1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Monitor /display static or move with motion?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by mrt, Nov 15, 2015.

  1. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    701Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    HI Guys
    Just wondering what peoples opionions are on display setups with motion rigs. Would it be best to mount it to move with the rig or to have it stationary?
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,361
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,932Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,088 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    For racing, screen static is preferred as your eyes tend to stay on a fixed point on the horizon, while with flight, screen moving ideally.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    701Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    i wonder if you had a head tracker if that would make any difference ( if you had a monitor moving with the rig )As your head would be countering any force?
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2015
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    maybe. Thing is, some games the car moves, even bonnet view in game. But each game varies in game movement on screen. Add camera shake to that as well... theres a few variables that could make it interesting.
  7. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,353Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    I've tried both. A big Tv in front of my Rig, and a small Monitor mounted on my rig. For me the moving monitor is better.
  8. mrt

    mrt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    701Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I decided to mount the screen in the end to the cockpit heres the drivers view.
    The screen is a 27 inch ultra wide curved monitor
    DSC_1060.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Marcos Soares

    Marcos Soares Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    Mecânico Split sistem
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I thought very well and came to the conclusion that the fixed monitor is better but I liked the idea tracker ... I will search.
  10. Laszlo Gendrovits

    Laszlo Gendrovits New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    399Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi. I want to do three monitors just move the trasacktion lost together
    the other 2 engine chair move. IMG_0810.JPG
  11. Laszlo Gendrovits

    Laszlo Gendrovits New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    399Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I will be fitted on the three 27" monitors to the current frame.
    The current frame will be under a slightly larger frame and then on
    everything moves. IMG_0817.JPG
  12. Laszlo Gendrovits

    Laszlo Gendrovits New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    399Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Agree Agree x 1