new to me as well. After months of testing I am running my forces under 20% using low values in the tuning center (except for TL, one force = one axis = 100%). Not to forget my levers mounted on the motors are very long (15cm = 5.9 in) and already mentioned in an other thread I do not like way long movements (especially heave) for racing, but IMO the seat should move in the same way as the car on the screen does, neither less or more.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    I would explain Roll as the angle in the corner. Stopped on a high back turn you should lean, thats roll.

    I would explain Sway as acceleration to the left or right. So if you are stopped your shouldnt feel sway.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. Chumet1

    Chumet1 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    - 2Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I added this to my setup and tested the correct movement of each axis. Now the feeling is much more realistic. A much improved thanks your advice.
    N= Normal direction os axis
    R= Reverse direccion of axis
    Axis 1 | Roll N 60% | N Pitch 40% | N Surge 40% | R Sway 60% | N Heave 20%
    Axis 2 | Roll R 60% | N Pitch 40% | N Surge 40% | N Sway 60% | N Heave 20%

    These settings convey realism when upgraded or downgraded or inclination curves and convina well with the G forces Sway and Surge. Only if you have an accident too many forces to the axes are added and can be somewhat violent movement.
  19. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try with less roll as that's Too much roll imo, You would Never Ever have THAT much angle to the road to use that Many "Degrees" of movement.
  20. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    I agree for the most part but I do like me some roll when Im racing oval tracks on iRacing
    • Agree Agree x 1