1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

motors have noise in middle position

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by mimakez, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi,
    I made a simulator modeled on RacingMat 2 dof wiper and I use 10k cermet pots.I use RacingMat arduino code and settings. Simulator work great but when the simulator returns to its initial position after the race I hear noise from motors ( sometime left motors, sometime right motor, sometime both motors have noise). when I go after driving in simtools / game engine / output testing / axis output and manually move the slider axis1 and axis2 left / right and back to zero position then the engines stop to the noise.
    if someone had a similar problem and how to solve?
    thanks in advance
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,533
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    145,022Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,776 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you post a video of the motors making the noise, that would help a lot with troubleshooting.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,574
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Balance:
    28,370Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,844 / 38 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform
    I would say it is noise on the feedback line, try installing suitable capacitors on the active feedback line to earth. - It has been talked about before - try searching the site for the thread.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  5. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thx, I try with capacitors
  6. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    how much of the travel of your potentiometers are you using?
    180 degrees?

    if so then you can increase the tollerance value in the arduino scetch from 20 to 30.


    the line in the code goes like this:

    int Tol=20

    change it to 30... save.... upload.... and see if it solves your problem(it probably will).
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,415Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,088 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  8. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi @pipis2015 I change int Tol to 30 and I have same problem. whether to try running with a 40 or 50?
  9. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    You can try 40 or 50.

    It is 40 out of 1024 values of the analog to digital converter.

    So your simulator gets 1% less responsive every time you increase the tolerance by 10.

    How much is your pot travel?
  10. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    My pots travel around 75 degrees up and 75 degrees down. I use this code.

    Attached Files:

  11. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    If you use racingmats code you should be OK with a tolerance value between 20 and 30.

    so stay with 30 and change this part to ease on the jitter.

    from this:
    if (gap>50) pwm=215;
    if (gap>75) pwm=235;
    if (gap>100) pwm=255;
    to this:
    if (gap>50) pwm=225;
    if (gap>100) pwm=230;
    if (gap>150) pwm=235;
    if (gap>200) pwm=240;
    if (gap>250) pwm=245;
    if (gap>300) pwm=250;
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I write this in code, everything works fine but I still have after the game to move the slider axis1 or axis 2 or sometimes both at -2% and then be all right. if I do not then I hear the noise of motors.
  13. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    what voltage are you running your motors with?
    12volt or 24 volt?
  14. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    12volt
  15. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    are you using the ultrasonic code? or the standard code?
  16. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I use standard code
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2016
  17. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,415Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,088 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  19. mimakez

    mimakez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yes, I try ultrasonic code but something not good. when I put ultrasonic code only axis1 work with strange vibrations. I must see what is wrong.
  20. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +271 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    racingmats' ultrasonic code does not work with all h-bridges (if you have monstermoto it should work).

    this is as far as i can help.

    I didnt find any thread with your project.

    If you can ... create a thread to present your simulator and post some pictures and specifications of the parts so others who have similar constructions can help you.
    • Agree Agree x 2