1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Mmos settings

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by Simon Husum, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. Simon Husum

    Simon Husum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Viborg, Denmark
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Hi guys :)

    As most of you are, I am pretty satisfied with my OSW.
    But I do find one thing pretty annoying
    Is there a solution so you dont have to calibrate the steering wheel in MMOS everytime you start up the computer?
    Furthermore I need to set my OSW ingame everytime so the game knows that it is my OSW I will use as a steering wheel?
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Im not sure of settings mate but i dont need to calibrate mine every time. In fact i don't even open MMos unless i need to change something. using ioni pro HC and simucube with large mige
  4. PiaMan

    PiaMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Balance:
    515Coins
    Ratings:
    +130 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino
    Same here. Games remember my selection for wheel and the only thing I have to do when turning it on is rotate the wheel a little bit
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Simon Husum

    Simon Husum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Viborg, Denmark
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Thanks for your input.. :thumbs
    That sounds very weird.. o_O
    Have a friend which has a OSW as well.
    He is experiencing the same.
    Also Ioni pro HC and simucube.
    When I in mmos go into the setup I asume the "encoder index" needs to be choosen as that is the parameter which saves the encoder values after it will be turned off.

    Are there other things I should be aware of?..
  6. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    Have you saved the original setup to the eprom? when i first got mine i calibrated and centred etc. i then saved that to the EPRom. After that i just save profiles.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. Simon Husum

    Simon Husum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Viborg, Denmark
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Thanks @crammy
    I have saved to Eprom.
    Ehm.. That helped so that the wheel is recognized in the games..
    But not centered?
    It is about 45 degree from center.
    I now have to center everytime as the only "problem".
    I have attached two pics at my mmos.
    Everytime it recognizes the settings as steering angle, min and max force etc. So they are saved.

    But everytime time I start mmos all the settings in setup are cleared? Even though I have saved them to eprom and default.
    Asume they are correct in setup tab?
    As you can see it says "center steering wheel and save offset"?
    But how?
    If I save it to Eprom, default or at the gameprofile it still says "center steering wheel and save offset"?

    WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING WRONG? :)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 1, 2017
  8. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    once you have set the centre with the offset it will remember this. when i turn mine on it rotates slightly and is always off centre but the setting still remember where centre is if that makes sense.
    you should only have to centre once and save to eprom. after that you never to to save to eprom again.
    ill try and find my instructions for you. When centreing the wheel you dont actually have the wheel on the shaft so you can stay with in a limit which i think is under 3000 on the offset
  9. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,567Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  10. Simon Husum

    Simon Husum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Viborg, Denmark
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Oh boy..
    THANK YOU SO MUCH!!
    Works like a charm now..:thumbs
    Why haven't i seen that document before.
    Thank you so much for enlighten me ;)

    Best tip of the day by far..

    Thanks a lot!!

    Really appreciated!!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. PiaMan

    PiaMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Balance:
    515Coins
    Ratings:
    +130 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino
    Was there a specific setting you had to change to solve the issue?
  12. Simon Husum

    Simon Husum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Viborg, Denmark
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Yes. First off I didnt save to eprom in MMOS.
    That worked so the OSW was saved as the steering wheel inside the games, but wasnt calibrated correst everytime.
    But when I calibrated the value was around 12000 in MMOS.
    The value has to be between -3000 to 3000.
    So refitter my QR so it is now around 600 when the wheel is centered.
    Saved the value.
    And now it works perfect everytime :)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,399Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Tip for you guys, Desktop effects...If you run a slight bit (say 6%) Spring effect 30% Saturation, when you power up your wheel it will do its little calibration and they sit somewhere near center but if you rotate the wheel there's nothing until you reach a particular amount of rotation where the desktop effect kicks in, With 6% spring its just enough to re center the wheel within reason and prevent the wheel from being turned a whole bunch while out of game and having it JERK back into place when you jump on track.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  14. Simon Husum

    Simon Husum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Viborg, Denmark
    Balance:
    176Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT
    Not only is @Nick Moxley a big oracle in the motion category..
    But also in this section.. :grin
    Thanks a lot for the very useful tip :thumbs

    Great with all those little tips which makes an OSW wheel even more awesome :)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1