1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question JRK not showing in utility config

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Jstone, Jun 5, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Jstone

    Jstone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    101Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    HI all, I recently have swapped over from MM to JRKs due to MM's power limitations. I understood how the MM functioned along with its software but I'm pretty clueless with these JRKs.

    I didn't install the drivers before plugging in my JRK which I realised was wrong but apparently, on Polulu's website the JRK should still work, its name just would be USB Serial Device. On my JRK utility configuration software, the JRK doesn't appear in the drop menu. I uninstalled and reinstalled the JRK drivers which didn't solve the problem. I tried manually updating the JRK drivers through device manager by selecting the driver subfolder within the Polulu folder but windows still insist that the best drivers are installed. I tried uninstalling the device then plug it back it with the Polulu drivers installed on my pc but that didn't work as well.

    What should I be doing to get my JRK to appear because I am unsure what to do. :think
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,864
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    98,216Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,217 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have you tried uninstalling the drivers, rebooting, then install the drivers and finally plugin the JRKs.
  3. Jstone

    Jstone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    101Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thanks for your reply Noorbeast,

    I tried following the steps you just gave me and I still have no success. My process went as follows:

    I went into device manager, uninstalled the JRK (2 USB Serial Devices in the COM ports, and the JRK in the Universal serial bus dropdown menu), after uninstalling these 3 I proceeded to uninstall the Polulu JRK folder and it's information through the JRK setup.exe, after doing so I restarted my computer. I then reinstalled the JRK drivers and it's information through the setup.exe and then restarted my computer again. After this, I finally plugged in the JRK and it came up the same in device manager as it did in the beginning and still won't show up in the JRK configuration utility.

    I may be doing something wrong with installing/uninstalling the drivers but I'm just not sure what I'm doing wrong.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,864
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    98,216Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,217 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You could try downloading the Pololu utility and drivers again, just in case they are corrupted in some was, and try on a different computer, but I would suggest you just contact Pololu direct, as that sounds very odd and I have not struck that issue with any JRKs.
  5. Jstone

    Jstone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    101Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Okay! I solved it. I feel so stupid....

    So the problem I was running into was the drivers I downloaded, since I have the JRK G2's they use different software and drivers to the older 12v12, which was the link on Eaorobbie's post aswell as the first page google suggests when googling for the drivers. Now that I have the correct drivers installed the JRK's appear in the GUI and properly show up in my device manager.

    Whole lotta stress over nothing I guess, still thanks for your help Noorbeast, always super helpful for me. :cheers
    • Winner Winner x 1