1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial MotoMonster Dual Half Bridge - 60A Continuous and 120A Peak (12V)

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Pit, Mar 2, 2015.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Correct!
    Arduino -------- Monster Moto1
    2 (Motor 1 H-Bridge ENA) ---------------7 and 8 (INA1 and INB1)
    3 (Motor 1 H-Bridge ENB)----------------4 and 9 (INA2 and INB2)
    9 (Motor 1 PWM) --------------------------5 and 6 (PWM1 and PWM2)
    -------------------
    Arduino -------- Monster Moto 2
    4 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENA) ---------------7 and 8 (INA1 and INB1)
    5 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENB)----------------4 and 9 (INA2 and INB2)
    10 (Motor 2 PWM) --------------------------5 and 6 (PWM1 and PWM2)
    Pot 1 of Motor 1 is A0, Pot 2 of Motor 2 is A1 (always middle output of the standard pots)
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    PS: remember my suggestion, I would begin with one MM first (standard Dual Channel), then as a half bridge (two channels combined). At least as a dual half bridge described in this thread :) Perhaps it sounds complicated to you but it isn't. IMO it is important that you are familiar with the steps for future use.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Rocket man

    Rocket man Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    - 45Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  4. Rocket man

    Rocket man Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    - 45Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Amazing!
  5. Nur

    Nur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    I 24V motors. Moto Monster voltage max: 16 v. What can you advise what to do?
  6. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi @Nur let me explain what I I have found so far from SparkFun ( I am NOT a electronic guru, other know it way better than me ;) ): the nominal working voltage of the VNH2SP30 is around 12 - 13.8 V (automotive use). The 41 V limit is an “absolute maximum rating” specification for VCC, that is the maximum sustainable supply voltage by the internal H-bridge. As you can see in the data sheet, the shutdown protection voltage is pretty much lower. Normally the driver is going in protection mode already by disabling the output when VCC raise over about 16 V.
    volzageshutd.jpg
  7. Nur

    Nur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Withstands 24V. Do I understand correctly?
  8. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,881Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    No. Maximum voltage is 16v.
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Here you go: http://users.elite.net/runner/jennifers/no.htm
    Along to the specs - as far as I can read and understand - not possible.
  10. Nur

    Nur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Are all bridges can be connected through your scheme? Or so it can only be connected MotoMonster? If no exception is the parameters for what to look for? Help to choose at least some sort of option. Thank you!
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I do not understand. Even If I advise you, probably you will not understand (like the 16V limit which has been explained earlier this day.
    From where are you? If you are German speaking I can help you (despite of my offer I do not believe that many Germans are here :p )
  12. Nur

    Nur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Last edited: May 17, 2015
  13. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  14. Nur

    Nur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    36Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    I have the same engine, only 24V. I try to understand the other bridges can be connected to you, 1 double bridge on 1 engine.
  15. Martin van Hagen

    Martin van Hagen not trying brings you nothing! SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    Instrument Engineer
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    yeah if you need any cheap samples Aliexpress is your friend.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,219Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Martin van Hagen : just test it quickly when you receive it! I didn't and I accepted a faulty MM once... it's too late to open a dispute in Aliexpress
    • Agree Agree x 2
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Same here, did not test it before building in, got two faulty samples and no refund...
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Martin van Hagen

    Martin van Hagen not trying brings you nothing! SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    Instrument Engineer
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Pit & @RacingMat Thanks for the advise! I read the T&C´s and it states to test and claim within 3 days after receiving the shipment. I am travelling a lot so that will be impossible to comply with. However the price of $12,00 a piece if I need 8 order 10 and find 2 failing it will still be cheaper than the Sparkfun MMs á $69,95 a MM. Just started to compile some parts to build 4 12Vdc 640W servo controllers containing 2 meanwell 320 12 PSUs (parallel with schottky diodes (40CTQ150)) connected to a "DC busbar", which will supply the MMs... t.b.c. on a new thread but like to have you guys on board for further advise and ideas? :thumbs
  20. tailele

    tailele Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    268Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    My expecial thanks for the great job..thanks to you i could made my first dinamic seat...compliments