1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Movie: Drzewiecki Design - New York City X - FSX P3D

Discussion in 'Flight Simulator X' started by RaceRay, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,624
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,564Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,263 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT


    Need a new GPU for it:think
    • Like Like x 1
  2. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Rene,
    GREAT that you added a new forum for Flight Simmers. Now I REALLY feel at home.
    Your vid was great.....when P3d v2 comes out soon, YES, we will need new gpu's as the new coding with DX11 will transfer more cpu hungry cycles to the gpu..........that's always been the problem
    with FSX & P3d v1.3 - 1.4 - still using the MS FSX code and was a resource and cpu killer on frames.
    Thanks again.
    Tom
  3. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,624
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,564Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,263 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Your welcome Tom.
    Good to see that i am able to make it more comfortable for you here:)

    Did you already tried a very large scenario like the Manhattan one on your computer and how many frames you got there?
  4. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi Rene,
    I've always been comfortable here my friend - with the new forum, just makes it sweeter. Thanks so much,
    Yes, I've tried larger proprietary sceneries, but the frame are a killer - 12 - 16, even with a high powered pc.
    As stated earlier, I use FTX-ORBX sceneries - as they are very very good - good with fps's - and are P3D compatible...
    Again, when P3D, v2 is released and with the moving of a large amout of data to the gpu, the fps's should be great with most larger scenery packages -
    and yes, I'm already looking at the nVidia 780's - moving from a super-clocked 570 classified....
    NOTE: So many of the folks at the flight forums are hell-bent on 60's and up frames, not realizing that video quality is 29.97 fps..............which is just fine/
    It's like spending 3000.00 for a very good sound system - but thinking that you should have bought the 6000.00 one - I'll guarantee that the most discerning ear cannot
    tell the difference...go figure.
    Thanks again and have a blessed one.
    Tom
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,556Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,752 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Not just the flight forums Tom, the FPS'rs swear that they can tell the difference but to be honest I doubt they could really tell the difference between 30fps and 60fps.

    To me 30 looks just as smooth as 60.
  6. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You're absolutely right - again, hi-quality video (professional) is 29.97 fps....
    What I look for is smoothness, no stutters, sparklies, no catch-up - My P3d runs in most cases at about 32fps - unless I'm in a very dense area, which it drops to mid 20's...
    I'm very happy with that - an NO, I cannot run my autogen, detail radius etc. at max....but I'm still a very happy flight simmer.
    Thanks for the feed-back my friend.
    Tom
  7. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Balance:
    206Coins
    Ratings:
    +145 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @Rene
    feel great to be here, among people who love flight sim
    and working on motion
    thank you and regards
    Hooshang
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,556Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,752 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @cthiggin I think for many it is a competition rather than an attempt to enjoy what you have. I sometimes get trapped in that vortex of upgrades myself. It has been a while since I bothered though.
  9. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Historiker,
    I went the route of spending MOST of my time "tweaking the .cfg" and very little flight simming time....when I went to Prepar3D, I made a very few tweaks (that were necessary for my setup), and have
    left it alone...and it's amazing how much more I enjoy the actual simming experience...so, we've been on the same page.
    Thanks,
    Tom
  10. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,556Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,752 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I was talking about the gaming field in general but I know what you mean.

    Personally I do not have much interest in civil aviation sims. What I really enjoy are games where teamwork is top priority; such as combat sims, etc. Although I do like to see the outstanding development of civil aviation titles out there.
  11. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    The civilian flight sims are phenomenal now, just compared to five years ago. I cannot get my PPL due to having a pacemaker, so this is the next best choice.
    Tom
  12. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,638Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,652 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    I would have to agree they have come forward in leaps and bounds, I have a recreational flight licence but since buying a house can no longer afford to keep the hobby so , my old joyrider will get a dust off soon as the racing sim not really suited to flight, but works. Yes a motion flight sim is the next best thing to real flight.
    I running dx11 games at up to 120fps but its a 2 gig vid card and cpu is an AMDx8 at 3.9 but is all needed to run the 3d screen at 120hz which make a massive difference to the quality of the graphics and the smoothness of game play, I walk past my old pc, which is now me sons and go, yuk, how did i put up with that, sometimes ya need to spend the money to get the quality , but yes don't believe the market hype, try and test it before buying as in I only spent 800 on a new machine that benchmarked next to an alienware machine and beat it badly.It was 2500 dollar machine and it matched mine with specs. Pays to shop around and even build it yourself they are pretty easy theses days to build.
  13. kubing

    kubing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Occupation:
    teacher, Industrial electronic programmer
    Location:
    kelantan Malaysia
    Balance:
    264Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    beautiful...
  14. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi folks,
    The release of the P3d v2 came out yesterday. It's just great with new improvements, and with a revised core code, the gpu is taking much more of the load off of the cpu - which was the culprit in FSX and previous versions of P3d..........CPU BOUND, hands down.... The new release has some minor bugs as one would expect, but Lockheed Martin is on top of things...great new product for Flight Simmers.
    Have a blessed one and Happy Thanksgiving.
    Tom
    • Like Like x 1
  15. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,986
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,522Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    @cthiggin I am curious about how the new version improves on the older versions issues. May I ask if you now get respectable frame rates over NY City for example? Is stuttering and shimmering a thing of the past? Will a fast computer that was required to run the old version now allow you to use the equivalent of full slider settings? Can you still use all the older add-ons? Thanks

    ps I now use an Asus Maximus IV motherboard with an Intel 2500k cpu overclocked to 5ghz on water, a Nvidia GTX 460 gpu, and fast memory on a Windows 7 OS. I previously used a Gigabyte EP45-UD3P motherboard with an Intel QX9650 cpu overclocked to 4ghz on air, an ATI 4650 gpu, still fast memory but on a XP OS. I still had a lot of issues with the XP running FSX but I get satisfactory results now on Windows 7. I think the built in memory controller on the newer cpu helped the most with the stuttering issue. I think I am now getting around 20fps in New York City vs 13fps before but it's been several months since I've flown so I'm not sure on that. Do you think my Asus will handle the demands of the new version?
  16. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    BlazinH,
    Remember, it's only been out since yesterday - so a lot of "trying it out" is going on. So far, a very high percentage of feedback is favorable -
    CTD, OOM, stutters, tearing is pretty much a thing of the past......
    The interface is completely new and will have to re-learn the new v2.
    SO FAR, it's great with some burps, which LM is aware of and will rectify very soon. PMDG appears to be coming on board with P3d, first quarter 2014................

    The biggie - P3d v2 utilizes the gpu to it's fullest - IF you have an NVidia lower than the 500 series, don't even consider using v2.........just won't work.
    With v2, you could be running at 6ghz and it won't make a difference if you're gpu is outdated. In my case, I'm running a Evga 570OC Classified and it's doing ok - but I have to turn down some of the
    new shaders - I will go with a 780 series soon - when the prices drop...
    For me, the 60.00 is the best I've spent on the newest and best flight simulator on the market -
    Here's a forum I am a member of.............great, unbiased threads on P3D.... http://forum.avsim.net/forum/436-the-prepar3d-general-forum/
    Stay in touch and have a blessed Thanksgiving friend.
    Tom
  17. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,986
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,522Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Thanks Tom. When I built my last FSX computer two years ago it had pretty good specs for the time. But how fast things change when it comes to computers right? At least cpu speed increases are not as important as they once were, at least for most applications. Please keep us updated as you learn more and I wish you and other members a magnificent Thanksgiving! Bryan
  18. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Bryan,
    We're on the same page. I've spent xxxxxxhundreds on updating my pc, water cooling, the whole shooting match with add-on's to make FSX / P3d v1.4 as best as it could be...........and with ALL of that,
    it was "just" as good as it was going to be...... With the first new core code, shifting a large percentage to the gpu just about eliminates the blurries / shimmers / oom's / etc....
    Again, the ONLY downside I can see for now and the future, one may NEED to upgrade their gpu - forget sli - doesn't work.....
    Thanks and you and family also have a blessed Thanksgiving.
    Tom
  19. Vassago

    Vassago New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    360Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino

    There is a big difference especially when you are landing.
  20. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Historiker / Vassago,
    29.97 fps - HiDef Video Quality - IF you can get a locked 30 fps - Doesn't get much better - IMHO

    I've been running P3d v2.1 - It's superb - STILL with some glitches, very few OOM's, trying to contain the VAS usage, etc. - BUT, it's getting so much better as LM is the real deal and will be into P3d for the
    long haul.

    I've been running Orbx Global / Vector - and there are quite a few land class issues that Orbx is trying to sort out.
    With my rig, which is OLD by todays technology, I'm getting about 25 avg. 18-35 fps, depending on where I'm at. I do have a "little" autogen popping, and a few "stutters" when the scenery is trying to catch up.
    But again, LM is working on these issues - Even at 25 Avg fps., it's smooth as silk - It's the heavily dense vegetation areas and very large airports where I have the issues.

    FYI - I'm going to build a new pc - 4770k, Asus MB, low-latency ram - and an Evga 770 Classified - water cooling - I'm sure I can punch out 4.2 - 4.5 ghz with oc'ing. I NEED this build for my sim platform
    I'm building as well as running P3d.

    I'm currently at 3.6 ghz / good ram / water cooling / and an EVGA 570 Classified gpu......and I'm getting decent performance now (of course I've dialed back some sliders), so with a new box,
    it should be superb.

    Stay in touch fellows - and Have a Blessed One.

    Tom