1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Mover and Aerofly FS2 - Questions

Discussion in 'FlyPt Mover' started by C1500, Nov 25, 2020.

  1. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi Pedro
    I recorded a short flight with Aerofly FS 2 with a MIG to test it with the rig.
    Actually the Gaming PC in not in the same room with the rig.

    The record is only a bit flying left, right, boost, slow down and then Up and down.

    I´m afraid to test it with the rig cause when I replay it with mover the 3D rig makes some really heavy changes in position.
    It jumps from complete left to complete right and view seconds later back to left.

    If someone would test it: see attachment.

    My question: How can I prevent such jumps from being sent to the rig?

    Attached Files:

    • fs2.zip
      File size:
      333.8 KB
      Views:
      23
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda
    You wrote that you have made some changes in the connections to FS2 in Mover 3.4.0
    I´ve tested the 3.4.1 but did not recognize any changes.
    It is still stuttering in roll and pitch.

    Do you have any idea what i can do?
    Please help ;)

    kind regards
    Peer
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2021
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    11,456Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,557 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I'm going to test it.
    Thanks

    EDIT: Can you share your setup please.
  5. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi Pedro

    here are my settings for FS2

    kind regards
    Peer

    Attached Files:

    • FS2.zip
      File size:
      3.4 KB
      Views:
      18
    • Like Like x 1
  6. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda

    I know your time is limited and valuable ;)

    But did you had time to have a look on my FS2 Problem?
    Did you changed anything in the dll for FS2?

    My rig-setting are in the last post.

    Thanks in advance
    Kind regards
    Peer
  7. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    11,456Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,557 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have your setup.
    Sorry, been a bit busy, but I promise to take a look at it
  8. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    @pmvcda : Hi Pedro,
    I can confirm, that it is not the mover Source connection to FS2.
    I bought FS2020 today and tested the Source connection which resulted in exactly the same stuttering in the rig.
    I used the same settings of FS2 and only changed the source.
    So it must be definitely my settings.

    I guess it must be the filters..
    But which one? The filters in AMC-AASD15A or in mover?

    So PLEASE: @Peacemaker105 , @Thanos and all others who are using FS2 or FS2020 and a rig with Thanos AMC-AASD15A controllers:
    PLEASE send me your settings in AMC and your mover settings.
    My settings are 3 posts above just in case someone wants to compare them with his working settings.
    If you find the failure: Please help me.

    Thanks for your help !!!

    kind regards
    Peer
  9. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi

    here are my settings in Outputs-Thanos

    OUTPUT __ THANOS.png

    I have rised the spike-factor from ~4000 to ~10000 but still stuttering.
    It is now much faster but not better.

    I also tried to set all Filters in "pose - from motion" to "value" so there is no filter active. but still there is the stuttering.
    My last try was to deactivate "ground" as input but also no change during flight.

    I have never seen this stuttering in any racing sim like Dirt Rally 2 or F1
    Also in DCS i can´t find this stuttering with the same settings as in FS2

    Has anyone any idea what i can test or change?
    PLEASE HELP !!!! ;)

    Peer
  10. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    930
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,994Coins
    Ratings:
    +282 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I wonder how this string can work properly
  11. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi
    Do you mean the output string? It works perfectly.
    In the beginning i had the connection as shown in mover but Thanos used another counting.
    So i reconnected all that it works in mover 3.x.x
    Since 3.3.5 FlyPT chenaged the order so i reconnected all again.
    Motor 1 is now front left and then cw. (As shown in mover)

    I have a hunch.
    It runs smoothly in car-simulation. Here, however, the movements are also considerably less than in the flight simulator.
    I suspect that it is due to a filter setting that does not cope with the larger movements.
    But why does the stuttering occur even if I set all filters to "value"?

    Any other ideas?

    regards
    Peer
  12. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    11,456Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,557 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Can you test the rig just with a loop?
    Just to see if the stuttering is there.

    Faster you move, more chances to get the spike filter acting (in the controller).
    So try with different speeds.
    Use a sine wave just for heave and start with a long period and try to reduce it untill the spike filter (in the controller) starts acting.
    Try to remove the spike filter and see if the stuttering is still there.

    The problem can be hardware (EMF), setup on the controller or Mover setup.
  13. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    930
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,994Coins
    Ratings:
    +282 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    3-4-1-2-5-6 instead of 3-4-5-6-1-2 was a modification on demand or it’s a mistake ?

    shall we abandon the compatibility standard with BFF Software and rewire everything or revert back to 3-4-5-6-1-2 ?
  14. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    11,456Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,557 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi,

    Mover order is #1 front right and increasing to the right in clock order, so #6 is the front left actuator.
    What I want is to have the order used by Thanos, where #1 is rear left and increasing in the clock order also, so we have:

    Thanos -> Mover
    #1 -> #4
    #2 -> #5
    #3 -> #6
    #4 -> #1
    #5 -> #2
    #6 -> #3

    The default in Mover right now is:
    upload_2021-4-8_17-17-58.png

    Number 1 in Thanos should be Axis4a. So it's wrong.
    Problem here, is that I', guilty of this mess, because some people started using the wrong order.
    In practise we can just swap the connections in the controller, but I will correct the order.

    I think it should be:
    upload_2021-4-8_17-20-38.png

    Or am I looking it wrong?o_O


    I think Thanos uses the BFF order
  15. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    930
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,994Coins
    Ratings:
    +282 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    To my knowledge nr.1 is back right, (or front left depending on how you position your cockpit front/back orientation) that’s why the conversion string 345612 from your numbering 123456 to @Thanos stuff makes sense. @benmax can maybe confirm my assumption.
    E84B90E7-1BE2-48F7-A5D4-331094782BA6.jpeg
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2021 at 02:32
  16. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi

    On most rigs i know, the front is between the shorter distance at the lower mounting points (2 and 3 in picture above).
    In your description it is between lager distance (1 and 2)

    I used the counting shown in mover (The front is between 6 and 1):
    LINEAR HEXAPOD.png
    When i move the actuator in the menu, the correct actuator is moving at the rig.

    But this is not my problem, this is working for me
    I have no problem to reconnect if you change it once again.

    Back to my problem.
    I´ve tested it with sinus wave on "roll position" and "pitch position"
    If i reduce the period there is the pint where the rig does not go to the endpoints.
    It seems the speed is not high enough to reach the endpoint.
    The rig could go much faster, but somehow it seems to be limited.
    In this test I had deactivated the spike-filter in AMC.
    And still there is no stuttering.

    When i change from roll to pitch by clicking the checkboxes, the rig makes a heavy jump to the new position
    but still no stuttering.

    Can someone with good knowledge of filter can pleas have a look to the settings?
    Maybe it is something in here:
    LINEAR HEXAPOD1.png

    Regards
    Peer
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2021 at 10:20
  17. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Maybe i found something.
    I´ve tried once again the sine-simulation.
    When you start a new source:loop the following check-boxes are active:
    2021-04-09 10_48_13-SOURCE __ LOOP.png

    But as you can see in next picture, Yaw Position is not used in "Pose-from motion":
    POSE __ FROM MOTION (1).png

    Is this setting correct or should it be "Yaw position" in the Yaw settings?
    Sorry for the stupid question

    regards Peer
  18. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    930
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,994Coins
    Ratings:
    +282 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    It’s perfectly logic to take the front “between the shorter distance at the lower mounting points” in @pmvcda counting act. 6-1.
    Achieving the same with Ian counting it is between act. 4-5. So the conversion should look like the following:

    1 flypt - 5 BFF
    2 flypt - 6 BFF
    3 flypt - 1 BFF
    4 flypt - 2 BFF
    5 flypt - 3 BFF
    6 flypt - 4 BFF

    So consequently the string for @Thanos boards should be 3-4-5-6-1-2

    I hope it makes sense.
  19. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    988Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    F*CK
    I wrecked my rig once again.
    Now i have to print a lot of parts again...

    First i made some tests with and without spike filter.
    If i deactivate the spike filter in AMC i can fell any stuttering anymore.
    BUT not caus there is no stuttering, cause the hole movement is in slow motion mode.
    Just like a always active spike-filter.

    I i searched again in mover settings and i found that there was a difference between range in AMC and mover.
    In mover it was 200 and the stroke in AMC was 360mm
    So i measured the whole rig once again but found only minor differences.
    I had no idea why I set this to this value and set it again to 1.000

    That was the baddest or worst decision of the weekend.
    I made a short test and the rig moved out of its limits and the bracket for the pedals rammed into the aluminum sleeve that runs around the ball screw. Then the upper bracket tore off and the motor fell to the side. The falling rig tore off more parts.

    Just think positive: YES there is no stuttering anymore cause there is NO movement anymore.

    Live goes on - let´s go printing

    A "slightly" frustrated Peer
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,460
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,803Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,531 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sad outcome but some of the best positive self-motivational advice I have seen!