1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Motorcycle sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by cruzebabuze, May 30, 2016.

  1. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    all right everyone, I am done with my car and plane motion sim, and really love it so I decided to build a motorcycle one. Got my hand for dirt cheap a Harley Davidson sega full size delux cabinets with a full size Harley joystick. That joystick has 2 ramblers and pot on brakes and throttle. For now I am just going to convert it to run as a joystick. Later on I will mod it so it can take actuators.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    First step: I got rid of all cabinets and sold the game board to make cash for hardware needed.
    Second step: get a special control joystick board that let you use at least 2 potentiometer. That was the tricky part but I found an Apac board from England that did the job and was only $49, and shipping came from UK to Az in a few days (great product and great service)
    Third step: clean up joystick and setup wiring to board
    Fourth step: test joystick and adjust it properly

    All steps are done and now it is time to play
  4. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ok my plan to make it a real sim is:

    Sub frame at the mechanism bases (front and rear) with a slot upward in both subframe and a pole in the inner frame so it stays in position and I can attach actuators to rods. I think that should work.
  5. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ok I have a few questions about sim software:

    What axis should I use: surge, sway roll.....???? I am not sure please let me know if you have any idea. I am going to use an arduino uno just like my other setup, it was cheap, easy to put together and works very well. Also I am looking for the cheapest but fastest and fairly powerful actuator, but I don't know which one to buy, anyone has an idea? Thank you in advance
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,950
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,945 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A simple picture is worth a thousand words and would better help convey what you have in mind.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. chu

    chu 2dof racingseat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Occupation:
    tecnician
    Location:
    VITORIA
    Balance:
    889Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Some time ago I was searching on internet about it and there are some espectacular examples, but I decided not to build, cause the weigth, a litle expensive and maybe not as usable as the motion seat. But maybe someday
  8. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Woh that looks incredible, let me take a few pic of my rig and up it
  9. outrunner

    outrunner Run to get the race leader flag!

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    father mother
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    578Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    You could use Arduino Leonardo or pro-micro: clones are waaaaay cheaper than 49 dollars.

    In addition. i would bet t'ere's a third potentiometer for bike tilting... correct me if i am wrong.

    Someone made a simulator with a Suzuka 8-hours cabinet, but it's "passive" (no rumble, nor FF)




    • Like Like x 1
  10. choclo

    choclo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Vienna
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 1 / -0
    Wow... That could be fun. I don't really understand how the Balance of the bike work (without the feet on the ground)... Do you have some link for it?

    Good luck in your project!
  11. steveh2112

    steveh2112 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    semi retired
    Location:
    Phuket, Thailand
    Balance:
    1,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    that video looks cool but doesn't lean forward when braking, which seems like it would be necessary for realism.

    also, pro bike racers get down to 60 degrees of lean angle, i realize g forces are equalizing the loading so you don't feel the sideways pull, but again, seems like it would destroy the realism.
  12. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,022
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,736Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,033 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Guys the moto simulator seen in the video above has nothing to do with any realism. Already have been discussed a few months ago (the forum search is your friend).
  13. choclo

    choclo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Vienna
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 1 / -0
    I understand that this simulator wouldn't have any realism. But it's a really cool (huge) Joystick :)
  14. outrunner

    outrunner Run to get the race leader flag!

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    father mother
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    578Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    100% agreed ;)

  15. teeds

    teeds Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    538Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    This doesn't look cheap or compact but looks fun. I guess it's a 6dof rig underneath the platform. Not quite sure how he's steering this but would like to try it with VR :)

  16. outrunner

    outrunner Run to get the race leader flag!

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    father mother
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    578Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    In my opinion the oscillation is controlled by the motor, actioned by the wheel; being the motor not enought for that big lever (the rider head is too far from it), the player must help the movement with his body...
  17. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I did use an arduino Leonardo to use the original controls that are using pots, and you are correct it is motion passive, but has 2 huge bass shakers. The passive motion is great and I am working as we speak to improve it with an assist motor I have from a Daytona sega arcade. It should smooth out motion and brings some feedback. I also am using a wii remote On me to track rider motion for titling up, down and sides. It is a blast to use . I will try to post picture soon