1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question JRK G2 Motor driver error

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by 427Cobra, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. 427Cobra

    427Cobra There is no substitute for cubic inches

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Have got problem with one of my new JRK G2 motor controllers when starting the setup of my new rig. Got ”Motor driver error” when using the Pololu Configuration utility after approx 15 minutes of soft testing, without load on the motor, which is impossible to reset.

    Use a 200W, 80ZYJ08 type worm gear motor with nominal current 25Amp on a JRK G2 18V27 card.
    According to the motor manuafacturer stalled motor current is 80~100Amp, and start peak current or when I switch direction quickly 60~80 A.

    Have switched motors and also tested with another power supply but the error is still there. Power supplies are Dell N750P, 12V, 750W, rated current 62,4Amp, one for each motor.

    According to Pololu the motor is too big for this controller card but the hard current setting is up to 76Amp in the Configuration utility and I don't think it's the peak limit.
    The PS should probably also help to reduce the the maximum peak current using internal current limitation but I don’t know the peak value it can deliver when the rated current is 62Amp.
    Configuration utility settings when I got the error was hard current 25,65Amp, soft current 24,0Amp, max acceleration to 50 when I got the error and the card was not heated.

    I know there are a lot of JRK users in the forum so I would be happy to get your input and experience. Is the motor too big for the 18V27 card? Or was the error created because I had low current settings in the Configuration utility, but in that case, is there any way to reset the error when I can’t do it by ”Clear errors” in the Configuration utility?

    If the card is broken and the motor is too big I’m in trouble because there is no JRK available to control higher motor current. I selected the JRK because of the user friendly setup, interface to SimTools and that I have no knowledge about Ardunio and programing.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,819
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,232 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    First things first, have you tried setting the JRK back to its factory defaults, using the Pololu utility?
  4. 427Cobra

    427Cobra There is no substitute for cubic inches

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes, there is no difference after factory reset, the error is still there.
    Same result if the PS is switched on first and then the USB/card is connected, or if I connect the USB/ card first, the ”Motor driver error” replace the missing VIN error when the PS is switched on.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,819
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,232 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just to be clear, are you saying the error is there after a factory reset and before you do any configurations?
  6. 427Cobra

    427Cobra There is no substitute for cubic inches

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks Noorbeast for your attempts to help me :)
    Yes if you mean using "Device - Restore default settings" in the Configuration utility. The error never disappears. Have tested with and without the motor connected when I restored the settings (also tested with a small 12V, 1 Watt motor). Or is there any other way to reset everything, including the error codes and my personal settings, which I have missed?
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,819
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,232 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It would be helpful if you posted pictures of all settings.

    You may need to contact Pololu:

    Motor driver error
    This error occurs when one of the motor driver’s fault conditions are triggered, and the motor driver shuts down the motor and reports the error to the jrk’s microcontroller. This error also occurs when the jrk is connected to USB and motor power becomes disconnected. When this error occurs, the jrk will try to automatically recover from it by toggling the appropriate lines on the motor driver. The jrk 21v3’s motor driver fault occurs on under-voltage, over-temperature, or over-current conditions. The jrk 12v12’s motor driver fault occurs when it detects that motor output A is shorted to ground or VIN.
  8. 427Cobra

    427Cobra There is no substitute for cubic inches

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Attached pictures are the settings I used when the JRK stopped working, except the ”Status” tab which shows the values today when I took the pictures. Feedback was not activated.

    Have been in contact with Brandon at Pololu but haven’t got any explanation how to move forward to check if the card is broken or if the error can be reset, but he told me the JRK G2 18V27 is to small and can’t be used by my 12V 200W motor. ☹
    I’m surprised because the JRK series is used by several rigs in the forum.

    My main concern is if the motor is to big for the JRK, in that case I need to find another solution to move forward, and as I wrote in my first post, I have no experience about Ardunio and programming. If the motor size is OK, I just need to buy a new JRK but I will not take the risk to burn a second JRK.

    Attached Files: