1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

MMOS with STM32F4: G29 shifter?

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by C1500, Jan 13, 2021 at 07:43.

  1. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    778Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi folks

    I have tried to connect my G29 shifter to the STM32 but it seems not work.
    Maybe the wiring is wrong or there is a bigger difference between these shifter:

    G29: G29-shifter.jpg G27 / G25: G27-shifter.jpg

    I have used the standard wiring:
    wiring.jpg

    Does someone know how to connect a G29 to the STM32?

    @Peacemaker105 : Don´t you have a G29 shifter?
    Have you connected it to the TDD or STM32?

    Does that work at all?

    kind reganrds
    Peer
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    778Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi
    i found one thing that could be a problem.
    There is a difference between G25 and G27
    Pin 1 and Pin 7 are changed:
    diff.jpg

    But which one will work with the G29 shifter?
  4. Peacemaker105

    Peacemaker105 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Perth, Aus
    Balance:
    1,494Coins
    Ratings:
    +241 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I use a g27 shifter, my g29 didn't work, as you mentioned.. crazy there isn't a pinout for it somewhere on the internet? I haven't looked to be honest because I liked the g27 because of the extra buttons to map. Unfortunately with my slight EMI it keeps ghosting buttons when connected so I actually have my g27 wheel sitting on the floor next to my rig plugged into usb to use as a usb pass through for my gearstick haha.
    I have a VNM shifter coming in a few weeks so I'm not overly worried. But would be good if you could work out the pinout for others..
  5. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    778Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Hi
    Cause there is no Pinout of the G29 in the Internet i made it by myself ;)

    The G29 seems to work completely another way.
    It looks like, it is working not like I2C, it is working analog an has an EEProm inside.
    IC.jpg
    Its a "M95010-W 1 Kbit SPI bus EEPROM with high-speed clock"
    https://www.st.com/en/memories/m95010-w.html
    For whatever reason...:think

    But i made a small connection diagram:
    G29 - Layout.png
    As you can see, at pin 4 and 8 are the analog outputs.
    Pin 2 seems to be the "revers"-switch.

    Maybe someone has a good idea?

    Kind regards
    Peer
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021 at 19:22
  6. C1500

    C1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    778Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
  7. noSaint

    noSaint New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    97Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    because in the description "Automatic recognition of connected shifter type." ??
    I guess there is built in logic recognising the different chips connected.