1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial Monster Moto Shield acts as a single motor driver = more power!

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Pit, May 9, 2014.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    DELETED, wrong information
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2014
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,013
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,766Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,691 / 30 / -1
    I'm just curious @Pit if you have tested this under full load on a simulator to confirm all is as should be? Thanks
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    My weight was the load to move :) I was pressing down the crank to simulate the weight of the seat. Under the same circumstances the Monster Moto stopped by using it as a normal dual motor driver. Now it works fine. But you are right perhaps there will be any issues later not been detected yet.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    13,143Coins
    Ratings:
    +939 / 7 / -1
    I love your experiments and test results. :thumbs

    Obviously you have it working so my previous concerns are unwarranted... I did check the datasheet for the output drivers and they say that they can be used in pairs for more power so you're definitely on the right track. They do however recommend using one driver for each half of the h-bridge rather than putting them in parallel (similar to the schematic posted by BlazinH). Both ways should give the same output power. While the parallel output works it "may" reduce the life of the drivers - but I can't be sure.

    Here is the example from the datasheet, it seems to be just a minor rewire to connect this way.... But you seem to be having more fun and learning more just taking some risks! :grin Keep us updated.

    vnh2sp30 half-bridge.JPG
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @RufusDufus nice to hear that :) The datasheet seems to be just different from what I expected. The sheet shows A and B connected - different from what I did. But the power meter doesn't lie I believe so :) At least it works. I ordered 3 samples from aliexpress, perhaps the Sabertooth 2 x 60 is already history p:
  6. telfel

    telfel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Balance:
    4,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 3 / -0
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    4,640Coins
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2 / -0
    so, using this solution what is the total amperage that you can handle here???

    best regards

    fer
  8. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The tests have not been finalized yet furthermore it is difficult to measure the peak of the current. The maximum current rating of the bridge is 30 A, the
    practical continuous current 14 A. The winches require each up to 25 A. My experience about the bridges (standard) they are working fine up to 20 A, so in the dual mode 40 A should be realistic and to be expected. At the moment I am very busy and cannot continue with the test s, but you can be sure the content is going to be updated soon.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Unfortunately no second Monster Moto delivered yet but a new video instead. I wired as described below and connected one winches to one h-bridge in "single mode". In the very first posting I added a new video to confirm all is working fine. SMC3 can now handle significantly more power (Before: Kp ~200, PWMmax ~180, now Kp ~500 and PWMmax ~220.)
  10. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Update (see first posting)
  11. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,184Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The wiring you drew is accorded to VNH specs:
    so, finally you rewrite your first post to follow the specifications of VNH instead of your first tests?

    PS: the same can be done with 2 VNH3SP30 to allow 5.5-36VDC power supply!
    Here is a link @9€ from Olimex = 18€
  12. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Indeed. To avoid any short circuits they are wired as described above.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. CalSim

    CalSim building things

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    bacteriology analist
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Hi @Pit in your first post info you say:

    The outputs:

    A1 and B1 will have the SAME polarity
    A2 and B2 will have the SAME polarity, too.

    But in your photo, A1 and B1 have different colour cables, just like driving 1 motor on each channel. I'm a bit confused, have you connected them to the same motor terminal or are they mixed?

    greets
  14. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I am at work so short reply only. Of course they are different because the wires have been soldered BEFORE I found out this new solution. I will post a video this afternoon to show you that it works.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @CalSim:



    Now with the correct colour wirings. My Monster Motos are running months ago w/o any issues.
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,184Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @CalSim : I would advise you to read the specs :) it looks boring but always interesting! With trustworthy information

    For what project do you require high current?
  17. CalSim

    CalSim building things

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    bacteriology analist
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    @RacingMat I love to read specs ^^ spent whole nights on it. Well i'm building a nice lineal actuator

    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/dc-actuator-design.5762/page-2

    I'm using those new MotionControlProducts ZYT-90 motor with the 60:1 wormgear. Check it, it is 23A const 48A peak., huge power, 276W . I've already burned 2x pololu dual VHN5019, 1 my bewbishness 1 because headers * 70Amps arent friends.

    This is why i'm looking for some alternatives at the dual 5019 driver. Sparkfun MM is more expensive than dual 5019 and aliexpress MM looks shitty.

    @Pit Cant see the video, Have those been working for months?.... The video preview seems you have a smaller motor.


    IMG_5204.JPG Motor here

    IMG_5451.JPG
    IMG_5447.JPG Global overview, no Pulleys yet.

    Everything is on my post, when electronics are working i'm updating it, I dont want to post em here ^^

    greets
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,206Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I can only repeat...
    Check out the forum or Aliexpress for very cheap MonsterMoto (15$).

    The video above is only for demonstration (test unit). My winches are running you can see them in my DIY thread http://www.xsimulator.net/community/posts/62861/
  19. CalSim

    CalSim building things

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    bacteriology analist
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,239Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    Yes, i have seen them and read a lot about them, the thing is that i dont really trust those cheap, i have experience in aliexpress and electronics is a critical thing, I'm looking for max quality on everything i can. I also know i'm a bit on the limits of the shields. are them really worth?


    Cant see any of your videos, others i can but not yours :S
  20. Jymä

    Jymä Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    151Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @CalSim I have same motors as you. Did you measure that 23A continuous and 48A peak on simulator conditions or was it maximum stress? Because I'm planning to use them on 2DOF full frame platform in which VW wiper motors with under 10A(?) peak were almost enough. I planned trying single Moto Monster first but I guess I would have to go to this parallel setup straight if it draws that much. Also I have only one 47A PSU for both motors. Should I buy another PSU?

    And about those Moto Monsters, I don't think it really matters if you buy the "real" one or the $15 one. They are both probably built with same Chinese components, but the first one charges for design costs and the brand etc. Though it might have a little thicker PCB or some other quality factor. And actually I'm not sure yet if my first cheap MM was faulty but many seem to be using them with no problems. Some use these too http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_sacat=0&_nkw=bts7960&_frs=1 if you want to try.