1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Modifying Chinese 3DOF Arcade VR Simulator to Run Standard PC Games

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Epseni, Jun 14, 2019.

  1. Epseni

    Epseni New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi all!

    I recently bought a Chinese made Arcade VR simulator and my plan is to modify it to run commercial PC games with SimTools instead of pre-bundled software.

    [​IMG]

    The simulator has 0.4kW 3000 rpm AC servo motors driven by Dorna EPS-M1 3-in-1 drive. It comes with Vegafu SMC-X24 controller, which I am planning to replace with AMC-AASD15A servo controller (https://www.tindie.com/products/Tronicgr/amc-aasd15a-servo-motion-controller/) made by Thanos. This setup should allow me to run the simulator with any software compatible with SimTools.

    Simulator comes with PC built in. Specs are:
    Intel i5-6400 CPU
    Asus motherboard
    Geforce GTX 1050 Ti GPU
    8 Gb RAM
    500W PSU

    I will swap the GPU to something more powerful. Other than that it's pretty capable out of the box. There is also stand with monitor and keyboard/mouse coupled with the simulator. That is pretty convenient for operating the simulator on site.

    Simulator comes with DPVR E3-C VR helmet (http://dpvr.net/e3c.html), which looks like it could be decent solution for this kind of purpose. It is compatible with SteamVR.

    It has Logitech G29 wheel and pedal setup, which should be adequate too.

    Next step now is to wait for AMC-AASD15A controller to arrive and begin testing. Big thanks to Thanos already now for consulting me on the topic! I'll post more pictures and experiences as I proceed with the project.

    I am not sure if anyone has interest in this kind of project, but I'll post this just in case. Also I appreciate any feedback or suggestions you might have.

    Happy to join the community and looking forward to get racing soon! :)
    • Like Like x 3
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,142
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Members here are generally interested in pretty much all motion sims and peripherals.
  3. isamu

    isamu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Balance:
    223Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2 / -0
    I'd like to see more examples of these. For example I use to play the motion deluxe version of Virtua Racing by Sega. That cab was immensely fun! Also the Daytona 2 motion cab is great as well. I'd love to see anyone use those cabs as motion rigs for PC sims.
  4. diablo2112

    diablo2112 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    296Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Great idea. I've been following @Thanos' work as well, and he recently published the jailbreak to wire up these Chinese Dorna motors. Do let us know how this progresses. May I ask, from where did you obtain the simulator?
  5. Epseni

    Epseni New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I will update you very soon, as I received the controller today! I am just now proceeding with the installation and hopefully I'll have it up and running during the weekend. I'll follow up with pictures and report on gaming soon after. I'm also planning to make picture-in-picture videos combining gameplay and simulator action.

    Simulator was originally owned by small VR Arcade that went bankrupt. It's an early 2019 model and had only few hours of usage before I bought it.
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Psionic001

    Psionic001 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Sydney
    Balance:
    709Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    I think I saw the online ad for that arcade. I'm interested to see how things work out.


  7. Epseni

    Epseni New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I can confirm that the simulator works absolutely perfectly with Thanos AMC-AASD15A controller! I have tested Assetto Corsa and Project Cars 2 on it so far. SimTools configuration was easy and I will continue fine tuning the parameters over next few days.

    Let me know if anyone needs the Vegafu controller, I won't be needing it any longer :D
    • Winner Winner x 2
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    446
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,109Coins
    Ratings:
    +391 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yes, with a custom wiring and a few parameters, it works same as my other servomotors...

    Wiring_AMC-AASD-15A_to_Dorna_sm.jpg

    Can't wait to see the platform all tuned playing VR games!


    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. Epseni

    Epseni New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    First test runs are now done and the simulator feels great! I made few videos of the action, which you can find below.

    Here is picture of the engine room. Router is no longer needed there, I will remove it. I will install the computer unit back to lower front area on the picture. I did the test runs today with my laptop.
    [​IMG]

    Here is a few Project Cars 2 laps at Suzuka (Sakitto) with Formula A:


    And here is some Bac Mono action at Laguna Seca:


    I noticed that movement on Formula A is much more aggressive than most other cars. Some slower cars seem pretty mellow. I probably need to tune the settings more to get better balance. Any suggestions are highly appreciated on settings I should try. Also please point out if you see any funny movement on the videos. I am not even 100% sure that all forces are correctly configured. I'll post my settings soon.

    One additional thing I noticed was that the connection points / metal panel supporting the actuators is bit too flexible. That results to extra sway movement after breaking and accelerating. I am planning to add metal plate supports to actuator bolts to distribute the weight on larger area. That should significantly reduce the flexibility. Another option is to support the actuator below it to the ground, but that is less convenient when moving the rig around.
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    446
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,109Coins
    Ratings:
    +391 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF

    Great rig! Thanks for the videos!

    Actually i just seen actual photo of under the hood, and I thought why you said all motion was inverted... because the actuators are upside down compared to the rest 4 axis platforms... so the Heave direction is opposite... doesn't really matter, the directions can be inverted in simtools...


    Thanks
    Thanos
  11. Epseni

    Epseni New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    26Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Here is the settings I use currently. Please comment if you have improvement ideas. On up and downhills it does not feel totally natural, I am not sure if that can be modeled perfectly with pitch while maintaining braking and acceleration forces.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  12. Twisted

    Twisted New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    54Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Amazing simulator, really awesome that you got it all working
    Iam still kinda new to the whole motion thing
    but while testing it helped to make settings per car/track.
    For the pitch problem you could trie to use Tuning center and adjust manually the pitch value?

    Again awesome setup!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +343 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Congratulations for getting this machine into movement!

    About your thoughts regarding pitch and roll: It is a general limitation of 2 and 3 DOF simulators that pitch and surge are simulated via the same movement, and the same is true for roll and sway. In this way, these forces are competing with and weakening each other.
    Exanple: You go downhill, which pitches the rig forward. At the same time, your vehicle is accelerating, which pitches the rig backward. This surely does not feel natural.

    Some people (me included) are dealing with this issue by integrating a g-seat into their rig, so that surge and sway are separated from pitch and roll.
    • Like Like x 3
  14. Twisted

    Twisted New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    54Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    So i had the same idea (running 2dof here)
    It`s a bit of trade-off with the forces, so for example for a Formule renault i put emphasis on the "sway" and less on roll for the "g-forces"
    When a track is more up and downhill , i make a profile with less sway and roll but more pitch and heave.

    Markus, I was thinking the same with Roll.
    For example a cambered turn to the right = body roll to the right
    But a offcambered turn , or high downforce car = more likeley roll a bit to the opposite of the turn. Still not really sure how to handle this one. for now i did setup for the second.