1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Review INSECTA TECH Dragonfly CV1.C Build

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Red_shift, Jan 18, 2019.

  1. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    I just received my Dragonfly CV1.C simulator today and there has been some interest in this so I am going to post some picture and impressions as I build and get everything working. My system includes the tactile feedback and surround sound package options.
  2. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    Here is the crate. It was very sturdy and there was no damage externally on the crate. Not bad from coming 1/2 the world away. :)

    closed crate.jpg

    Thing looked well wrapped on the inside
    open crate.jpg
    Here are the parts for the base assembly
    base 1.jpg


    So my initial impressions are that this sim is a very solid construction. The finish and craftsmanship is excellent and actually much better that I expected. Finally this is a lot bigger that it looks in the pictures. This is no toy and would be right at home in an arcade or a racing shop.
    • Like Like x 4
  3. KNX873

    KNX873 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Looks amazing so far. Send lots of pics
  4. isamu

    isamu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Balance:
    223Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2 / -0
    Thank you for the initial impressions. Is this the one that's around $6000USD?

    Anyway looking forward to lots more pics and hopefully a few videos.
  5. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    No this the unit that is $18,500 USD
  6. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    Here is the base assembled
    20190117_145914.jpg

    Here is the platform on top of the base for screen assembly
    20190117_175953.jpg
    And here is where I am at right now with the base filly assembled with the screen bracket
    screen mount.jpg

    So far the build has progressed smoothly. The hardest part was the assembly of the black screen bar which has a middle center piece that screen mount attaches through. The next step is to attache the actuators. Stay tuned :)
    • Like Like x 9
  7. isamu

    isamu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Balance:
    223Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2 / -0
    Staying tuned ......:)
  8. PetroVitallini

    PetroVitallini Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Norway
    Balance:
    486Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    That is a sick looking sim! Looking forward to updates on the build and to hear about it in use!
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    So made some more progress. These are the actuators and they are massive, you can see my foot for scale. :grin
    20190118_175134.jpg
    Here is the first one on (sorry it a little blurry) . Figured out after this, that it is much easier to mount at the top first then lift up the platform and mount at the bottom. There is a recess in the U joint at the bottom so it will stay in place while you rotate and find the screw holes.
    20190118_183329.jpg


    Here is it with all the actuators connected. this is a two person job but one the first 3 are on, the last 3 are a lot easer. I would say it took about 2 hours to get them all connected
    20190120_065829.jpg
    At this point I started working with simtools. I was able to get the simulatior connected but unfortunately two of the actuators had encoder cables that got damaged during shipment. I was able to move all the other actuators manually through simtools. Jonathan has been very helpful though the setup process and is shipping me out new cables two fix the two not working.
    20190120_125156.jpg 20190120_125202.jpg
    I had a stationary Ubutto rig that I am reusing the seat from. I like it as it has an adjustable back and I think is more comfortable that a full racing seat. It has a forward/back slider so is adjustable for different length people. The movement on these actuators is insane, easily over 1/2 a meter.:thumbs

    I bought a low profile ceiling fan but I think fully extended I will only have about 2 inches clearance to the top of the screen. :grin.

    That's all for now, once I get the other two actuators moving I will post some video. In the meantime happy to answer any questions.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  10. KNX873

    KNX873 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Looks great! What is the measurement from the top of the base (of sim) you have your seat fasten too to the ground when fully extended up please?
  11. KNX873

    KNX873 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    57Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Maybe a easier question what is the measurements from your fan to floor?
  12. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    Hard to tell as not all of actuators in the front are working yet.

    It's Seven feet from the floor to the bottom of the fan light.
  13. joe extraknow

    joe extraknow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,324Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    This looks very impressive. Thanks for sharing with us. Looking forward to seeing more...,

    One question struggles me is about g force claimed in such similar 6dof system, as the video below stated can produce 2g in 98% accurately:


    Can any one explain this clearly?
    Say lateral g force while fast cornering, how can one get 2g, as g effect given by sway movement?

    I see other large 6dof systems seem with huge roll movement that let me believe they use gravity to yield constant lateral g. If so, how can one use SimTool to transfer sway data to roll movement for 6dof? These maybe not easy questions, by which I have been puzzled for a long time.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,020
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,203Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,294 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Traditional sims can generate momentary Gs, but you really need to add some form of Gseat, Gharness, Gpressure system and Ghelmet to simulate sustained Gs, see some of @SeatTime's innovative work as an example. Even then it will be a simulation, as it still won't be producing say the 10Gs of a modern fighter jet.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2019
  15. joe extraknow

    joe extraknow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,324Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    This could be true that they (in that video) could being talking about momentary g which can reach to 2g from surge/sway. If I need to get sustained g, the rig need to have large degree of movement in pitch/roll from 6dof, like this one:


    So in SimTool for this 6dof rig, say in order to get large degree of roll for sustained lateral g, I need to considerably increase the % weight for sway on 4 actuators that connected to both left and right joints, respectively. By doing so, while cornering, I will not just sway but also roll. Is this make a sense?
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,823Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,455 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Having large roll/pitch movements to convey constant Sway/Surge forces comes with its own issues in regard to the inner ear and washout filters. From my experience G systems work so much better.
    • Agree Agree x 3
  17. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    So while I am waiting for the sensor cables I mounted the wheel and the Peddles. So please allow me to go off on a tangent and rant about Fanatec. So the cable they provided for the peddles was too short and I sent an email asking if they had a longer one available and this is there response in its entirety

    "thank you very much for your enquiry. Unfortunately we have not a 3m version available, sorry. I wish you fast laps and many victories."

    OK so I spend $400 on a set of peddles and that is the best you can do? No, Hey dude this is a standard strait RJ12 cable you can buy at Amazon for $5. nope, just a sorry can't help. These guys are incredible! Also the calibration instructions for the wheel are actually incorrect in the manual! In fact it so bad, that there is a you-tube video (not by Fanatec) that some guy made on out how to do it properly. Anyway back to the regular scheduled program :eek:

    20190127_181703.jpg
    The million dollar Fanatec peddles are not moveable for left foot brakers So I had to make some modification. I off set the peddle set a bit and then created an extension bar to lengthen the break peddle. Had to remove the clutch peddle for this (but who needs that). Anyway here is my creation and I'm back to my go-carting youth. :grin

    20190127_181711.jpg
  18. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,823Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,455 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The answer from Fanatec is as expected, as they just mass produce products for the public. Way better peddle sets available out there for the serious sim racer.
  19. Grizus

    Grizus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Warsaw PL
    Balance:
    293Coins
    Ratings:
    +92 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Is your simulator already working ? how does he move ? please show a movie :)
  20. Red_shift

    Red_shift Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Charlotte
    Balance:
    272Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    Sorry its been a while. I have had some problems with actuators sticking due to rotation, so I am waiting for updated parts that will fix this issue. I am expecting them to arrive in the next couple of weeks and once I get everything retrofitted and working I will post some video. Even thought I have had a few teething issues, I have to say that the support has been very good. Below is a picture with the screen fitted.
    20190210_172455.jpg
    • Like Like x 2