1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Kermit Kong's 6DOF Project

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by kermitkong, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,508
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,915Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,121 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice work...it is always a relief to hook it all up and have it work :thumbs
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    today i finally mounted the "regen energy buffer". This is very important to secure your motor-driver-bridges from returning energy from the motor during direction changes or a brake.
    The excess energy capacity from the motors are temporay stored into the 24V/1.3Ah lead-acid gel batteries.
    regen_energy_buffer.JPG
    • Like Like x 4
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2016
  3. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    next level arrived !

    swash plate assembled and under test :cheers
    • Like Like x 8
  4. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,738Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,373 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First thing I think: "I must build a motion Sim" - * Feverishly Builds Sim, consumed for months *

    Last thing I think: "Will it fit through a door" - Crap!
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hehe, this was also my first thought,
    But I made it, now I've a motion seat in my hobby-room which does NOT fit through the door..... Now I think it's doesn't matter, I never will move this monster, so everything is fine, I'm happy :)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,738Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,373 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I did the same with my first build. Love your 6DOF. I'm very envious of anyone who makes a 6 DOF :)
    • Like Like x 1
  7. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Seat mounted !
    image.jpeg
    • Like Like x 5
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,627Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,832 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I may be looking at this all wrong, but how do the batteries get on with the changing polarity from the motor?
  9. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi,

    This is a principle circuit design to explain how this works together. If you have questions please feel free to ask !

    image.jpeg
  10. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,627Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,832 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That's fine just wondered how you were doing it. FI on the MMs, capacitors are used on the driver card itself to do the same thing.

    MMs Application Data.jpg
  11. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @SeatTime ,
    I've also a 22000uF cap installed,
    But the regen voltage from motors back to the power supply jumps up to 36 volt (without my battery buffer). And this is really bad for the power supply and the motor driver board . I already distroid both of them one time. With the buffer circuit the regen voltage is limited to about 25V this is absolutely fine.
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2016
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,576
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,378 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have not had that problem @kermitkong and I have been running my 6DOF for nearly 12 months. I have just put 1000uf caps on the MM's and they are ok. Only problem I have had is the cheap chinese MM's being poorly manufactured
    • Informative Informative x 2
  13. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I See,
    I use the roboclaw 2x60A boards .
    And with my 6 heavy 24v/490W motors I've definitely this issue and the 22000uF or even 44000uF isn't enough. That's the reason why I'm using batteries to store energy temporary.
    And this works quite good now :)

    Hey @SilentChill thanks again for all your effort on the elite plugin project !!! Awesome!
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,576
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,810Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,378 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ahh of course you are, sorry getting my wires crossed with all these 6DOF's being built thought you had MM's
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Here we go,

    1st ride on my 6DOF motion seat :cheers
    • Winner Winner x 8
    • Like Like x 1
  16. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Since that the Hotas warthog doesn't have gearing on the stick,I installed foot-pedals for gearing (same like in a helicopter ).

    image.jpeg
    • Like Like x 3
  17. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,738Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,373 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Nice Pedals. Where are those from?
  18. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. Justin Dail

    Justin Dail Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Georgetown South Carolina
    Balance:
    354Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Very nice build looks and performs fantastic I'm looking to use the same type of gear box do you have a link the smallest I've found so far is 56c
  20. kermitkong

    kermitkong Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Occupation:
    Hardware Development
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,195Coins
    Ratings:
    +253 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Justin Dail ,

    I use size 040 for the gearboxes, smaller is too fragile I would say. The gearboxes were about 60 USD each.

    I will check for a weblink where I'm bought it. Keep tuned ...