1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Motor whine and no torque

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Vincent van Soolen, Apr 2, 2021.

  1. Vincent van Soolen

    Vincent van Soolen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Rotterdam
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey all,

    So i managed to get my hands on the pololu boards for the motors and everything was working like they should.
    I attached the hall pots to the motors and walked through the setup of the JRK utility. While the motors where not attached to the moving parts, i setup the min and max for the motors and that worked like it should. Inside the graph you could see the VOut of the Pots moving like they should.

    Now i ran the simtool utility, and also there i just loaded up a basic profile with sway and surge.
    upload_2021-4-2_13-31-17.png

    Defined two interface's for the 2 JRK boards and assigned them to either the Axis1a or Axis2a with 20ms.

    During the DOF tests (while not under load, still only the motor), the motors reacted for both the sway and surge.

    Then it was time to test it under load, so i attached the rods to the motors and started to test the DOF while under load. Here the right motor is working like it should and lifted the chair, while the other motor is giving me a whining noise and has no power (i can rotate it with some force by hand)....

    Then i went back to check if the JRK utility has the same issue, but when i configure that motor i am able to lift the chair :S.
    - Steps i took: went to the Feedback setup wizard, set the rotation speed to +50%, then pressed the test forward button. This was ably to lift and hold the chair...

    So my question now is, why does the JRK utility can lift (and power the motor) the chair, but the Simtools utility cannot...
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,464
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please post pictures of all of your settings.
  4. Vincent van Soolen

    Vincent van Soolen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Rotterdam
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Here are all the settings i currently use. The problem im have with the '416' board.
    JKR
    upload_2021-4-2_14-47-26.png upload_2021-4-2_14-47-59.png upload_2021-4-2_14-48-31.png upload_2021-4-2_14-50-29.png upload_2021-4-2_14-50-56.png upload_2021-4-2_14-51-24.png

    The crazy part is that yesterday morning everything worked (as far as i kow) and we played Dirt Rally 2.0 with DOF motion. But those settings where made without precision and thus i redid the feedback settings in the evening.

    After that thing went to sh... I'm just not allowed to have some fun with the machine ;).

    Attached Files:

  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,464
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try resetting 416 to its defaults in the JRK menu, then redo the setting for it from scratch.
  6. Vincent van Soolen

    Vincent van Soolen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Rotterdam
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    So i resetted both board, just to be sure. Redid the whole calibration setup and the motors where moving (under no load).

    This didn't fix the problem i'm afraid, the left motor still doesn't want to move under load. However, i did just just into the seat to look what it does when the system's weight it equalized a bit. This did work, but at some points it didn't.

    So i launched Dirt rally (as i knew that worked), and got some movement in the chain. However when i did a brake and the seat went forward, the motor couldn't return to it's center position without my help :(. (left motor only..)

    I do find this strange, because i can do this during the calibration of the JRK (as i said before just have the speed above 50% and it wont whine...)
  7. Vincent van Soolen

    Vincent van Soolen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Rotterdam
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Maybe my motors are not up to the task how i positioned them now, requires to much torque.... I will try to place them somewhere else where the required torque to move is less
  8. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Reverb Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    5,200Coins
    Ratings:
    +976 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hey Vincent - what are the motor and power supply ratings you are using? I think the JRK utility can monitor motor current. If it can, what is the current when your motor stalls out?

    And just a suggestion but in one of the JRK setup pages you allow max current when feedback is out of range. Feedback out of range should be an error condition. In normal operation, the feedback should always be in range. Not sure what to recommend but might consider turning that down depending on your rig. If you lose connection to your feedback pot/Hall sensor or it somehow fails, your motor will go full bore in whatever it thinks the right direction to go is.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,464
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    119,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,533 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try increasing your PID values, does that make a difference?
  10. Vincent van Soolen

    Vincent van Soolen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Rotterdam
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Wel i relocated the motor more to the front and that seems to help a bit, still the motor stalls at some points. I also figured out how to do this inside the JKR utility.

    It looks like when i try to do small steps for example:
    - The left motor i rotate to the top
    - Then i rotate the right motor to the bottom (max sway almost)
    - Then i try to rotate the right motor slowly past the center, and at that point (past the center) it stalls and begins to whine

    The PID values does seem to affect this a bit, but i need to play with it some more to understand it better.

    @Zed These are the Power supplies i use: Dell 870W 80-Plus Silver Power Supply 0YFG1C (2x)
    And these motors: https://www.benl.ebay.be/itm/120W-1...earbox-Speed-Reducer-High-Torque/333681535603

    As for the current, the variables show that is normally stays between the 6000 a 14000 mAmps with shots to 22000
  11. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,250
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,441Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Swap the jkr drivers over, does the problem swap sides or stay with the motor ?