1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Motors not moving, debugging?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by futureintray, May 1, 2015.

  1. futureintray

    futureintray New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi all,

    iam reading in this board for a while now.
    but 1 month ago i decided to build one for my own.

    so i orderd an arduino, a moto monster and the potis.
    i had some wiper motors from an earlier project.

    so this is how it looks like:
    20150501_110329.jpg

    i downloaded the code for my arduino here:
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/arduino-code-2dof-and-2-pins-direction-hbridge.67/

    i uploaded the file, but nothing happens. even if move the potis, nothing happens.
    how can i check what is wrong?

    thanks and regards,
    sebastian
    own.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. futureintray

    futureintray New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    i already plugged in the motors directly to the power supply, they are moving.
    i dont think there is a bug in the code,
    so it has to do something with my wireing, i think.
  4. futureintray

    futureintray New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    so,
    i tried some more easier codes and nothing.

    i guess the shield is broken.

    i orderd a new one today.
  5. gorzasty

    gorzasty Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    photographer, IT specialist
    Location:
    Poland, Wrocław
    Balance:
    1,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello futureintray
    I'm also starting with my project and waiting for a new MM. My last one was broken and getting hot very quickly after I turn on PSU with my 200W motor connected. Have You made some measurements? What are the voltages on input and output of your MM?
  6. futureintray

    futureintray New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    278Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi gorzasty,

    thanks for your reply.
    no, i didnt do any measurements.


    i started with a very small motor from a rc boat. iam also waiting for a new MM ;/

    but what i realized as i was testing further, that the status LED on the MM is getting very hot.
    i guess red means its powered on, but u cannot touch it for long.

    is aborted further tests because i dont wanna risk destroying the arduino.
  7. Mazhar Salam

    Mazhar Salam Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Balance:
    868Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    This is very common when powering on their setup for the first time. The problem is always a mistake in the wiring. Compare the wiring with the wiring configuration on the uploaded code. Use a multimeter and check the power on all connections - 5v,12v. Alternatively, use any other simple arduino code that can read from a potentiometer.
  8. raidho36

    raidho36 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    798Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 6 / -0
    Yes, first check if you wired all correctly.

    There could be indeed just a bug in the code, or maybe you haven't edited some of the macros reliably. To check whether or not Arduino even gives the signal to the motor controller correctly, attach an LED plus side to the corresponding pins, minus side to the ground through a 1kOhm resistor. Make it turn "motors", if LEDs are flashing then the Arduino part is definitely OK.