1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial Monster Moto Shield acts as a single motor driver = more power!

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Pit, May 9, 2014.

  1. CalSim

    CalSim building things

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    bacteriology analist
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Seems a faulty unit. GND and +5v have some conection in between. The 2nd unit I've bought doesnt. Testing...
  2. CalSim

    CalSim building things

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    bacteriology analist
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Woaah got it working.

    Voltmeter test sucessfull on my last mm with the RC battery.

    Then connections with PSU and big motor worked fine.

    Using same config that with the 5019, seems to return and brake better with mm. more power out of the box. Now time to raise Kp and PWMmax(120)


    Thanks Guys!! and specially @Pit for sharing and trying it.

    PS: my wiring ( hope to be clear to see )
    IMG_5818.JPG IMG_5819.JPG IMG_5820.JPG
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Glad that it works for you, nice :)
    PWMmax 120 is very low, but for testing with OK. As I can see in your photos your coolers are very small, so take care and use big and fast fans!
  4. CalSim

    CalSim building things

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    bacteriology analist
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Yes, Kp200 and PWMmax 120 was the config that llowed me to run the pololu. I need to raise it I can slow the speed with my hand with it.

    Those coolers arrived WITH the mm I of course want bigger ones. Have you any ebay link to proper ones? Better 1 rectangular or 2 squares?

    I use 1x Sharkoon Shark blades 120mm fan on it. yellow ^^

    I also have an unused AMD 8350 stock heatsink and fan.

    Thanks pit
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  6. CalSim

    CalSim building things

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    bacteriology analist
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Got these ones!!

    http://www.ct-systemen.nl/product_i...cts_id=3175&osCsid=60uddodknsjm11es75hqkvpr74

    After seeing yours, i went away to check all stores near me, found that in the last one, the one closest home :S 4.5 €, 8 units

    You can open them as you want, they are moddable. I think this is the best heatsink i've seen here, I will show you. Its like a passive CPU cooler on the mm. Installed 3 units, opened them, and took a nice photo. You are going to love it.

    My syster took the camera away before I could download the photos haha
    Like it??

    IMG_5823.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014
  7. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    4,640Coins
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2 / -0
    guys this thread got long... at the end... does any body posted a working wiring diagram of two monster motor drivers connected to two different motors and to a single arduino?? (i would like to use the ruffus dufus code)

    if so, could anybody give me the link?

    best regards

    fer
  8. Jymä

    Jymä Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    151Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @ferslash
    Arduino -------- Monster Moto 1
    2 (Motor 1 H-Bridge ENA) ---------------7 and 8 (INA1 and INB1)
    3 (Motor 1 H-Bridge ENB)----------------4 and 9 (INA2 and INB2)
    9 (Motor 1 PWM) --------------------------5 and 6 (PWM1 and PWM2)

    Arduino -------- Monster Moto 2
    4 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENA) ---------------7 and 8 (INA1 and INB1)
    5 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENB)----------------4 and 9 (INA2 and INB2)
    10 (Motor 2 PWM) --------------------------5 and 6 (PWM1 and PWM2)

    You have to connect +5V and GND from both Moto Monsters to Arduino too.
    I have connected Moto Monsters using this tutorial and it works really well. You might have to use lower PWMMax and Kp values than suggested in SMC3Utility because this doubles the power output. :)
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @Jymä your diagram is correct, thanks. It is equivalent to the SMC3 diagram:
    Code:
    //                    +----+              +------+
    //                  +-|PWR |--------------| USB  |-----+
    //                  | |    |              |      |     |
    //                  | +----+              +------+    o|
    //                  |                                 o|
    //                  |                                 o|AREF
    //                  |                                 o|GND
    //                NC|o                                o|13    TTL (software) Serial
    //             IOREF|o  +----+                        o|12    TTL (software) Serial
    //             RESET|o  |    |                        o|11~  PWM Motor 3
    //              3.3V|o  |    |                        o|10~  PWM Motor 2
    //                5V|o  |    |    Arduino             o|9~    PWM Motor 1
    //               GND|o  |    |      UNO               o|8
    //               GND|o  |    |                         |
    //               VIN|o  |    |                        o|7      Motor 3 ENB
    //                  |   |    |                        o|6~    Motor 3 ENA
    //   Motor 1 Pot  A0|o  |    |                        o|5~    Motor 2 ENB
    //   Motor 2 Pot  A1|o  |    |                        o|4      Motor 2 ENA
    //   Motor 3 Pot  A2|o  |    |                        o|3~    Motor 1 ENB
    //                A3|o  |    |                        o|2      Motor 1 ENA
    //                A4|o  |    |                        o|1
    //                A5|o  +-/\-+                        o|0
    //                  +-\                      /---------+
    //                     \--------------------/
    
    The SMC3 code can access up to 3 motors, so the last motor have to be wired as follows:
    Arduino -------- Monster Moto 3
    6 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENA) ---------------7 and 8 (INA1 and INB1)
    7 (Motor 2 H-Bridge ENB)----------------4 and 9 (INA2 and INB2)
    11 (Motor 2 PWM) --------------------------5 and 6 (PWM1 and PWM2)
    ---
    I will update the first posting.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  10. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    4,640Coins
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2 / -0
    thanks @Pit and @Jymä :D i will use it as soon as possible.

    just a question... jyma said that this set up will double the power... that means... i will double the amperage, not the voltage right?

    best regards from a mexican fan

    fer
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    it will provide more amperage if needed. Will say could be the double but did not tested it. Voltage is always the same.
  12. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Sharing my experiences: after 9 months really excessive and daily testing and "driving" at the limit of the vnh2sp30 one MM (half-bridge mode!) has been blown yesterday. RIP :)
    BTW what exactly is the limit of the vnh2sp30 in a half-bridge mode: 25-30A continuous and up to 40-60A peak.
  13. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,218Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    shot.jpg one more shooted Hbridge!!!
    • Funny Funny x 2
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,457
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,612Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,465 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  15. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,037
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,856Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    Sorry to hear of you loss @Pit! :( But this is a good opportunity for you to try the new SMC3 code for the sabertooth controller!:) I see the motormonster from sparkfun is $70. You could make a single controller out of a motormonster and use two but that would cost $140. For another $50 dollars you could instead buy a sabertooth 60x2. With that you will get automatic protection of the mosfets. However, if you do somehow manage to damage it within one year of purchase, you get a free replacement. After that replacements are stated to cost 50% of their currently listed price even though I have received free replacements even after one year’s time. :p
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @BlazinH thank you very much for the input! The MM's are much cheaper, one sample is $13 at Aliexpress (including package fee and delivery), I ordered already 4 of them (and if one blows each year, the cost is nothing to speak of). Furthermore I want to perform an other test: two MM's parallel in half bride mode...it would be awesome if that works! An investment of 26$ and 60A continuous and 120A peak as a result! So far this will be my last experiment, after that I will switch to sabertooth (only if the MM are not working in parallel mode) ;p . BTW I am not money-minded, I am looking for the way which I am going :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. denial

    denial New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    118Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi! I have a motomonster in halfbridge i wish to connect 1 motor for one motomonster shield in double. I have see the wiring scheme. I think it's the same if I connect A1 +A2 (7,4) and B1+B2(8,9) example: my code use 7 and 8 for half bridge mode now if I connect 7 to 4 i obtain the same polarity on A1 and A2 ,also for B it's correct? Why I should prefer A1B1 polarity one and A2B2 polarity 2, scheme?
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I dunno what you are trying to ask, but in any case my tests are based on the specifications of the Motomonster in combination with the SMC3 sketch.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  19. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +491 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Pit i know this thread is with the correct information but i saw in SMC3 thread the above and marked red what is missing from here. i am refreshing my memory and came across with it and want to make things clear in my mind before any smokeo_O i mean tests:grin.
  20. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,280Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @insanegr you could grill a fish with your blowing MMs ;) So it is not for nothing lol
    Joke aside, this is only needed if you are using two MMs for one motor.

    PS: Even then it is not needed, because you set the values on the Arduino as you would use a single channel of the MM.
    • Like Like x 1