1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Microsoft announces new flight simulator 2020

Discussion in 'Flight Simulator 2020 - FS2020' started by noorbeast, Jun 10, 2019.

  1. Just 4 Artist

    Just 4 Artist New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    86Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I’m going to explain what pitch/roll/yaw are.
    Pitch= vertical angle (up or down)
    Roll= bank angle (left or right)
    Yaw= This parameter is like the drift for racing simulation. Also known as the 3rd axis.

    I hope this can helps.

    Please, share your progress. Video are very welcome too!
  2. Benji85

    Benji85 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    156
    Balance:
    845Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    excellent progress! well done that man!!!
  3. knaufinator

    knaufinator Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    184Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Update: Ive been tuning it for a few hours and got it working good enough for a video. I will record one over the next few, and post it.

    I will also release the source code on GitHub to the project, along with a user guide,.. this is no where near DONE... as I am using a separate app to act as a telemetry server,... The server could be integrated right in the plugin... I may still do.... if no one does before me,
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. knaufinator

    knaufinator Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    184Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have released the source code to this so other developers can improve on it, I have spent 1.5 hours to get it working this far. Several more hours just making a video and posting it to GitHub. I may not invest more time in it, but by all means,... take it and ....Dare I say..... FLY...



    https://github.com/knaufinator/MS-Flight-Simulator---Simtools-interface-

    This is a VERY early release as QUICKLY as I could get it out so people can start flying around in a motion sim for Microsoft Flight Sim 2020

    This project includes 2 parts
    1. FS2020_GamePlugin = The Simtools plugin, compile this and drop the file FS2020_GamePlugin.dll into the SimTools plugin updater app to install it, patch it as normal.

    2. Simvars = This is a Server application, this connects to MS Flight Simulator when you hit Connect, it Queries the correct data from the game only at 10Hz, anything faster and it was slowing my PC down, so change that at your discretion.... this needs to be improved. take a stab...this is a modified app from the SDK, so it has a bunch more functionality in it than what we are using. dont hit anything else other than Connect.... after it opens up, and it should consume the data automagically..the simtools plugin should see the data as soon as you do.

    Limits I used, i did not touch sway or surge yet...
    upload_2020-8-27_19-36-33.png
    • Winner Winner x 5
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2020
  5. Just 4 Artist

    Just 4 Artist New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    86Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks for sharing. As I am an absolutely begginer in motions systems, all that you say is like chinese for me, I can't understand a word.
    I'm wainting for my motion platform who is to be shipped in 30 days, then I will need a tutorial about how to install a plugin.
    Good work and nice video!
  6. knaufinator

    knaufinator Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    184Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yeah, that's reasonable.... I am a computer engineer, to me it's very common,... If you don't have prior exposure to this level there are a ton of concepts used all at once. This post was geared towards getting other developers involved as I don't want to invest to much time into it.... Yet it looked pretty easy to get a demo made.... Go forth and conquer
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,575
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,159Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,137 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I would suggest you download and peruse the SimTools manual: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/rtfm-start-with-the-official-simtools-documentation.117/

    There is also a FAQ section for SimTools tips and tweaks: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simtools-settings-tips-and-tricks.18/category

    If you want you can even have a play with a simulated simulator, to better understand SimTools, while waiting for your new rig: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simulating-a-2dof-simulator.278/

    The FAQs also cover the basics such as the fundamentals of motion and much, much more: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2020
  8. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    308
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor
    @knaufinator I got it working somewhat lol. I have no idea what I am doing however. I took FS2020_GamePlugin.dll / FS2020_GamePlugin.pdb / and Game_PluginAPI.dll and zipped them and loaded them in simtools plug-in updater. Patched the game. Then executed simvars.exe and loaded all.simvars-- It actually sort of worked. Frame rate was like 2 frames per second lol....
    Anyway like I said I have no freaking idea as to what I am doing.. but it sure passed the time! :grin
    • Like Like x 1
  9. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    10,518Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,411 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    There's a bug in simconnect that causes the slowdowns in fs2020
    They are looking at it, might be solved next week.
    I have a solution working in unmanaged code, similar to what is posted here, it works but if you use other apps for joysticks or other programs that use simconnect, you are going to get the slowdowns.
    We have to wait some days...
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 2
  10. knaufinator

    knaufinator Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    184Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Nice, I will hold off then. It was killing my frame rate to. Thanks for letting us know
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Benji85

    Benji85 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    156
    Balance:
    845Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    exciting stuff! I'm greatly looking forward to a working plugging for msfs2020 soon! :D
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Peacemaker105

    Peacemaker105 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Perth, Aus
    Balance:
    1,384Coins
    Ratings:
    +223 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Awesome work!! Cant wait to give this a thrash in motion. It was feeling way too flat for my liking, just sitting in my stationary rig.. haha
    • Like Like x 2
  13. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,292Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,229 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    I can provide you my source of the FSX_PD3 plugin for inspiration. I think it should be straightforward to convert it to a MFS2020 plugin (I cannot test as MFS2020 does not run on my I7.920 / GT640 system :blush)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  14. knaufinator

    knaufinator Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    184Coins
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yup, that looks like more or less what I was doing just in the simtools plugin, nice work.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,997Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,823 / 32 / -1
    We can only hope that a fix in SimConnect alone will solve a frame rate problem. The biggest issue with FSX was that even with the best hardware available at the time, if you could consistently get over 30fps using somewhat high graphics settings you were doing good. So while 30fps is far greater than 2fps and would be a huge improvement, it still would fall short of being a fix :(. But if they can support VR then they must be able to do better than that by now.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. Camerus

    Camerus Sim builder Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    California
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 4DOF
    @SilentChill using VorpX and opentrack to hack VR support for FS 2020.

    • Winner Winner x 2
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 30, 2020
  17. Benji85

    Benji85 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    156
    Balance:
    845Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    noice. pt actuators? any way of getting it to work with simtools?
  18. Icy7CE

    Icy7CE Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,340Coins
    Ratings:
    +181 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I've been experimenting with converting @value1's FSX plugin into a MFS2020 plugin. In the FSX plugin, there is direct communication with SimConnect.dll using DllImport. The problem is that the MFS2020 version of SimConnect.dll is 64-bit. Since SimTools plugins have to be 32-bit, I can't get DllImport to work from a 64-bit DLL.

    Am I missing something straightforward, or will the plugin just have to communicate with a separate application like in @knaufinator's solution? Thinking @value1 might be able to provide some insight.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    308
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,049Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor
    I purchased VorpX today and downloaded the free headtracker software. I am amazed how good it works. MS2020 is a killer sim... I found this video which will help you set up the programs...
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,292Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,229 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    From what I know so far, accessing a 64bit dll from a 32bit exe is not straightforward. It needs some additional intermediary (COM server) and tweaking of the registry.
    However I think the SimConnect dll that is provided with the SDK is a 32 bit library.