1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Keith's 2dof rig

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Keith, Mar 4, 2020.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,880
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,681 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looking good :thumbs

    Can't be sure because of the angle but you could perhaps add a bit more sway.
  2. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I will try adding more sway and see how it feels. I am also going to try adding some springs to the platform to see if I get rid of some of the backlash.
  3. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    If you consider that you have violent movements, I think you have to decrease the CTC and increase the movement range of the motors. 70mm is a lot for the geometry of your platform considering the distance between the seat pivot point and the engine mounting point.

    I use a Total Degrees used for Axis of 153º, which corresponds to an Axis Limiting of 85%, but with a 50mm CTC.
    And don't forget to set the output type as rotational every time you start simtools, because it goes back to linear. It is a software bug.
  4. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I installed some bungie's on the front of my platform to eliminate the motor lash. It worked very well. I will try transfering more weight to the front instead of using bungie's and see how that feels.

    20200318_121636.jpg
  5. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I did some max wattage testing with and without the bungie cords(drove around the track a few times). First image is without. I was surprised how little power this thing consumes.


    20200318_121222.jpg

    20200318_121512.jpg
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
  6. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I took a couple thermal images of my hardware after 10 minutes of driving. Sabertooth 2x32 is the hottest piece. Power supply's are stone cold

    img_thermal_1584566715850-1.jpg img_thermal_1584566680117.jpg
  7. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hey guys. Im thinking of adding traction loss to my rig. Im wondering if I could use an IBT-2 instead of buying another sabertooth 2x32. I will be using a 24v 250w wheelchair motor.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,880
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,681 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You could, just set it up with another Arduino and configure it as another interface in SimTools Interface Settings.
  9. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I started working on the traction loss addition. Here is what I have so far. I also posted a picture of the swivel I used. Still waiting for some parts to arrive 20200502_152529.jpg Screenshot_20200502-153429_Samsung Internet.jpg
  10. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    HI.
    Why do you put fans in the motors ????? They are completely unnecessary. Engines do not heat anything.
  11. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I built my cockpit years ago before I ever new about motion simulators so I was not worried about weight. The thing is made of thick steel and the seat is electric. The cockpit weighs around 160 lbs. Then a lot of times my young kids need to hop on as well throwing the whole rig off balance. Motors never get hot just warm and I had the fans laying around. I thought I might as well use them.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. iLLuac4

    iLLuac4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    676Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I am using the same engines and they are also not even warm when in use and the need no cooling. I am using one 600W 24V power supply set to 21v and going through diode so the motors get around 20,2v. From the same power supply I am also powering four bass shakers and everything works just great. Bass shakers consumes at peak 7A and the motors almost nothing. The power supply is also not even warm and rarely goes above 35% (i can hear fan spins faster).
    I think those motors are really great. I have used the springs to eliminate a little of backlash similar to NLR motion platform.
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/simlab-gt2-to-2dof-conversion.13948/
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Wow thats a nice looking build. I will be building my rig out of steel or aluminum once I have everything figured out. What bass shakers do you have?
  14. iLLuac4

    iLLuac4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    676Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I have a budget build for bass shakers.
    I am using four of those https://www.ebay.de/itm/Bodyshaker-...-Body-Shaker-Bass-Sound-100-Watt/141660373414
    I have modded them a little with silicone kit to reinforce the membranes because they can slip out. Have put the washers below to lift them a little from the frame.

    For audio amplifier I am using two of those https://aliexpress.ru/item/4000861870316.html They are cheap and work great. Buy three just in case if one fails. The are very cheap (5-7€) but the work like a bomb.
    I have only replaced the heat sink with bigger one, so the cooling is better. Have also printed the case.

    For power supply I am using the same output from the power supply that is also powering motion simulator. Bot from the measurement I have done a 24v 10A shoud be enough.

    Attached Files:

    • amp.jpg
      amp.jpg
      File size:
      280 KB
      Views:
      93
    • amp2.jpg
      amp2.jpg
      File size:
      214.6 KB
      Views:
      87
  15. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Cool thanks for all the great info! I have looked at those shakers before. Do you find they do the trick for you? Very reasonable price.
  16. iLLuac4

    iLLuac4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    676Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes I am impressed how good do they work and with motion they work great. If I would have to pick up a motion or. shakers, I would pick the shakers. But now have both :) so no need to pick ;) I really prefer DIY versions because they are much more fun and way cheaper. I have also build wind simulator that has cost me not more than 10€ :) and boys love them.
    But as i said take a look at my pictures and mount them right and mod them with silicone and metal washers. Wood acts like an Absorber. I am also cooling them with 5v dc on 12v ventilators so the easy breeze cool them down and are not hearable. You can see in my post how the cooling looks like.
    You have to mount them on the right place to transfer the shakes right.
    I have used this amplifier because it is using d class amplifier and have two separated TDA3116D2 chips. Most other have just one.
  17. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Sounds good. I will give those shakers a try. I would never think that shakers would be as much fun as a motion rig. I actually have a couple TDA3116D2's here already powering subwoofers. Amazing power for such a small amp.
  18. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I have started building a steel frame for the rig. Here is what I have so far.

    20200510_061458.jpg 20200510_061447.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  19. iLLuac4

    iLLuac4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2019
    Messages:
    94
    Balance:
    676Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    For tall metal frame design i really like this one it gives a look of fatter frame since metal frames look slim and make a visual effect of being 'fragile'.


    One thing to consider is to mount the motors behind the seat or. near the seat center. Users achieved better reactions with motors behind the seat and more near the center of the seat mount.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Arielnac

    Arielnac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    20Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    The distance from the motors to the pivot point is in relation to the length of the CTC and the power and speed of rotation of its motors. The fact that in a project they have achieved better results by bringing the motors closer to the pivot point does not mean that this is a necessity for their project. The closer you place your engines, the more abrupt the movements will be for the same CTC length.

    And it seems to me that the movements are better if the motors are ahead because for example when braking the motor it makes a downward movement instead of an upward movement