1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Lesson Logitech Wheels

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Blame73, Dec 6, 2016.

  1. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    As long as you buy toys, there's no problem but...

    Through the years I owned so far:
    • Logitech Precision
      • A toy, never had problems
    • Logitech Formula Force GP
      • A toy, never had problems
    • Logitech Driving Force GP
      • A better level, but I wouldn't say professional wheel. Never had problems and I'm glad I never sold it cause I needed more than once as a backup wheel. Let's hope for its encoder to last...
    • Logitech G27
      • For sure an higher level wheel (compared to the others I owned). After one and half year the encoder failed so, with a more than average ffb force, it resulted in not been aligned with the virtual wheel (in game the wheel was at 0° while the real wheel was at 10°/15° making it useless. Being under warranty I had a refund cause meanwhile it was no more available being replaced by what I then bought, a:
    • Logitech G29
      • Mainly the same G27 wheel, just repacked and with some more buttons. The only improved thing was the brake pedal, that now has a simil-hardware stop at about 50% of the range that makes it easier to modulate the brakes. Price had risen AND they're even not selling the shifter with the wheel. A poor shifter btw... This time the wheel lasted just a little more than A MONTH! Depending on the degrees of the wheel, buttons and paddles didn't work anymore or they work alltogether, so pushing one button was like pushing 10 buttons at the same time... Had a quick replacement from the reseller (Am***n) that sent me a brand new:
    • Logitech G29
      • So yesterday I got the new G29. This time it didn't last a minute! Unpacked, connected to the PC, calibrated and... bad pedals! The range of both accelerator and brake pedals doesn't reach 100%. Accelerator reaches a max of 95% and brake a max of 91%. So, unless you change the pedals range in each game, you'll never reach 100%, like you're never totally accelerating or braking.

    I learnt the lesson, I'm having a refund and never ever buying Logitech wheels again.

    [Unpacking my old DFGT again...]


    EDIT: I kept writing G25 but I had a G27

    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2016
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the Dirt

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    Kitchen installer
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +546 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I kept my DFGT as a backup to lol had my g27 for about 5 years and not missed a beat :thumbs so far I've not heard many good things about the G29 thou good luck with your future wheel ;)
  4. se041

    se041 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    IT Process Mgr.
    Location:
    Paderborn - Germany
    Balance:
    244Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Hi there,

    Thanks for sharing your experience.
    Indeed the DFGT is a good entry in the whole topic and I'd assume it was for many of us (me included).

    For myself I see the stuff from Thrustmaster (currently T500RS) as a proper solution before prices go nuts.
    It does its job quite well now since a year and a half. Maybe something considerable for you?
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,877Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,388 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I've had the G27 for about 5 years and its never had an issue still working great :)

    Edit: Also I have a G15 keyboard which is about 11 years old and is still working brilliantly and also a mx1000 cordless laser mouse 12 years old still in use on the living room PC and a more newer mx510 gaming mouse which is about 4 years old and that works great too :p
  6. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Right now I'm fighted between going the 300RS/500RS way too or going the OSW one like @Nick Moxley and @bruce stephen did as you can read in the Nick post AC OSW/DD Granity/MMO's settings

    OSW is not a cheap soloution and collecting all the pieces here in Italy should take some time. Also I never thought about it before, so I have a lot to learn in that field.


    OT: @se041 I see you're from Paderborn. I've been there twice for a few weeks cause a friend of mine used to work there. I remember a few nice places... The Auld Triangle, Limericks, Alles Ist Gutt... :cheers
  7. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I really enjoyed the G27... till the encoder lasted
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2016
  8. se041

    se041 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Occupation:
    IT Process Mgr.
    Location:
    Paderborn - Germany
    Balance:
    244Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Well the good thing about TM is -> plug & play. The OSW looks like a whole different solution in that point.

    OT: Wow, nice to hear - been there plenty of times as well of course hehe. Let me know in case you're here again :cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes the OSW is Not exactly a cheap piece or kit, but the overall difference between a CSW V2 or a T500 to the OSW is Night and day and justify's the price hike.
  10. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Have you got a price range for OSW?
  11. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    depends how you go about Multiple factor's, Just like motion right.... SeatTime's DIY actuator's cost far more than my Simple Worm gear lever setup....so its all relative in some aspects.


    the Standard parts would basically be the Simucube, The rest can be swapped for cheaper or more expensive hardware,

    For motor's there the standard Mige Big/Small for roughly 340-360USD range, then you have the Lenze and other High end motor's starting at 1000$ and up Just for the motor.

    Next is Power Supply, You can go cheap like i did with a Aliexpress "no name 600w" for 60USD or you can get a Meanwell for almost double.

    Next is Wheel's and QR's....you can spend as much on a couple QR's as you can on the Small Mige, So pending how you want it done will be your end price. Fanatec's can be converted for a really cheap price with Teensy LC's and your choice of QR.

    Then you add in where people live in the world, some have to pay XX more for duties or crazy shipping prices....so Its all relative buddy.

    I suggest you start to price out some of the components and make up a list and see what its going to run you.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  12. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,074Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,227 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    psu is about $150
    cube and ioni are $370 plus shipping
    servo and cables $350 to 400 shipped (to USA so may be cheaper to Italy)
    mount for servo $80
    Rim I built mine for about $50 but sky is the limit here

    so all said it will run near $1000 dollars

    @SilentChill yes I agree my g25 was great for almost 9 years and I didnt mind it. No offense to a great piece of equipment but going from G25 to osw is like going from bass shakers to a 6 dof for immersion. It adds another dimension to my rig. I can feel more details.

    @se041 Yes its a project. But it is a relatively easy build. Initial set up is the hardest. but really not too bad. Its nothing compared to the old discovery/argon builds, they were very complicated.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks for the info guys, I'll make up my list and see the great total.

    I'm a bit sad though, I thought I could have spent about 600/700€ but I was way too optimistic. 1000€/1100€+ considering shipping costs and taxes it's a more realistic price, and it's not a sum I could take away from my family right now; I should save that money for my two years daughter, she deserves them more than I do.

    Maybe a 450€ T500RS could be the right half way while I keep saving money, who knows... next Xmas...
  14. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Actually I was wrong, the problems with pedals is the opposite: as you can see in the following pic, it's like you're always accelerating (5%, red) and braking (9%, yellow). Also I just tested it again and it has sudden lost of signal from the pedals. Sending it back tomorrow.

    Cattura_Ink_LI.jpg
  15. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    why 450 €? Can't you get it cheaper in italy? in germany you can buy it for 380€ new and under 300 used.
    if you want, i can send one to you;)
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  16. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,074Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,227 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  17. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I chose the Middle Way (between the DFGT and the OSW...), I just bought this:
    [​IMG]
    T300 Ferrari Integral Racing Wheel Alcantara Edition
    359€ new

    In the end, thanks to the refunds from Amazon, that's always been nice and helpful with its assistance, I could have played for almost two years with a G27/G29, and just by adding less than 150€ I'm having this brand new one delivered.

    Hoping this could last more, I'm planning to start learning the OSW way and building myself the wheel next year.
    • Like Like x 2
  18. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,074Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,227 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    not bad for 150 more. should last a little longer too.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok, now I'm really piss*d off :mad:
    I got my new T300 Alcantara Blablabla today and
    it's not new!
    it's clearly refurbished.

    I talked to the called center, they're really sorry and all the rest. They're calling me tomorrow asking me what I chose to do: I can take it with a discount on the price I paid or send it back having all the money back (because OBVIOUSLY meanwhile they ran out of stock and can't replace it...)

    So so so pis*ed off :mad:
  20. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the Dirt

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Occupation:
    Kitchen installer
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    806Coins
    Ratings:
    +546 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Gutting !! not having much luck one step forward two back
    • Agree Agree x 3
  21. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    So,
    I tested the wheel today, everything is working perfectly. It shows some signs that say it's been used before, something you have to look for, like the psu cable, a couple of little scratches.
    I think the previous user had problems with the pedals cause they're brand new and with a new S/N sticker on it.

    Maybe he just used the wheel once or twice and sent it back where they replaced the pedals.

    Anyway I bought a brand new wheel not a refurbished one so I was pretty mad with them.
    I've been offered a 20% discount and all the guarantee from the reseller, so I can anyway ask for a replacement/refund anytime anyway.
    I accepted their offer and it ended up I just had to pay 60€ for upgrade from the G29 (that was a replacement for the G27) to the T300RS. Not too bad.

    ____________________

    Talking about the wheel itself: wow! That's a great step forward coming from Logitech! The brushless motors together with the 30cm 599xx alcantara wheel give all another feeling. Particularly the low forces at around 10/15% of FFB that couldn't clearly feel before
    T3PA pedals are good but not great, in line with the G29 ones, a nice addition is the conical rubber brake mod.

    Ok, gotta go. Have to download Porsche Pack III!!!
    • Like Like x 1