1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Motion Sim w/ Surge & Traction Loss

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Boomslangnz, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,989
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,072Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,685 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    For snappy gear change motion select 'Capture Min Max' in the Tuning Center, then uncheck the tick box for surge and manually enter different Min Max values, as @bsft explains here: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/another-2dof-is-going-to-born.6029/page-6#post-66904
  2. Boomslangnz

    Boomslangnz Active Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Balance:
    4,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 4DOF
    yes @noorbeast that's all done already. Both boxes have different tuning numbers
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,989
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,072Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,685 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The most clutch difference for me in say AC is in using it to induce drifting and you do get a different feel of the tire bite surge for say popping the clutch, as apposed to riding it a bit, or in just up or down shifting in cars that don't need the clutch.
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I have the shift kick on my seat and on the table (both surge). At least I disabled the table kick to spare gears and parts. The lowest value(s) in the tuning center is (are) "1". Lower values are filtering out the bigger moves (sorry can't explain it better)

    I never tried "extra" for heave, I can't imagine that this will reflect correctly any surface. "Heave" works great so far (AC, pCars, Rally).

    Finally after all videos seen and all information reading I determine that the motors could be too slow for the very fast moves like shaking. NTL even the last video is too small and too dark to give you a 100% accurate analysis.
  5. Boomslangnz

    Boomslangnz Active Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Balance:
    4,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 4DOF
    extra2 is referring specifically to Iracing which value made a special heave setup which relates to gravity and the way iracing does it, other games have nothing to do with that.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Boomslangnz

    Boomslangnz Active Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Balance:
    4,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 4DOF
    @Pit Can I ask how you watch the video please? Do you only watch it on the small window on forums or do you fullscreen it on youtube? Because I have no issues seeing everything on fullscreen
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    No doubt our master programmer @value1 does a great job, but probably there is still some issue.
    Im watching fullscreen 1920x1080... Anyway there is no reason to make a video with a big window showing the game and a small showing the rig, isn't it? For our analyses also pedals are not needed.

    Did you disable roll and pitch for once as I suggested earlier this thread?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,245Coins
    Ratings:
    +265 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Since tuning center needs a "zero" value for neutral position...heave doesn't work properly in iracing.

    Heave value in iracing when the car is stoped is "1" (1g).

    So no matter how well you tune it, there is some kind of problem from track to track or when changing cars.

    Only way to work properly for me was to use the "extra 2 workaround" for heave movements.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    The video looks fine on my S4 phone. I will look again when I get home and also give the same car and track a go on mine. Granted its a seat mover , but I still can establish the difference between full frame and seat mover. I have Project Cars on my setup.
    • Old Old x 1
  10. Boomslangnz

    Boomslangnz Active Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Balance:
    4,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 4DOF
    I actually didn't make those videos 100% for your analysis as I showed friends etc too, however ive just made a video specially for you to examine with lights on and all. I did just tweak some more tuning center stuff so movement is properly different from earlier however.

    • Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thank you for that way better video - really. It makes it easier to follow each of these fine movements while watching your screen. If this video would have been shown first I wouldn't have said anything (movements general speaking). Obviously you exhausted the jrks (because still not as fast ore reactive as it cloud be) but almost perfect. From my view there is some heave issue with iRacing <-> SimTools while pCars or other games are working fine
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Boomslangnz

    Boomslangnz Active Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Balance:
    4,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 4DOF
    [​IMG]
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I can see the gear changes, in the dark videos.
  14. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Ok I tested that same race and same car on my slow seat mover powered by JRK.
    I watched the movement in @Boomslangnz video and attempted to replicate it. Mine has more heave in it though, but I could feel gear changes up to 5th.
    So after watching the video, IMHMFO , booms sim is right on. Fortunately Ive had enough full frames in my time to remember the motion.
    Your gear change effect as seen is excellent. Considering you are moving a full sim, it looks great. Id get about the same if mine was full frame.
    so if that was a seat mover, it would snap faster @Pit , like my sim, but as its a full frame, I would rate the motion 10/10.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Boomslangnz

    Boomslangnz Active Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Balance:
    4,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 4DOF
    One thing I did in that video which I failed to mention is reverse the direction or the surge rail motor. Which way is the correct way? I've always had it like a seat so accl it slid backwards a bit and braking it went forward but I think I saw you mention something @Pit
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,435Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,007 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Yep, while accelerating sitting in a car the g-forces are pressing you into the seat. The effect will be reinforced if you are using seat belts. Just try it out and report your experience :)
  17. scalhoun

    scalhoun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    885Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I plan on making more tweaks to this tonight, but this is what I've been running for a while. @rundmg could also send you his pics of his setup for iRacing, he runs a hotter setup than mine.

    Do you have the Ruf in iRacing? Gear shifts in that are wicked so good to test with.. haha

    Ignore Heave, I'm using Extra2. I've had a way better experience in iRacing with that.

    Screenshot 2015-11-11 15.19.58.png Screenshot 2015-11-11 15.19.46.png Screenshot 2015-11-11 15.19.38.png Screenshot 2015-11-11 15.19.07.png
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2015
  18. scalhoun

    scalhoun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    885Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @rundmg tells me that adding the seat belt is just as big of experience upgrade as adding traction loss and really shines while braking. I just got back from hardware store with springs for a seat belt.. :)
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  19. Boomslangnz

    Boomslangnz Active Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Balance:
    4,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 4DOF
    Yeah I gotta get springs too. Wasn't sure what size etc to get yet
  20. scalhoun

    scalhoun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    885Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I got that size, no idea if there is enough info on that label to help you. I'll take pictures of the label on spring later if you need it.

    2015-10-26 17.40.59.jpg
    • Like Like x 1