1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Large footprint 6DOF motion base ......

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by jthiani, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. Fredrik J

    Fredrik J Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    696Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I just Wonder abort the Cost for The motors and controller.
    Just for comparison.
    Freddie
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,394
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,060Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,699 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    A sim like this will suck in as much money as you want to throw at it :p.
  3. jthiani

    jthiani Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knightdale, NC
    Balance:
    496Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    suffice to say the cost is depressing hahahaha
  4. jthiani

    jthiani Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knightdale, NC
    Balance:
    496Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    well actually i have not as i am new to this forum, however even if i am presented with alternative controllers, i would still use the thanos controller as he has been a valuable source of information and wayyyy more helpful than i ever expected. So i will remain with the Thanos controller even in the future.
  5. jthiani

    jthiani Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knightdale, NC
    Balance:
    496Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    amen to that ..... i even stopped tracking the cost hahahahahahaha
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,394
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,060Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,699 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    And it is not just the hardware costs - 6 x 2000W inverters = 12000w of power:eek:. You would have to have a chat with your local electricity supplier before you connected something like this to any mains house wiring.
  7. Fredrik J

    Fredrik J Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    696Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Just hotwire it to The neighbours Electric post
    • Funny Funny x 4
  8. jthiani

    jthiani Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knightdale, NC
    Balance:
    496Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hahahahahaha ... might have to hire you for this !!!
  9. Fredrik J

    Fredrik J Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    696Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  10. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +607 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    1200W is about 10A @ 110V AC (depending on PF) so would be similar to running an older style ducted air conditioner or electric water heater.
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,394
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,060Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,699 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Your missing a zero :) - 12000W ....:eek:.
  12. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +607 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Mother of god.....
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. vulbas

    vulbas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    1,442Coins
    Ratings:
    +214 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    :popcorn
    • Like Like x 1
  14. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,596Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,268 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I know exactly what you're talking about ... as your opinion is based on that you're new on this forum as I was three years ago ...
    So you found someone that guides you ... that's OK ... But, only to his way with no highway options ...
    As you may already noticed that he didn't introduce you to the other published controllers and the already finished projects to copy or to be informed more with them at least ...

    So you have nothing to lose I guess ... stay with his controller ... plus look around for more and you'll be enriched with all information you need ... or just add a question !!!
    And I can assure you that the FAQ section will be your best trusted friend you've ever had .
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  15. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @speedy So what you suggest to use for this kind of platform?

    Some requirements though:

    -safety
    -ease of setup
    -easy connections
    -compatibility

    I'm not electrician and have no knowledge of electronics... Anything off the shelve would be best!

    Mike
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,039
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,433Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,935 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    What's up? What's new? :)
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Eagletrike

    Eagletrike New Member SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Let you know when I grow up
    Location:
    Central Western, New South Wales, Australia
    Balance:
    296Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, SimAxe, 4DOF
    Oh My God what a mammoth project, :popcorn
  18. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    27Coins
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    :popcorn

    Here for the updates :thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  19. jthiani

    jthiani Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knightdale, NC
    Balance:
    496Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Soooooo i have been working on my motion base and have gone for a significant re-design. Basically i scrapped the idea of a pod mounted on top of the arms and opted for a basket design instead. The reasoning behind this is vast. First of all the head room required. i would not be able to use a room with anything less than 24 feet of head room. Second i know it has been done before but i just don't like the super high center of gravity and going with a basket design significantly lowers the center of gravity. So i took the whole rig apart and went to work with the band saw and welder. First try turned out to be waaayyyyy too big so i had to reduce the basket size in order to reduce the total foot print. second try went really well and i ended up with a 10 foot foot print which i am much happier with. Ok enough blabbing .....
  20. jthiani

    jthiani Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knightdale, NC
    Balance:
    496Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So this first image is the first mock up of the basket. it was a little bigger than i expected it to be, but i went ahead and put it all together the get the true scale .....
    20150729_140912.jpg

    The double uprights are at the front and will be used to hold the foot pedals in place
    20150729_140923.jpg 20150729_171927.jpg 20150729_172210.jpg 20150729_180219.jpg
    • Like Like x 6