1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF/6DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    248Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    M2 seat mover is interesting, a quarter of the price of Nextlevel
  2. Andy Booth

    Andy Booth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    375Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Nobody else has responded so here is my take on your questions.

    1. The motors are really not noisy. Dont worry. I get more noise from the fans in the control box.

    2. Foot pedal adjustment is more than adequate for F1 style pedals but there isnt likely to be enough room to mount GT style pedals. If you have not yet ordered speak to Igor, Im sure he will provide a wider pedal plate if you ask nicely. Yo can adjust the wheel plate to provide a different angle but it probably isn't the best design from that point of view.
    You really do need seat runners to provide the ability to adjust the balance front to back. more importantly though is getting the balance left to right and the design of the rig isn't great. I had to modify quite a bit before my rig was balanced.

    3. P3 motors are just more powerful generally. I weigh a little more than that and once the rig is balanced, the P3 motors work fine. Cant comment on the H3 motors. If you can afford the P3 rig, I would suggest you go for that.

    4. The rig will slide around on hard floors but I doubt it would be able to move easily on carpet. Casters would work but will raise you up even more. Could be an issue.

    Andy
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    387Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Anyone have any links to casters for this? I checked out the local hardware big box stores and all they had were ones with a very long bolt. This would really raise the P3 and I'd be afraid of the sim motion sheering off one of these.
  4. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,753Coins
    Ratings:
    +181 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    How about those stick on hard nylon things that would slide on carpet with a push.

    https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/3153hyVLuFL._SX425_.jpg
  5. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    387Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    Just wanted to say a "BIG THANK YOU!" to Igor of DOF Reality. He took some time out his Labor Day long weekend to help me out with an issue I was having with one of my actuators. Great product and wonderful customer support!
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Soma888

    Soma888 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    149Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    You could try how the guy in this video has them. He has them mounted on the end so they only touch the floor once you lift it. The rig would be pretty heavy to lift but you could put a dolly or similar under the front just enough to lift it so the castor wheels touch the ground. You can see the wheels about half way through the video.

  7. Ayousry

    Ayousry New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Mansoura
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Can anyone tell me how does this rig work in vr with the latest oculus software please, i tried to simulate the rig by moving my body on a fixed chair
    In DCS and XP11 and the problem is that if i lean right or left while banking the aircraft my physical head moves to the right and the whole scene is shifted right that i dont see the hud , same when pitching up the cockpit just get away further !!!And i think if i fixed the sensor on the rig it will reset the view a lot .

    Although i find a lot of vids of costumers fixing the sensors on the rig!
    And some other report no view problems at all with the sensor infront of the rig


    How do they do that without the view being reseted? Was the oculus software supporting motion cancelling before and now it doesnt or whats happening?!

    Thats the only thing keeping me from buying the H2 , advices please

  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,996
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The OpenVR-InputEmulator can be used for motion cancellation, unfortunately you have to use Revive with the Rift and the latest Oculus SDK updates have created problems: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/vr-motion-cancellation-time-to-test.10241/
  9. Ayousry

    Ayousry New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Mansoura
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,996
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There are options, in smaller axis motion sims you won't really need motion cancellation and with the Rift a camera can be mounted on the rig, which negates the need for motion cancellation, though strong vibrations can affect tracking.
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2018
  11. RCFlyer

    RCFlyer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    274Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I use the Rift with the H3 with no problems. I have the sensors mounted to the platform and with normal flying, not aerobatic, there is no need for motion cancellation.

    Regards,

    Danny
  12. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    1,235Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    i don't even use motion cancellation with anything. I still don't even get what it does (i tried it once and it was stuterring as HELL so turned it off and never used it again)
  13. Daniel_83

    Daniel_83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    183Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi, I need good simtools setup (axis assigment) for Dofreality P3 platform for this games:

    -Richard Burns Rally,
    -Dirt Rally,
    -iRacing
    -Race Room Racing,
    -No limits 2 roller coaster,
    -X-plane 11,
    -Dcs world.

    I install everything like at this movie:
    I use Generic 2D Basic Axis Type

    Somebody help me ?
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,996
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    110,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,959 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The first post of this thread has a link to settings for some of the more popular games: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ject-cars-2-can-anyone-share-me-theirs.11273/

    You should use the Generic 2D Standard Axis Type, particularly for flight sims, as that gives you axis to Filter settings.
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  15. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    1,235Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    i'll send you on wednesday, remind me in two days
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Daniel_83

    Daniel_83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    183Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks for the answer, I do not know what to do to have the Generic 2D Standard Axis Type in simtool. I have only Basic. Simtools has installed from the dofealitysetup.exe file (link at instruction).
  17. Daniel_83

    Daniel_83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    183Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok, thanks man, I remin You.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. optical10

    optical10 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Balance:
    632Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Man alive what the hell is happening!
    Only one of my P3 packages has arrived today in the UK via TNT .
    Looks like the second unit is stuck in the Netherlands since 3 Sept from its initial 31st August Shipping date. This will be the third day stuck indoors waiting for a promised delivery from the shambolic TNT customer support department.
  19. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Canada, Eh!
    Balance:
    1,865Coins
    Ratings:
    +275 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Having played around with this capability (for PC, unfortunately no PSVR support) when using the Next Level Racing v3 Motion Platform, I'm also interested in the ability of Wheel/Joystick (DirectInput?) for titles which do not have native SimTools plug-ins.
    Have you been able to get it working for the PSVR, and if so, how?
    I'm assuming that you're possibly splitting your USB joystick output to both the PS4 & the PC with an output splitter/duplicator type of USB hub?

    Hey Mascot, I recognize your name & avatar from the NLRv3 threads over on RaceDepartment.
    After throwing around the idea of either building a DIY solution or going with a plug-and-play commercial unit, like you I opted for the latter, the NLv3.
    Unfortunately in my case it only lasted for about 6 weeks, and once it became defective (completely dead) I decided to return it for a refund rather than exchange it.
    Just far too much money for something which died so soon, and has to be shipped halfway across the world (for me) to be repaired, plus high shipping fees.
    As it stands now, I am much more comfortable with building something by following the recommendations on this site, simply because of the fact that if I build it, then I know what's in it, and thus how to fix it.

    So here I am, back where I started, not to mention temporarily motionless on my rig until I figure out exactly how I wish to go ahead with my DIY build.
    For that, this site is an absolute Godsend, and am learning so much already.
    What a great community here!
    Not sure if you still frequent these forums, but best of luck with your NLv3.

    The M2 Seat Mover is what brought me here, but after reading all 34 pages of this thread along many other ones on this site, I feel that it's best to just do a full and simple 2dof DIY and learn a lot along the way.
    Just the importing & shipping costs alone for bringing it here to Canada would pretty much pay for my DIY build, and that's before the cost of the actual unit.
    Worst case scenario is that I'll end up with some new wiper motors for my truck ;-)
    Unless of course I opt for worm-gear motors.
    Research...research...and MORE research needed.
  20. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    1,235Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    email igor